Man sentenced for knife robbery at Circle K, Dundrum Road, Dublin
On 3 March 2021 the accused produced a knife and demanded money from a female employee at a Circle K on the Dundrum Road, Dublin, and was handed €350. Ms. Keenan is named as the injured party, and the accused is Lee O'Brien, a 39-year-old man. He failed to appear on the trial date, was later arrested on a bench warrant, and appeared at Dublin District Court to finalise 48 separate matters after covid lockdown delays. A report dated 23 January 2026 says he was sentenced, but the article gives two different terms: two years and nine months, and three years and three months with the final six months suspended.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced23 Jan
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- A robbery took place in which the accused demanded money from a female employee.
- Where
- The robbery took place at a Circle K on the Dundrum Road, Dublin.
- When
- The offence was committed on 3 March 2021.
- Weapon
- The accused produced a knife while demanding money.
- Other details
- Cash totalling €350 was handed over to the accused.
- The accused has 228 previous convictions.
- The injured party left her job after the incident and is now living overseas.
- Investigation
- The accused changed clothes at a nearby apartment complex and left on a bike, and gardaí located discarded belongings after finding the accused on CCTV.
- A DNA sample matching the accused was found on a cap and hoodie in a rucksack, and the clothing matched what the accused wore on CCTV.
- In court
- The accused failed to appear on the trial date and was later arrested on a bench warrant.
- Proceedings were delayed by covid lockdowns, and the accused appeared at Dublin District Court to finalise 48 separate matters.
- The judge described the offence as deliberate and organised, and the court treated the bench warrant as an aggravating factor.
- Sentence
- The court set a headline sentence of five years and passed a sentence of 3 years and 3 months with the final 6 months suspended.
- Sources differ on the term: one gives two years and nine months, and the other gives three years and three months with the final six months suspended.
- The accused must engage with probation services for one year after release.
18 statements extracted from the articles
- whereThe robbery took place at a Circle K on the Dundrum Road. (gript.ie)
- whenThe offence was committed on 3 March 2021. (gript.ie)
- weaponThe accused produced a knife while demanding money from a female employee. (gript.ie)
- investigationThe accused changed clothes at a nearby apartment complex and left on a bike. (gript.ie)
- investigationGardaí located discarded belongings after finding the accused on CCTV. (gript.ie)
- investigationA DNA sample matching the accused was found on a cap and hoodie in a rucksack. (gript.ie)
- investigationClothing was matched to what the accused wore on CCTV. (gript.ie)
- courtThe accused failed to appear on the trial date and was later arrested on a bench warrant. (gript.ie)
- courtThe accused appeared at Dublin District Court to finalise 48 separate matters. (gript.ie)
- courtProceedings were delayed by covid lockdowns. (gript.ie)
- courtThe judge described the offence as deliberate and organised. (gript.ie)
- courtThe court treated the bench warrant as an aggravating factor. (gript.ie)
- sentenceThe accused was sentenced to two years and nine months. (gript.ie)
- sentenceThe court set a headline sentence of five years, then passed a sentence of 3 years and 3 months with the final 6 months suspended. (gript.ie)
- sentenceThe accused must engage with probation services for one year after release. (gript.ie)
- otherCash totalling €350 was handed over to the accused. (gript.ie)
- otherThe accused has 228 previous convictions. (gript.ie)
- otherThe injured party left her job after the incident and is now living overseas. (gript.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 23 Jan2026Repeat offender held up Circle K with knife - Gript
Court report on sentencing for a 2021 robbery; no matching existing case. The article gives 2 years and 9 months in the introduction but 3 years and 3 months (with the final 6 months suspended) in the body.
convicted, Lee O'Brien, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Lee O'Brienvictim, Ms. Keenan, female, irish (judged from name)Ms. Keenan