Medical evidence heard at Offaly attempted murder trial over halting site shooting
On 21 March 2025, Anthony McDonagh and his brother Michael McDonagh were shot with a shotgun at an unofficial halting site in Co Offaly. Patrick Ward and John Pio Ward were charged with attempting to murder Anthony and Michael McDonagh respectively, and both pleaded not guilty. The case is being tried at the Central Criminal Court in Dublin before Mr Justice Paul McDermott and a jury. On 13 May 2026 the court heard medical evidence and garda evidence, and the trial is continuing with no verdict yet.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court13 May
2 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Two brothers, Anthony McDonagh and Michael McDonagh, were shot at an unofficial halting site in Co Offaly.
- Michael McDonagh told the court that John Ward pointed a gun at him and shot him in the chest.
- Anthony McDonagh had innumerable pellet wounds when he reached hospital, and Michael McDonagh had too many pellets to count in his body.
- Both men's pellet wounds were potentially serious, and both were described as very lucky not to suffer serious complications or death.
- Where
- The shooting happened at an unofficial halting site in Co Offaly.
- When
- The shooting took place on 21 March 2025.
- Weapon
- The gun was described as a long, shotgun-type gun, and Anthony McDonagh's multiple gunshot wounds may have come from one shotgun cartridge.
- Other details
- Some pellets from the shotgun are still embedded in Michael McDonagh.
- Michael McDonagh was first treated at Midland Regional Hospital Tullamore and later moved to the intensive care unit of St James's Hospital.
- Investigation
- Both McDonagh brothers were monitored rather than having surgery, and both refused to make a statement to gardaí.
- Michael McDonagh told a detective he was 90 percent sure John Ward shot him, while Anthony McDonagh told a detective he was shot by Pa Ward, his brother in law.
- Charges
- Patrick Ward is charged with attempting to murder Anthony McDonagh, and John Pio Ward is charged with attempting to murder Michael McDonagh, at the same site on 21 March 2025.
- Both accused face further charges of possessing firearms and violent disorder at Kilcruttin halting site on the same date.
- In court
- The case is being heard at the Central Criminal Court in Dublin before Mr Justice Paul McDermott and a jury, and both accused have pleaded not guilty to all charges.
- On 13 May 2026 the court heard medical evidence and garda evidence, and the trial is continuing with no verdict yet.
27 statements extracted from the articles
- whatMichael McDonagh told the court that John Ward pointed a gun at him and shot him in the chest. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whatAnthony McDonagh had innumerable pellet wounds when he reached hospital. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whatMichael McDonagh had too many pellets to count in his body. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whatAnthony McDonagh's pellet wounds were potentially serious, and he was very lucky not to suffer serious complications or death. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whatMichael McDonagh's pellet wounds were potentially life threatening. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whereThe shooting happened at an unofficial halting site in Co Offaly. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whenThe shooting took place on 21 March 2025. (offalyexpress.ie)
- weaponThe gun was described as a long, shotgun-type gun. (offalyexpress.ie)
- weaponAnthony McDonagh's multiple gunshot wounds may have come from one shotgun cartridge. (offalyexpress.ie)
- investigationBoth McDonagh brothers were monitored rather than having surgery. (offalyexpress.ie)
- investigationMichael McDonagh told a detective he was 90 percent sure John Ward shot him. (offalyexpress.ie)
- investigationAnthony McDonagh told a detective he was shot by Pa Ward, his brother in law. (offalyexpress.ie)
- investigationAnthony McDonagh refused to make a statement to gardaí. (offalyexpress.ie)
- investigationMichael McDonagh refused to make a statement to gardaí. (offalyexpress.ie)
- chargeTwo brothers are on trial charged with trying to murder another pair of brothers living at an unofficial halting site in Co Offaly. (offalyexpress.ie)
- chargePatrick Ward is charged with attempting to murder Anthony McDonagh at the unofficial halting site on March 21, 2025. (offalyexpress.ie)
- chargeJohn Pio Ward is charged with the attempted murder of Michael McDonagh at the same location on the same date. (offalyexpress.ie)
- chargeBoth accused face further charges of possessing firearms and violent disorder at Kilcruttin halting site on the same date. (offalyexpress.ie)
- chargePatrick Ward is charged with attempting to murder Anthony McDonagh. (offalyexpress.ie)
- chargeJohn Pio Ward is charged with attempting to murder Michael McDonagh. (offalyexpress.ie)
- chargeBoth accused men face further charges of possessing firearms and violent disorder at Kilcruttin halting site. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe case is being heard at the Central Criminal Court in Dublin. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe two accused have pleaded not guilty to all charges. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe trial continues before Mr Justice Paul McDermott and a jury of seven men and five women. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe trial continues before Mr Justice Paul McDermott and a jury. (offalyexpress.ie)
- otherSome pellets from the shotgun are still embedded in Michael McDonagh. (offalyexpress.ie)
- otherMichael McDonagh was initially treated in Midland Regional Hospital Tullamore and later moved to the intensive care unit of St James's Hospital. (offalyexpress.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 13 May2026'Too many pellets to count' in shooting victim, attempted Offaly murder trial hears
Trial report from the Central Criminal Court. Covers medical evidence and garda evidence; no verdict yet. Both accused have pleaded not guilty.
accused, Patrick Ward, 38, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Wardaccused, John Pio Ward, 42, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Pio Wardvictim, Anthony McDonagh, 40, male, irish (judged from name)Anthony McDonaghvictim, Michael McDonagh, 46, male, irish (judged from name)Michael McDonagh - 13 May2026Two brothers charged following attempted murder in Offaly last year
Reports the trial evidence given by the second alleged victim, Michael McDonagh, who said John Ward shot him, and the cross-examination about his certainty and his earlier hospital visit. Also adds further charges of firearm possession and violent disorder against both accused.
accused, Patrick Ward, 38, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Wardaccused, John Pio Ward, 42, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Pio Wardvictim, Anthony McDonagh, 40, male, irish (judged from name)Anthony McDonaghvictim, Michael McDonagh, 46, male, irish (judged from name)Michael McDonagh