Case No. 8912Robbery · Co. Offaly

Man remanded for sentencing after Tullamore pharmacy robbery guilty plea

Philip Maguire, 37, of Tullamore, is alleged to have entered McCormack Pharmacy in Tullamore, Offaly, armed with a shotgun on October 22, 2025, handing in a handwritten list of medications and demanding cash before leaving with €530 and €192 worth of medication. He was arrested at the scene when Garda Alan Mills tackled him outside the pharmacy. Maguire pleaded guilty at Tullamore Circuit Court on April 14, 2026, to robbing the pharmacy and possessing a shotgun with intent to commit robbery. At a sentencing hearing in June 2026, the judge remanded him in custody for a forensic psychiatric report before sentencing.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court7 Jan
    6 reports
  5. Convicted30 Apr
    2 reports
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
Maguire is alleged to have robbed €530 in cash and €192 worth of medication at McCormack Pharmacy, Tullamore.
Where
The robbery took place at McCormack Pharmacy, Kilbeggan Bridge, Arden Road, Tullamore, Offaly.
When
The robbery took place on October 22, 2025, at about 4.10pm or 4.16pm.
Cause
The man handed in a handwritten list of medications and demanded cash.
Weapon
A shotgun and a knife were used, and the firearm was found to be in poor condition and unable to function.
Investigation
Maguire was arrested at 4.20pm when Garda Alan Mills tackled him outside the pharmacy, and a knife, cash and prescribed drugs were found in a laptop bag on him.
Charges
Maguire was charged with robbing €530 cash and €192 worth of medication, possessing a shotgun with intent to commit robbery, possessing a shotgun to prevent arrest, possessing a knife, and resisting a garda.
In court
Maguire pleaded guilty at Tullamore Circuit Court on April 14, 2026, to the robbery and shotgun charges, with the knife and resisting charges to be taken into consideration.
Sentence
At a sentencing hearing in June 2026, the judge remanded Maguire in custody to November 17 for a forensic psychiatric report before sentencing.
Other details
  • Maguire had 58 previous convictions including a six-year suspended sentence for robbery that was in effect when the offence occurred.
  • The defence said Maguire has a long history of mental illness and no recollection of the incident.
  • Victim impact statements described nightmares, panic attacks and ongoing fear among staff and a customer.
83 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatMaguire is alleged to have robbed €530 cash and medication worth €192. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whatA man is accused of robbing a pharmacy in Tullamore. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whatCash and medication worth €192 were allegedly taken. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whatIt is alleged that €530 in cash and €192 worth of medication were taken in the robbery. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whatMaguire pleaded guilty to robbing €530 cash and €192 worth of medication at a pharmacy. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whatA man robbed McCormack's Pharmacy in Tullamore and left with €530 cash and €192 worth of medication. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whatThe man frightened staff and a customer and left with €530 cash and €192 worth of medication. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whereThe robbery took place at McCormack Pharmacy on Arden Road, Tullamore. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whereThe robbery allegedly took place at McCormack Pharmacy on Arden Road, Tullamore. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whereThe alleged robbery took place at McCormack Pharmacy, Kilbeggan Bridge, Arden Road, Tullamore. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whereThe robbery took place at McCormack's Pharmacy in Kilbeggan Bridge, Tullamore. (longfordleader.ie)
  • whenThe man entered the pharmacy at 4.16pm. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whenThe robbery happened on 22 October 2025. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whenThe robbery is alleged to have happened on October 22, 2025. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whenThe robbery allegedly took place on October 22, 2025. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whenThe alleged offences were committed on October 22 of the previous year. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whenThe robbery took place on October 22. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whenThe robbery took place at about 4.10pm. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • whenThe robbery happened when a pharmacy technician manager was dealing with customers at 4.10pm on October 22. (longfordleader.ie)
  • causeThe robber handed in a handwritten list of medications and demanded cash. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • weaponA shotgun was pointed at staff and a customer. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • weaponThe man pointed the firearm at a member of staff and sought drugs and cash. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • weaponThe CCTV footage showed a man holding a gun in the pharmacy. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • weaponIt is alleged he had a shotgun with intent to commit robbery and also had a knife. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • weaponMaguire admitted possessing a shotgun with intent to commit robbery. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • weaponThe robber had the base of a sawn-off shotgun. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • weaponThe robber was armed with a shotgun. (longfordleader.ie)
  • investigationGardaí presented CCTV footage of the robbery to the court. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • investigationA knife, cash and prescribed drugs were found in a laptop bag on the man. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • investigationThe man was arrested at 4.20pm. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • investigationIn interview the man made full admissions to entering the premises with the firearm. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • investigationThe firearm had been sent to ballistics to test whether it could be fired. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • investigationGardaí apprehended the accused after the alleged robbery. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • investigationCCTV footage was viewed by the judge in a bail application. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • investigationThe book of evidence was not yet ready and Maguire was remanded to February 4. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • investigationThe book of evidence is expected to be ready in two weeks. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • investigationThe book of evidence was not yet ready, and the accused was remanded to February 4. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • investigationA garda tackled the man outside the pharmacy and arrested him. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • investigationThe firearm was examined by garda ballistics and found to be in poor condition and unable to function. (offalyexpress.ie, longfordleader.ie)
  • investigationThe accused admitted the offence to gardaí when interviewed after his arrest. (longfordleader.ie)
  • chargeThe accused is alleged to have robbed €530 cash and medication worth €192. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • chargeMaguire is accused of robbing a pharmacy in Tullamore. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • chargeHe also faces a charge of having a shotgun. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • chargeMaguire admitted having the shotgun with intent to prevent his arrest. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • chargeMaguire pleaded guilty to robbing €530 cash and €192 worth of medication at the pharmacy. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • chargeMaguire admitted possessing a shotgun with intent to commit robbery and having it to prevent his arrest. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • chargeCharges of possessing a knife and resisting a garda were to be taken into consideration. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • chargeThe accused had previously pleaded guilty to robbing €530 cash and €192 worth of medication at the pharmacy. (longfordleader.ie)
  • chargeThe accused admitted possessing a shotgun with intent to commit robbery. (longfordleader.ie)
  • courtThe DPP had not yet issued directions in the case. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtThe judge remanded the accused in custody, citing his admissions and strong evidence. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtThe accused was remanded in custody with consent to bail until December 10, when he is to appear by video link. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtThe accused was refused bail and remanded in custody. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtDefence counsel said the matter could be adjourned for a book of evidence. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtA book of evidence is being prepared for the prosecution. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtThe accused appeared before the judge on Wednesday, 7 January. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtThe case was adjourned to 21 January and the accused was remanded to appear on that date. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtMaguire had previously been refused bail and appeared at Tullamore District Court by video link from prison. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtJudge Cody said Maguire will be sent to the Circuit Court on February 4. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtThe accused had previously been refused bail and appeared by video link from prison. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtThe judge said the accused would be sent to the Circuit Court on February 4. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtA book of evidence was served, and the DPP consented to the accused being sent to Tullamore Circuit Criminal Court on April 14. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtThe judge granted two counsel for the defence and remanded the accused in custody with consent to bail to the Circuit Court in April. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtMaguire was arraigned at Tullamore Circuit Court on Tuesday, 14 April. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtMaguire had a previous six-year suspended sentence for robbery and was subject to it when the offence occurred. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtMaguire had 58 previous convictions. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtMaguire was remanded in custody to November 17 for a forensic report before sentencing. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • courtA forensic psychiatric report was sought, and the defence asked for the matter to be adjourned to the November sitting of the Circuit Court. (longfordleader.ie)
  • courtThe judge remanded the accused in custody to November 17 for the forensic report, which was needed before sentencing. (longfordleader.ie)
  • sentenceJudge Munro adjourned consideration of sentencing to June 3. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • sentenceThe maximum sentence available to the court is life in prison. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • otherThe defence said the accused has a psychiatric illness and needs to be assessed. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • otherThe accused is 37 years old and has an address at St Columba's Place, Tullamore. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • otherThe defence said Maguire has a long history of mental illness and no recollection of the incident. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • otherMaguire was in custody in Cloverhill Prison for a considerable period. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • otherThe judge ordered psychiatric, probation and prison governor's reports. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • otherMaguire can appear before the court by video link from prison. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • otherThe judge praised the garda who tackled the armed robber. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • otherVictim impact statements described nightmares, panic attacks and ongoing fear among staff and a customer. (offalyexpress.ie)
  • otherThe court was told the accused had been given a six-year suspended sentence for robbery before this offence. (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherThe accused had 58 previous convictions. (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherA probation report assessed the accused as low risk of reoffending in the next 12 months. (longfordleader.ie)
  • otherThe judge said the crime was appalling and that the victims had similar symptoms to post traumatic stress disorder. (longfordleader.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 27 Jun2026
    Midlands pharmacy robber armed with shotgun taken down by garda

    Court sentencing hearing: pharmacy staff and a customer gave victim impact statements, the judge praised the garda who tackled the robber, and the accused was remanded for a forensic report.

    accused, Philip Maguire, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Philip Maguirevictim, Annette Donlon Nestor, female, irish (judged from name)Annette Donlon Nestorvictim, Nicole Cromack, female, irish (judged from name)Nicole Cromackvictim, Irene Macken, female, irish (judged from name)Irene Mackenvictim, Marie Delaney, irish (judged from name)Marie Delaney
  2. 26 Jun2026
    Offaly pharmacy robber armed with shotgun taken down by garda

    Court report on the Circuit Court sentencing hearing. Maguire pleaded guilty to robbery and to possessing a shotgun with intent to commit robbery. Other charges were to be taken into consideration. The judge remanded him in custody for sentencing, and the report includes victim impact statements and the garda's account of the arrest.

    convicted, Philip Maguire, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Philip Maguirevictim, Annette Donlon Nestor, female, irish (judged from name)Annette Donlon Nestorvictim, Nicole Cromack, female, irish (judged from name)Nicole Cromackvictim, Irene Macken, female, irish (judged from name)Irene Mackenvictim, Marie Delaney, female, irish (judged from name)Marie Delaney
  3. 30 Apr2026
    Guilty plea to armed robbery at Offaly pharmacy

    First report of this court case. Maguire pleaded guilty on 14 April 2026 to the robbery and the shotgun charges. The defence said he has no memory of the incident and a long history of mental illness. Sentencing was adjourned to June 3.

    convicted, Philip Maguire, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Philip Maguire
  4. 13 Mar2026
    Man sent to Circuit Court on Offaly robbery and shotgun charges

    First report on the case. Adds the alleged robbery details, the shotgun and knife allegations, and the order sending the accused to the Circuit Court.

    accused, Philip Maguire, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Philip Maguire
  5. 26 Jan2026
    Man accused of robbing pharmacy in Tullamore will be sent to Circuit Court

    First report of the case. Adds the court appearance on Wednesday 21 January 2026 by video link from prison, the bail refusal, the adjournment for the book of evidence, and the plan to send the accused to the Circuit Court on February 4.

    accused, Philip Maguire, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Philip Maguire
  6. 22 Jan2026
    Man accused of Offaly robbery will be sent to Circuit Court

    Reports the Wednesday 21 January 2026 District Court appearance: the book of evidence was not yet ready, Maguire was previously refused bail, and Judge Cody said he will be sent to the Circuit Court on 4 February.

    accused, Philip Maguire, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Philip Maguire
  7. 7 Jan2026
    Book of evidence being prepared after Offaly robbery

    Court report on the 7 January 2026 District Court hearing. Adds that a book of evidence is being prepared, that CCTV shows a man holding a gun, the amount and medication allegedly taken, and the adjournment to 21 January.

    accused, Philip Maguire, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Philip Maguire
  8. 7 Jan2026
    CCTV footage of armed robbery at Offaly pharmacy shown in court

    Bail hearing report: CCTV footage was presented, the accused made admissions, a knife, cash and prescribed drugs were found on him, the firearm was sent for ballistics, and he was remanded in custody to December 10 by video link.

    accused, Philip Maguire, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Philip Maguirevictim, femalevictim, female