Martin Ward jailed for sexually abusing partner's niece in Tipperary
Between 2000 and 2004, Martin Ward (64), of Portumna, Co Galway, sexually abused his partner's niece at Towerhill, Borrisokane, Co Tipperary. The matter was reported to gardaí in 2024, and Ward was arrested but made no admissions. Following a trial at the Central Criminal Court in April, a jury convicted him of 27 counts of sexually abusing a child. On 15 June 2026 he was jailed for 12 and a half years, after the judge reduced a headline sentence of 16 years for mitigation.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced15 Jun
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Martin Ward (64), of Portumna, Co Galway, was convicted by a jury of 27 counts of sexually abusing a child.
- Where
- The abuse took place at Towerhill, Borrisokane, Co Tipperary.
- When
- The offences occurred on dates between 2000 and 2004.
- Other details
- The victim was the niece of Ward's partner, and the sources describe her as vulnerable and at her most innocent at the time.
- The complainant, Martina Ward, waived her right to anonymity so that her abuser could be named.
- Investigation
- The matter was reported to gardaí in 2024, and Ward was arrested but made no admissions.
- Charges
- Ward was found guilty of three counts of rape, nine counts of oral rape and 15 counts of sexual assault.
- In court
- The conviction followed a trial at the Central Criminal Court in April.
- The judge cited aggravating factors including breach of trust, as Ward was in loco parentis at the time of the abuse.
- Sentence
- The judge set a headline sentence of 16 years.
- The judge reduced the sentence to 12 and a half years to account for mitigation.
- Ward was jailed for 12 and a half years.
11 statements extracted from the articles
- whatMartin Ward was convicted by a jury of 27 counts of sexually abusing a child. (tipperarylive.ie)
- whereThe abuse took place at Towerhill, Borrisokane, Co Tipperary. (tipperarylive.ie)
- whenThe offences occurred on dates between 2000 and 2004. (tipperarylive.ie)
- investigationThe matter was reported to gardaí in 2024 and Ward was arrested but made no admissions. (tipperarylive.ie)
- chargeWard was found guilty of three counts of rape, nine counts of oral rape and 15 counts of sexual assault. (tipperarylive.ie)
- courtThe conviction followed a trial at the Central Criminal Court in April. (tipperarylive.ie)
- sentenceThe judge set a headline sentence of 16 years. (tipperarylive.ie)
- sentenceThe judge reduced the sentence to 12 and a half years to account for mitigation. (tipperarylive.ie)
- sentenceWard was jailed for 12 and a half years. (tipperarylive.ie)
- otherThe complainant waived her right to anonymity so her abuser could be named. (tipperarylive.ie)
- otherThe judge cited aggravating factors including breach of trust, as Ward was in loco parentis at the time of the abuse. (tipperarylive.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 15 Jun2026Man jailed for abusing partner's vulnerable niece in Tipperary
Reports the sentencing of Martin Ward to 12 and a half years after a jury conviction at the Central Criminal Court, including the judge's remarks, the aggravating and mitigating factors, and the victim impact statement.
convicted, Martin Ward, 64, male, named, irish (judged from name)Martin Wardvictim, Martina Ward, female, irish (judged from name)Martina Ward