Man who repeatedly raped wife's grand-nephew jailed for 11 years
A 46-year-old man, the great-uncle by marriage of a boy, was found guilty by a Central Criminal Court jury in February 2025 of 13 counts of anal rape and 18 counts of sexually assaulting the boy, who was aged between nine and 14, on dates between January 2018 and May 2023 in the man's home in the south east of the country. The man was sentenced to 12 years' imprisonment with the final year suspended and three years' Probation Service supervision post-release. The abuse began with inappropriate touching when the child was about nine and progressed to anal rape, occurring while the child's great-aunt, the man's wife, was upstairs or in the bathroom. On the same day, men Patrick Lawrence (54) and his sons Tom (24) and John (26), along with woman Eileen Lawrence (52), were sentenced at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court for a multigenerational insurance fraud in which the family made personal injury claims under false names between 2010 and 2016; Patrick was jailed for two years while Tom and John received one-year suspended sentences, and Eileen's sentencing was deferred. woman Winnifred Lawrence (74) had been jailed the previous year for three and a half years with the final 18 months suspended for making similar claims between 2012 and 2014.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced14 Mar
3 reports
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- A 46-year-old man, the great-uncle by marriage of a boy, was found guilty of 13 counts of anal rape and 18 counts of sexually assaulting the boy, who was aged between nine and 14.
- The abuse began with inappropriate touching when the child was about nine and progressed to anal rape, occurring while the child's great-aunt, the man's wife, was upstairs or in the bathroom.
- Patrick Lawrence (54), Eileen Lawrence (52), Tom Lawrence (24), and John Lawrence (26) made personal injury claims for road traffic accidents and falls using false names between 2010 and 2016.
- Where
- The abuse occurred in the man's home in the south east of the country.
- The Lawrence family all have addresses at Moyglas Glade, Lucan in Dublin.
- When
- The offending occurred on dates between January 2018 and May 2023.
- In court
- The trial took place in February 2025 at the Central Criminal Court, where a jury found the man guilty.
- The insurance fraud case was heard at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court.
- Sentence
- The man was sentenced to 12 years' imprisonment with the final year suspended and three years' Probation Service supervision post-release.
- Patrick Lawrence was sentenced to two years' imprisonment; Tom and John Lawrence received one-year suspended sentences; Eileen Lawrence's sentencing was deferred.
- Investigation
- An insurance company hired a private investigator who took photos of the family attending medical appointments under false names, and the investigation unearthed correspondence from the false identities at the family's address.
- Charges
- Patrick Lawrence pleaded guilty to deception and attempted deception; Eileen Lawrence pleaded guilty to deception and attempted deception; Tom Lawrence pleaded guilty to one count of attempted deception; John Lawrence pleaded guilty to deception and attempted deception.
- Other details
- Winnifred Lawrence (74) was jailed the previous year for three and a half years with the final 18 months suspended for making similar claims between 2012 and 2014.
- The man in the rape case had no previous convictions and a long work history.
46 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe family made personal injury claims for road traffic accidents and falls using false names between 2010 and 2016. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- whatWinnifred Lawrence fraudulently received €23,150 after legal expenses for her claims. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- whatPatrick Lawrence made four false claims under two false names, with one resulting in a payout of €9,370. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatEileen Lawrence made five claims under two false identities, with one successful resulting in €15,000 paid out in 2014. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatTom Lawrence made an unsuccessful claim for a trip and fall in 2016 and was 16 years old at the time. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatJohn Lawrence made four claims under false names, with one successful netting €6,155 in 2015, and was under 18 at the time. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatPatrick Lawrence made four false claims under two false names, with one claim resulting in a pay out of €9,370. (irishtimes.com)
- whatEileen Lawrence made five claims under two false identities, with one successful claim of €15,000 paid out in 2014. (irishtimes.com)
- whatTom Lawrence made an unsuccessful claim for a trip and fall in 2016 under a false name and was 16 at the time. (irishtimes.com)
- whatJohn Lawrence made four claims under false names, with one successful claim of €6,155 in 2015, and was under 18 at the time. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe child was aged between nine and 14 at the time of the offending. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatThe abuse started when the child was about nine, with inappropriate touching before progressing to anal rape. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatThe abuse occurred when the aunt was upstairs or in the bathroom. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatThe man told the boy not to tell anyone. (dublinlive.ie)
- whereThe family have addresses at Moyglas Glade, Lucan in Dublin. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe family all have addresses at Moyglas Glade, Lucan in Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe abuse occurred in the man's home in the south east of the country. (dublinlive.ie)
- whenThe offending occurred on dates between January 2018 and May 2023. (dublinlive.ie)
- investigationThe family were arrested and interviewed in 2019. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- investigationAn insurance company hired a private investigator who took photos of the family attending medical appointments under false names. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationDetective Garda Ivor Scully of the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau gave evidence. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe offending came to light after an insurance company hired a private investigator. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe private investigator took photos of the family attending medical appointments under their false names. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe investigation unearthed correspondence from the false identities at the accused persons' address and claim money paid into a bank account of one member of the family. (irishtimes.com)
- chargePatrick Lawrence pleaded guilty to deception and attempted deception on dates between 2013 and 2018. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- chargeEileen Lawrence pleaded guilty to deception and attempted deception on dates between 2010 and 2016. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- chargeTom Lawrence pleaded guilty to one count of attempted deception in 2016. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- chargeJohn Lawrence pleaded guilty to deception and attempted deception on dates between 2014 and 2016. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe man was found guilty of 13 counts of anal rape and 18 counts of sexually assaulting the boy. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtThe case was heard at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe trial took place in February 2025 at the Central Criminal Court. (dublinlive.ie)
- sentenceJudge Martin Nolan imposed two years' imprisonment on Patrick Lawrence. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- sentenceJudge Nolan imposed one-year suspended sentences on Tom and John Lawrence. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- sentenceWinnifred Lawrence (74) was jailed last year for three and a half years with the final 18 months suspended. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceThe judge set a sentence of 12 years and suspended the final year on a number of conditions. (dublinlive.ie)
- sentenceThe man was ordered to remain under Probation Service supervision for three years post-release. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherPatrick Lawrence has six previous convictions for theft and road traffic offences. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- otherEileen Lawrence has no previous convictions. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- otherWinnifred Lawrence was jailed last year for three and a half years (final 18 months suspended) for similar claims between 2012 and 2014. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe man was the child's great-uncle by marriage. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherThe child was being minded by the man's wife, the child's great-aunt, from when he was a baby. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherThe boy disclosed the abuse, saying it made him feel angry, sad and scared. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherThe man had no previous convictions and a long work history. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherThe child's mother said the abuse tore their family apart and her son was left with an almost grief-like feeling at the loss of his great-aunt. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherThe child has become very withdrawn and continues to have flashbacks and mixed emotions. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherThe defence described the conviction as a fall from grace for the man. (dublinlive.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 14 Mar2025Man who repeatedly raped wife's grand-nephew jailed for 11 years
Reports the sentencing: 12 years with final year suspended, three years' Probation Service supervision post-release. Includes the victim impact statement read by the child's mother and the judge's comments on the serious breach of trust.
victim, 9-14, maleconvicted, 46, male - 14 Mar2025Father jailed for his part in multigenerational insurance claim fraud
Patrick Lawrence sentenced to two years, Tom and John Lawrence given one-year suspended sentences, Eileen Lawrence awaiting sentencing. Details of the fraud scheme, individual claims, and prior convictions provided.
convicted, Patrick Lawrence, 54, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Lawrenceaccused, Eileen Lawrence, 52, female, named, irish (judged from name)Eileen Lawrenceconvicted, Tom Lawrence, 24, male, named, irish (judged from name)Tom Lawrenceconvicted, John Lawrence, 26, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Lawrence - 14 Mar2025Father jailed and wife to be sentenced over family insurance fraud
Patrick Lawrence sentenced to two years' imprisonment; Tom and John Lawrence given one-year suspended sentences; Eileen Lawrence's sentencing deferred to Monday. Grandmother Winnifred Lawrence (74) was jailed last year for three and a half years for similar claims.
convicted, Patrick Lawrence, 54, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Lawrenceconvicted, Eileen Lawrence, 52, female, named, irish (judged from name)Eileen Lawrenceconvicted, Tom Lawrence, 24, male, named, irish (judged from name)Tom Lawrenceconvicted, John Lawrence, 26, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Lawrenceconvicted, Winnifred Lawrence, 74, female, named, irish (judged from name)Winnifred Lawrence