Case No. 3270Possession of proceeds of criminal conduct · Co. Dublin

Man jailed for possessing proceeds of criminal conduct in Dublin

A scheme to defraud Trinity College Dublin's Student Hardship Fund of over €500,000 through electronic payments to bank accounts of people who had never attended the college was alleged to have taken place between January 2020 and September 2021. Helen Richardson, 46, a woman and former student support officer at the college, Luke Taaffe, 34, a man who acted as a middleman, and Daniel Dwyer, 45, a man, were charged in July 2025. Richardson and Dwyer were sent forward for trial in October 2025, with Richardson's arraignment set for 28 January 2026. Taaffe pleaded guilty to 11 counts of possessing proceeds of criminal conduct in November 2025 and was sentenced in April 2026 to three years and six months with the final two years suspended, backdated to 29 January 2026.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court9 Jul
    2 reports
  5. Convicted6 Nov
    2 reports
  6. Sentenced1 Apr
    3 reports
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • Three people were charged over an alleged scheme to defraud Trinity College Dublin's Student Hardship Fund, with a total loss of €527,000.
  • The scheme involved electronic payments from the fund to bank accounts of people who had never attended Trinity College between January 2020 and September 2021.
  • Luke Taaffe acted as a middleman, allowing his bank accounts to be used and recruiting others to do the same, with approximately €27,000 transferred into his account.
Where
The case was heard at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court and Dublin District Court.
When
The scheme involved payments between January 2020 and September 2021; Taaffe's charges relate to dates between June 2020 and July 2021, while Richardson's alleged fraud is said to have occurred between 2021 and 2022.
Charges
  • Helen Richardson, 46, faces over 100 theft and money laundering charges, including 102 counts of stealing and transferring sums between €1,550 and €3,000.
  • Luke Taaffe, 34, pleaded guilty to 11 counts of possessing proceeds of criminal conduct.
  • Daniel Dwyer, 45, faces 14 charges of handling proceeds of criminal conduct.
In court
Richardson made no reply to the 102 charges and was remanded on bail; she and Dwyer were sent forward for trial in October 2025.
Sentence
Taaffe was sentenced in April 2026 to three years and six months with the final two years suspended on strict conditions, backdated to 29 January 2026.
Other details
  • Richardson worked as a student support officer at Trinity College and no longer works there.
  • Taaffe told gardaí he had a cocaine habit of €300 to €400 a day and spent the money on drugs.
74 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThree people appeared in court charged over an alleged scheme to defraud almost half a million euro from Trinity College's Student Hardship Fund. (rte.ie)
  • whatThe accused are alleged to have planned to defraud almost half a million euros from Trinity College's Student Hardship Fund. (thejournal.ie)
  • whatRichardson is accused of stealing and transferring sums of between €1,550 and €3,000, 102 times. (thejournal.ie)
  • whatTwo people appeared at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court over the alleged defrauding of €500,000 from Trinity College's student hardship fund. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatTwo people appeared in court over an alleged fraud of €500,000 from Trinity College's Student Hardship Fund. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatLuke Taaffe was a middleman in a scheme that defrauded a Trinity College hardship fund of over €500,000. (thejournal.ie)
  • whatTaaffe allowed his bank accounts to be used as part of the scheme and recruited others to do the same. (thejournal.ie)
  • whatAbout €27,000 from the fund was transferred into Taaffe's account. (thejournal.ie)
  • whatSix payments totalling €13,600 were made from the hardship fund directly to Taaffe's bank account. (thejournal.ie)
  • whatThe total loss to the Trinity College Dublin hardship fund from the overall scheme was €527,000 (irishtimes.com)
  • whatSix payments from the hardship fund totalling €13,600 were made directly to Taaffe's bank account (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe scheme involved electronic payments from the student hardship fund made to bank accounts of people who had never attended Trinity College between January 2020 and September 2021 (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe total loss to the hardship fund from the overall scheme was €527,000 (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereRichardson is from Beaupark Square in Clongriffin in Dublin. (thejournal.ie)
  • whereThe case was heard at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • whereTaaffe lives in Artane, Dublin 5. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenThe alleged offences took place on different dates over a two-year period between 2021 and 2022. (rte.ie)
  • whenOne of Luke Taffe's charges relates to €1,550 on 22 December 2020. (rte.ie)
  • whenOne of Daniel Dwyer's charges relates to €15,590 moved at the Central Bank of Ireland in the IFSC on 7 September 2021. (rte.ie)
  • whenThe alleged thefts happened over a two-year period between 2021 and 2022. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenThe count against Taaffe relates to October 8th, 2020. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe alleged fraud took place between 2021 and 2022. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe offence Taaffe pleaded guilty to dates from 8 October 2020. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe offences were committed on dates between June 2020 and July 2021. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenThe scheme involved electronic payments from the student hardship fund to bank accounts of people who had not attended Trinity College between January 2020 and September 2021 (irishtimes.com)
  • causeTaaffe told gardaí he had a cocaine habit of €300 to €400 a day and spent the money on drugs. (thejournal.ie)
  • investigationDet Garda Joseph Heaphy said Helen Richardson was arrested at her home in Beaupark Square. (rte.ie)
  • chargeHelen Richardson is facing over a hundred theft and money laundering charges. (rte.ie)
  • chargeHelen Richardson is accused of stealing and transferring sums of between €1,550 and €3,000, 102 times. (rte.ie)
  • chargeLuke Taffe is facing 20 charges of converting, transferring, handling, acquiring, possessing or using proceeds of criminal conduct from the Student Hardship Fund. (rte.ie)
  • chargeDaniel Dwyer is facing 14 similar charges relating to proceeds of criminal conduct from the Student Hardship Fund. (rte.ie)
  • chargeRichardson is facing over a hundred theft and money laundering charges. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeCo-accused Daniel Dwyer, 45, from Edenmore Avenue in Dublin 5, faces 14 charges of handling proceeds of criminal conduct. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeThe alleged offences are under the Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud) Act and the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeLuke Taaffe admitted one count of converting, transferring, handling, acquiring, possessing or using €1,500 from the fund while knowing it was the proceeds of criminal conduct. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeLuke Taaffe pleaded guilty to one count of handling proceeds of criminal conduct worth €1,500 from the fund. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeRichardson is alleged to have defrauded the fund of just under €500,000 on dates between 2021 and 2022. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeTaaffe pleaded guilty at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to 11 counts of possessing the proceeds of criminal conduct. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeTaaffe pleaded guilty to 11 counts of possessing the proceeds of criminal conduct on dates between June 2020 and July 2021 (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHelen Richardson made no reply to each of the 102 charges put to her. (rte.ie)
  • courtHelen Richardson was granted free legal aid and remanded on bail for service of the Book of Evidence in October. (rte.ie)
  • courtJudge Paula Murphy directed that Helen Richardson was not to have contact with any witnesses or her two co-accused as a bail condition. (rte.ie)
  • courtJudge Murphy remanded Luke Taffe and Daniel Dwyer on bail to appear again in October for service of a book of evidence. (rte.ie)
  • courtRichardson made no reply to the 102 charges when they were put to her on 9 July. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe accused appeared before Judge Paula Murphy at Dublin District Court. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe Director of Public Prosecutions consented to the accused being returned for trial on indictment. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe judge sent the accused forward for trial to the Circuit Court. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe accused were granted legal aid and remanded on bail, and have not yet indicated pleas. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtHelen Richardson was given an arraignment date of January 28th. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtHelen Richardson was given an arraignment date of 28 January 2026. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtGarda evidence put the total loss to the hardship fund from the overall scheme at €527,000. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtJudge Martina Baxter said the scheme was well-planned and premeditated and that Taaffe was a middleman who played a vital role. (thejournal.ie)
  • sentenceTaaffe is due to be sentenced on December 17th. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceTaaffe will be sentenced on 17 December 2025. (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceTaaffe was sentenced to three years and six months, with the final two years suspended on strict conditions. (thejournal.ie)
  • sentenceThe sentence was backdated to 29 January, when Taaffe went into custody. (thejournal.ie, irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceTaaffe was sentenced to three years and six months with the final two years suspended on strict conditions including 12 months post-release probation supervision (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • otherHelen Richardson worked as a student support officer at the college. (rte.ie)
  • otherRichardson worked as a student support officer at Trinity College. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherRichardson no longer works at Trinity College and is on social welfare. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherA third man is also before the courts on related money laundering charges. (thejournal.ie)
  • otherTaaffe is 34 and is of Brookwood Avenue, Artane, Dublin 5. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherRichardson is 46 and is from Beaupark Square, Clongriffin, Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherRichardson worked as a student support officer with a co-accused. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherRichardson worked as a student support officer. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherTaaffe has no previous convictions. (thejournal.ie, irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • otherTaaffe brought €12,500 to court primarily from a redundancy payment for onward transmission to the college (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • otherTaaffe's mother was prepared to make a further payment of €5,000 (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe sentence was backdated to 29 January when Taaffe was taken into custody (irishtimes.com)
  • otherTaaffe has diabetes which he found difficult to manage while in custody (irishtimes.com)
  • otherTaaffe worked in Clontarf Castle and his hours were reduced in August 2023 (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
  • otherTaaffe had a cocaine habit of €300 to €400 a day (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherHis mother was prepared to make a further payment of €5,000 (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherTaaffe has diabetes and found it difficult to manage the condition while in custody (irishmirror.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 23 Apr2026
    Coke-fuelled conman jailed in €500K Trinity scam

    Reports the sentencing of Luke Taaffe, described by Judge Martina Baxter as a 'middleman who played a vital role in distributing the money'. He received 3 years 6 months with 2 years suspended, backdated to 29 January. The judge noted the scheme was 'well-planned and pre-mediated'.

    convicted, Luke Taaffe, 34, male, named, irish (judged from name)Luke Taaffe
  2. 22 Apr2026
    ‘Middleman’ involved in €500,000 Trinity College Dublin hardship fund fraud jailed

    Reports the sentencing of Luke Taaffe, detailing his role as a 'middleman' in the fraud scheme, the judge's characterisation of his involvement, mitigating circumstances including his cocaine addiction and diabetes, and the backdating of the sentence to 29 January.

    convicted, Luke Taaffe, 34, male, named, irish (judged from name)Luke Taaffe
  3. 1 Apr2026
    Man involved in scheme that defrauded Trinity College hardship fund of over €500k is jailed

    Reports the sentencing of Luke Taaffe, who pleaded guilty to 11 counts, and gives his role as a middleman, the amounts paid into his account, the total loss and the judge's comments.

    convicted, Luke Taaffe, 34, male, named, irish (judged from name)Luke Taaffe
  4. 6 Nov2025
    Two in court over alleged defrauding of €500k from Trinity College student fund

    Taaffe pleaded guilty to one count of handling €1,500 from the fund and will be sentenced on 17 December 2025. Richardson, a student support officer, is alleged to have defrauded just under €500,000 between 2021 and 2022, with an arraignment set for 28 January 2026.

    convicted, Luke Taaffe, 34, named, irish (judged from name)Luke Taaffeaccused, Helen Richardson, 46, named, irish (judged from name)Helen Richardson
  5. 6 Nov2025
    Two in court over alleged €500,000 Trinity College hardship fund fraud

    First report of this case. Taaffe has admitted one count and is due for sentence; Richardson's arraignment is set for January 28th.

    convicted, Luke Taaffe, 34, male, named, irish (judged from name)Luke Taaffeaccused, Helen Richardson, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Helen Richardson
  6. 2 Oct2025
    Former Trinity College worker accused of stealing from university's hardship fund

    Reports the 2 October 2025 Dublin District Court appearance at which Richardson and co-accused Daniel Dwyer were sent forward for trial; Richardson's case is listed for mention on 6 November and Dwyer's two weeks later. Adds the co-accused's details and charges, and states that a third man faces related money laundering charges.

    accused, Helen Richardson, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Helen Richardsonaccused, Daniel Dwyer, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)Daniel Dwyer
  7. 9 Jul2025
    Three in court over defrauding Trinity of nearly €500,000

    Reports the court appearance on 9 July 2025 of three accused, the number of charges against each, the alleged dates and amounts, bail terms and the next court date in October.

    accused, Helen Richardson, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Helen Richardsonaccused, Luke Taffe, 33, named, irish (judged from name)Luke Taffeaccused, Daniel Dwyer, 45, named, irish (judged from name)Daniel Dwyer