Man sent for trial over money laundering in Dublin
Ayo Egbon, 37, a man from Swords, Dublin, is accused of acquiring, possessing, using or converting €255,472 in a Permanent TSB account and possessing or transferring a further €100,000, knowing or reckless that the funds were proceeds of a romance fraud involving a victim from Finland. The offences allegedly took place between February 2017 and February 2020, with the additional charge relating to July 2021, and the case follows a Garda National Economic Crime Bureau investigation. Egbon was charged under the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010 and made no reply when charged. He appeared at Dublin District Court on several occasions in 2024, and in January 2025 Judge Deirdre Gearty sent him forward for trial at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court, where the case is listed for mention on 27 February. He remains on bail with conditions including a ban on using dating and matchmaking websites and surrender of his passport.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court5 Apr
5 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Egbon is accused of acquiring, possessing, using or converting €255,472 in a Permanent TSB account in his name, knowing or reckless that it was proceeds of crime.
- An additional charge relates to possessing or transferring €100,000 in crime proceeds at Fire Financial Services Ltd, Custom House Quay, Dublin 1.
- The money was described in court as proceeds of a romance fraud, with the injured party from Finland.
- When
- The offences allegedly took place from February 2017 to February 2020, with the additional offence from July 2 to 14, 2021.
- Investigation
- The case follows a Garda National Economic Crime Bureau investigation.
- Charges
- Egbon was charged under the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010.
- In court
- He appeared at Dublin District Court on multiple occasions in 2024, with adjournments granted for DPP directions and preparation of a book of evidence.
- In January 2025, Judge Deirdre Gearty granted a return-for-trial order sending the case to Dublin Circuit Criminal Court, listed for mention on 27 February.
- The DPP directed trial on indictment, and free legal aid including junior and senior counsel was granted.
- Other details
- Egbon remains on bail with conditions including a ban on using dating and matchmaking websites, surrender of his passport, and residence at his stated address.
- Egbon made no reply when charged and has not yet indicated a plea.
60 statements extracted from the articles
- whatEgbon is accused of acquiring, possessing, using or converting €255,472 in a Permanent TSB account in his name, knowing or reckless that it was proceeds of crime. (thejournal.ie)
- whatThe judge said the money was the proceeds of romance fraud. (thejournal.ie)
- whatThe injured party was from Finland. (thejournal.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- whatEgbon is accused of acquiring, possessing, using or converting €255,472 in a Permanent TSB account in his name. (thejournal.ie)
- whatIt was claimed the money was the proceeds of romance fraud. (thejournal.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- whatAyo Egbon is to face trial accused of possessing €355,000 in crime proceeds following a romance fraud investigation. (thejournal.ie)
- whatA man is to face trial accused of possessing €355,000 in crime proceeds following a romance fraud investigation. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatAyo Egbon is 37 years old and lives at Broomhill House, Swords Road, Dublin (irishmirror.ie)
- whatHe is a father of three (irishmirror.ie)
- whatHe was previously described as a learner truck driver (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe offences allegedly took place from February 2017 until February 2020. (thejournal.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe additional offence took place from July 2 to 14, 2021 (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe case follows a Garda National Economic Crime Bureau investigation. (thejournal.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- chargeEgbon was charged earlier under money laundering legislation. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeThe charge is under the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeHe was initially charged over €255,472 in a Permanent TSB account in his name. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeAn additional charge of possessing or transferring €100,000 in crime proceeds at Fire Financial Services Ltd was brought. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeHe was initially charged with acquiring, possessing, using or converting €255,472 in a Permanent TSB account, knowing or reckless to it being proceeds of crime. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeAn additional charge of possessing or transferring €100,000 in crime proceeds was brought. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHe was charged under money-laundering legislation (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHe was additionally charged with possessing or transferring €100,000 in crime proceeds at Fire Financial Services LTD CHQ Building, Custom House Quay, Dublin 1 (irishmirror.ie)
- courtEgbon faced his second appearance at Dublin District Court, where the judge noted gardaí needed more time to get directions from the DPP. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe judge allowed gardaí a further 12 weeks to obtain the DPP's decision. (thejournal.ie)
- courtEgbon has not yet indicated a plea and remains on bail with several conditions. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThis was Egbon's fourth appearance at Dublin District Court. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe judge was told gardaí needed more time to get directions from the DPP. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe sergeant said there may be further charges. (thejournal.ie)
- courtJudge Smyth granted a four-week adjournment. (thejournal.ie)
- courtIt has yet to be decided whether the case will be dealt with in the District Court or go forward to the Circuit Court. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment, so the case would be sent to the Circuit Court. (thejournal.ie)
- courtGardaí requested a six-week adjournment to prepare a book of evidence. (thejournal.ie)
- courtJudge Smyth extended legal aid to cover the new charge. (thejournal.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- courtHe was remanded on continuing bail to appear again on 18 November. (thejournal.ie)
- courtAs a condition of bail, he is barred from using dating and matchmaking websites. (thejournal.ie)
- courtHe appeared at Dublin District Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment, meaning the case would be sent to the Circuit Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtHe was remanded on continuing bail to appear again on November 18 to be served with a book of evidence and returned for trial. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge Deirdre Gearty at Dublin District Court granted a return-for-trial order sending the case to Dublin Circuit Criminal Court (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe case will be listed for mention on February 27 (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment at a higher level with wider sentencing powers (irishmirror.ie)
- courtFree legal aid including junior and senior counsel was granted on application by defence barrister Kevin McCrave (irishmirror.ie)
- courtHe must reside at the address given and not go on any internet dating or matchmaking sites (irishmirror.ie)
- otherBail conditions include not going on any internet dating or matchmaking sites. (thejournal.ie)
- otherAt a previous stage it was said further charges were possible. (thejournal.ie)
- otherEgbon has been granted legal aid. (thejournal.ie)
- otherEgbon was remanded on continuing bail. (thejournal.ie)
- otherAs a bail condition, Egbon is barred from using dating and matchmaking websites. (thejournal.ie)
- otherEgbon had to surrender his passport. (thejournal.ie)
- otherEgbon has yet to indicate a plea. (thejournal.ie)
- otherMr Egbon made no reply when charged. (thejournal.ie)
- otherThe defence said the accused had already lost employment over these matters. (thejournal.ie)
- otherHe must reside at the address given and must not go on internet dating or matchmaking sites. (thejournal.ie)
- otherHe had to surrender his passport and must not apply for alternative travel documents. (thejournal.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- otherIt was claimed in court that the funds were proceeds of romance fraud and the injured party was from Finland. (thejournal.ie)
- otherHe made no reply when charged. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherA bail condition bars him from using dating and matchmaking websites. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherHe had already lost employment in relation to these matters. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherHe had already lost employment in relation to the matters (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe proceeds were described as being from romance fraud (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe alleged injured party was from Finland (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 7 Jan2025Trial to go ahead in €355k alleged 'romance fraud' case
Reports that Ayo Egbon was sent forward for trial at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court (listed for mention 27 February) on two money-laundering charges totalling €355,472 in crime proceeds from a romance fraud, with the DPP directing trial on indictment. Bail conditions include a ban on dating websites and surrender of passport.
accused, Ayo Egbon, 37, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Ayo Egbonvictim, non-irish (judged from name) - 4 Oct2024Man to face trial over possessing €355,000 after 'romance fraud' investigation
Reports the court appearance at Dublin District Court: a second charge of possessing or transferring €100,000 in crime proceeds, the offence period February 2017 to February 2020, the DPP directing trial on indictment in the Circuit Court, and the bail conditions including a ban on internet dating sites.
accused, Ayo Egbon, 37, male, namedAyo Egbon - 4 Oct2024Man facing trial over romance fraud barred from 'dating and matchmaking' sites while on bail
Reports that the DPP directed trial on indictment to the Circuit Court, that gardaí brought an additional charge of possessing or transferring €100,000 in crime proceeds, and the bail conditions barring dating and matchmaking sites, with the case adjourned to 18 November for a book of evidence.
accused, Ayo Egbon, 37, male, namedAyo Egbon - 6 Sep2024Man accused of possessing €255,000 in proceeds from 'romance fraud' could face further charges
Reports a fourth District Court appearance on 6 September 2024. The sergeant asked for an adjournment because the DPP had not yet given directions, and said there may be further charges. Judge Bryan Smyth granted a four-week adjournment. The article gives the amount as €255,472, where the existing case records €355,000.
accused, Ayo Egbon, 37, male, namedAyo Egbonvictim - 5 Apr2024Man charged under money laundering legislation accused of 'romance fraud' totalling €225,000
Reports the second District Court appearance, the €255,472 figure, the period of the alleged offences, the injured party's origin in Finland, the bail conditions, and the 12-week adjournment for the DPP's decision.
accused, Ayo Egbon, 37, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Ayo Egbonvictim