Man refused bail over money laundering and theft charges in Dublin
A 47-year-old Nigerian man, Olatunde Salawe, was refused bail at Dublin District Court on 25 April 2026 after being charged with money laundering, possession of a false instrument, and multiple counts of theft. He was arrested on Thursday morning after disembarking a Ryanair flight and taken to Ballymun Garda Station, where he was charged in a Garda National Economic Bureau probe into the use of AI-generated documents to obtain 145 credit cards, causing a loss of €804,000 to a bank. The court heard he had been travelling to Ireland weekly between September and March to collect Jobseeker's Allowance payments to which he was not allegedly entitled. He was remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court on Friday, with a file being prepared for the DPP for more serious charges.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court1 Apr
4 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- AI-generated documents were allegedly used to obtain 145 credit cards, causing a loss of €804,000 to a banking institution.
- The accused allegedly travelled to Ireland weekly between September and March to collect Jobseeker's Allowance payments to which he was not entitled.
- Where
- Salawe was arrested after disembarking a Ryanair flight and taken to Ballymun Garda Station in Dublin.
- When
- The money laundering charge dates from 16 September 2025, the false instrument charge from April 2025, and the theft counts span November 2025 to March 2026.
- Investigation
- The charges arose from a Garda National Economic Bureau probe into the use of fake AI-generated documents to obtain more than a hundred credit cards.
- A file is being prepared for the DPP for more serious charges.
- Charges
- Salawe was charged with money laundering for possession of €3,300 in suspected crime proceeds, possession of a false instrument, and multiple counts of theft of €254 on eight dates.
- In court
- Salawe was refused bail at Dublin District Court before Judge Michele Finan on 25 April 2026, with the GNECB opposing bail citing flight risk and lack of substantial ties to Ireland.
- He was remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court on Friday.
- Other details
- The defence stated the accused has no previous convictions, no history of failing to appear, an Irish passport, and two adult children living in Ireland.
45 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe court heard that AI-generated documents were allegedly used to obtain 145 credit cards, causing a loss of €804,000 to a bank. (thejournal.ie)
- whatThe accused is a Nigerian man living in London charged with money laundering connected to an €800,000 fraud (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe accused is a father-of-seven (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe accused was arrested on Thursday morning after disembarking a Ryanair flight (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe accused made no reply to the charges (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe accused allegedly used AI-generated documentation to successfully apply for 145 credit cards (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe credit card applications resulted in a total loss of €804,000 to a banking institution (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe accused had been travelling to Ireland every week between September and March to collect Jobseeker's Allowance payments to which he was not entitled (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe accused has an Irish passport despite having no fixed address in the jurisdiction (irishmirror.ie)
- whatDefence counsel argued the accused has significant links to Ireland including a network of friends in Dublin and two adult children living in the country (irishmirror.ie)
- whatWhile detained, the accused called his mother in Nigeria rather than his relatives in Ireland (irishmirror.ie)
- whatSome of the defendant's Dublin friends were under investigation (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe accused has no previous convictions or history of failing to appear in court (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe accused is a Nigerian man living in London. (gript.ie)
- whereHe was arrested after disembarking a Ryanair flight. (rte.ie)
- whereHe was taken to Ballymun Garda Station, where he was held for questioning and charged. (rte.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe accused has no fixed address in London (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe money laundering charge dates from 16 September 2025. (thejournal.ie)
- causeThe accused allegedly used AI-generated documentation to apply for 145 credit cards, causing a loss of €804,000 to a banking institution. (rte.ie)
- causeGardaí allege he travelled to Ireland every week between September and March to collect Jobseeker's Allowance he was not entitled to. (rte.ie)
- investigationSalawe was arrested after disembarking a Ryanair flight and taken to Ballymun Garda Station. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationSalawe was charged in a GNECB probe into the use of fake AI-generated documents to obtain more than a hundred credit cards. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationHe was charged in a GNECB probe into the use of fake AI-generated documents to obtain credit cards. (rte.ie)
- investigationA file is being prepared for the DPP for more serious charges. (rte.ie)
- investigationThe charges arose from a Garda National Economic Bureau probe into the use of fake AI-generated documents to obtain more than a hundred credit cards (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeSalawe was charged with a money laundering offence for possessing €3,300 in suspected crime proceeds. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeSalawe also faces a charge of possessing a false instrument dating back to April 2025. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeSalawe is accused of multiple counts of theft of €254 on eight dates between November 2025 and March 2026. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeHe was charged with a money laundering offence for possession of €3,300 in suspected crime proceeds. (rte.ie)
- chargeHe faces a charge of possessing a false instrument dating back to April 2025. (rte.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHe is accused of multiple counts of theft of €254 on eight dates between November 2025 and March 2026. (rte.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHe was charged with a money laundering offence on 16 September 2025 for possession of €3,300 in suspected crime proceeds (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHe is charged with money laundering connected to an €800,000 fraud. (gript.ie)
- courtSalawe was refused bail when he appeared at Dublin District Court. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe GNECB opposed bail, arguing Salawe is a flight risk with no substantial ties to Ireland. (thejournal.ie)
- courtSalawe was remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court on Friday. (thejournal.ie)
- courtOlatunde Salawe was refused bail at Dublin District Court. (rte.ie)
- courtThe GNECB opposed bail, citing flight risk and lack of substantial ties to Ireland. (rte.ie)
- courtLegal aid was granted and he was remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court on Friday. (rte.ie)
- courtHe was refused bail when he appeared before Judge Michele Finan at Dublin District Court on Saturday (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe GNECB opposed bail citing concerns the accused is a flight risk with no substantial ties to Ireland but has access to false documents (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe information was heard in court. (gript.ie)
- otherGardaí allege Salawe travelled to Ireland every week between September and March to collect Jobseeker’s Allowance he was not entitled to. (thejournal.ie)
- otherThe defence said the accused has no previous convictions and no history of failing to appear in court. (rte.ie)
- otherHe had been flying to Dublin weekly to collect the dole. (gript.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 26 Apr2026Nigerian linked to €800k fraud flew to Dublin weekly for dole - Gript
Article gives no date, court location or county for the case; it reports the court hearing that the accused flew to Dublin weekly to collect the dole.
accused, male, Nigerian, non-irish - 26 Apr2026Accused linked to €800k fraud probe flew to Dublin weekly to get dole court told
Bail hearing details: accused refused bail, remanded to Cloverhill District Court; GNECB detective evidence on arrest and weekly dole collection; defence arguments on Irish links; file being prepared for DPP for more serious charges.
accused, Olatunde Salawe, 47, male, Nigerian, named, non-irishOlatunde Salawe - 25 Apr2026Man flew to Dublin weekly to collect dole, court hears
Reports the bail hearing at Dublin District Court, the charges, the GNECB's bail opposition and the remand to Cloverhill District Court. Adds details of the alleged fraud, the arrest after a Ryanair flight, and the alleged Jobseeker's Allowance claims.
accused, Olatunde Salawe, 47, male, Nigerian, named, non-irishOlatunde Salawe - 1 Apr2026Man linked to €800k fraud probe flew to Dublin weekly to collect dole, court hears
Court report of a bail hearing for one named defendant. Adds the charges, the alleged €804,000 loss, the arrest after a flight, the alleged Jobseeker's Allowance travel, and the remand. No existing case matches.
accused, Olatunde Salawe, 47, male, Nigerian, named, non-irishOlatunde Salawe