Man jailed for stabbing victim at bus station in Dundalk
On 27 October 2018 a man was found inside the Bus Eireann bus station in Dundalk, County Louth, with blood on his face and clothes, and told gardaí he had been stabbed several times in the buttocks. Sean O'Neill (45) and his sister Aisling Hughes (37) were charged in connection with the incident, and Hughes was arrested in February 2019. Both pleaded guilty to assault causing harm, and a report published on 18 January 2024 said O'Neill was jailed at Dundalk Circuit Court, though sources differ on whether the sentence was 15 months or two years and three months with the final 12 months suspended. Sentencing of Hughes was adjourned to 29 May for an updated Probation report, and the judge warned that a custodial sentence remains a strong possibility for her.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced18 Jan
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- Where
- The incident took place at the Bus Eireann bus station in Dundalk, County Louth.
- When
- The incident happened on 27 October 2018.
- What happened
- Gardaí called to the bus station at the Long Walk found the victim, a man, standing inside the building with blood on his face and clothes and lacerations to his face.
- Cause
- The victim told gardaí he had been stabbed a number of times in the buttocks.
- Other details
- Sean O'Neill (45) and his sister Aisling Hughes (37) were co-accused in the case.
- The injured party declined to make a statement of complaint and did not want to be involved in the prosecution.
- Aisling Hughes had 42 previous convictions, including assault causing harm.
- Investigation
- No witnesses would make a statement, but CCTV was recovered from the bus station.
- Aisling Hughes was arrested in February 2019 and exercised her right to silence.
- Charges
- Both accused pleaded guilty to assault causing harm arising out of the incident.
- In court
- The case was heard at Dundalk Circuit Court.
- Sentence
- Sources disagree on Sean O'Neill's sentence: the headline and opening paragraph say he was jailed for 15 months, while the later text says two years and three months with the final 12 months suspended.
- Sentencing of Aisling Hughes was adjourned to 29 May for an updated Probation report.
- The judge warned that a custodial sentence at the very least remains a strong possibility for Aisling Hughes.
13 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe victim was found standing inside the bus station with blood on his face and clothes. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whatThe victim told gardaí he had been stabbed a number of times in the buttocks. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whereThe stabbing took place at the Bus Eireann bus station in Dundalk. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whereGardaí were called to the bus station at the Long Walk. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whenThe incident happened on 27 October 2018. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- investigationNo witnesses would make a statement, but CCTV was recovered from the bus station. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- investigationAisling Hughes was arrested in February 2019 and exercised her right to silence. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeBoth accused pleaded guilty to assault causing harm arising out of the incident. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- sentenceSean O'Neill was given a sentence of two years and three months, with the final 12 months suspended. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- sentenceSentencing of Aisling Hughes was adjourned to 29 May for an updated Probation report. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- sentenceThe judge warned that a custodial sentence at the very least remains a strong possibility for Aisling Hughes. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- otherThe injured party declined to make a statement of complaint and did not want to be involved in the prosecution. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- otherAisling Hughes had 42 previous convictions, including assault causing harm. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 18 Jan2024Man jailed for stabbing victim at bus station in Dundalk
Reports that Sean O'Neill was sentenced, and that Aisling Hughes's sentencing was adjourned to 29 May for a Probation report. The article's headline and first paragraph say he was jailed for 15 months, but the sentence it later gives is two years and three months, with the final 12 months suspended.
convicted, Sean O'Neill, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)Sean O'Neillconvicted, Aisling Hughes, 37, female, named, irish (judged from name)Aisling Hughesvictim, male