Man sent for trial over alleged money laundering in Letterkenny
Othniel Matondo, a 23-year-old man, is alleged to have committed money laundering in Letterkenny, County Donegal, with one charge relating to an offence on April 16, 2020. He is charged with dealing with the proceeds of criminal conduct, namely €2,990 credited to his Revolut account. On October 21, 2024, a book of evidence was served on him at Letterkenny District Court. The DPP directed that he stand trial at Letterkenny Circuit Court, and the judge returned him for trial, which is the latest development reported on October 23, 2024. No sentence has been reported.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court21 Oct
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Othniel Matondo, a 23-year-old man, is alleged to have committed money laundering offences.
- Where
- The alleged money laundering offences took place in Letterkenny, County Donegal.
- When
- One charge concerns an alleged offence on April 16, 2020.
- Charges
- One charge alleges that he dealt with the proceeds of criminal conduct, namely €2,990 credited to his Revolut account.
- The charge is brought under Section 7 of the Criminal Justice Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Act.
- Investigation
- Garda Gillian Page gave evidence that she served a book of evidence on the accused at 11.37am on October 21, 2024.
- In court
- A book of evidence was served on Matondo when he appeared at Letterkenny District Court.
- The DPP directed that the accused be sent to stand trial at Letterkenny Circuit Court.
- Other details
- The judge returned Matondo for trial and administered the alibi warning.
- Legal aid was granted to Matondo's solicitor, and two legal counsel were assigned.
9 statements extracted from the articles
- whereThe alleged money laundering offences took place in Letterkenny. (donegallive.ie)
- whenOne charge concerns an offence on April 16, 2020. (donegallive.ie)
- investigationGarda Gillian Page gave evidence of serving a book of evidence on the accused at 11.37am on October 21, 2024. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeOne charge is that he engaged in dealing with the proceeds of criminal conduct, €2,990 credited to his Revolut account. (donegallive.ie)
- chargeThe charge is contrary to Section 7 of the Criminal Justice Money Laundering & Terrorist Financing) Act. (donegallive.ie)
- courtA book of evidence was served on Othniel Matondo when he appeared at Letterkenny District Court. (donegallive.ie)
- courtThe DPP directed that the accused be sent to stand trial at Letterkenny Circuit Court. (donegallive.ie)
- otherThe judge returned Matondo for trial and administered the alibi warning. (donegallive.ie)
- otherLegal aid was granted to Matondo's solicitor, and two legal counsel were assigned. (donegallive.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 21 Oct2024Man sent for trial over alleged money laundering in Letterkenny
Reports the book of evidence, the DPP's direction that the accused stand trial at Letterkenny Circuit Court, and the charge details. No existing case matches.
accused, Othniel Matondo, 23, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Othniel Matondo