Case No. 18908Rape · Co. Donegal · 28 Jan 2019

Man jailed for five years over 2019 rape of woman he met online

On 28 January 2019, Daniel Maymay, a 31-year-old man, raped a woman at his home in Letterkenny, County Donegal, after they had met online and arranged to meet for coffee. Maymay pleaded not guilty to two counts of rape and one of false imprisonment. At his trial in October 2023 at the Central Criminal Court in Dublin, a jury convicted him of one count of rape and acquitted him of the other rape count and the false imprisonment charge. On 4 December 2023, Mr Justice Paul Burns sentenced him to six years with the final year suspended, backdated to 13 October 2023, when he went into custody; press reports described this as five years in jail.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In courtnot reported
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced4 Dec
    2 reports
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • The woman told Maymay to stop making sexual advances and said she wanted to go home.
  • Daniel Maymay, a 31-year-old man, was found guilty of one count of rape.
Where
The rape took place at Maymay's home in Letterkenny, County Donegal.
When
The rape took place on 28 January 2019.
Cause
The woman and Maymay had chatted online and arranged to meet for coffee and to smoke cannabis.
Charges
Maymay pleaded not guilty to two counts of rape and one count of false imprisonment.
In court
  • The case was tried in October 2023 before Mr Justice Paul Burns at the Central Criminal Court in Dublin.
  • The jury convicted Maymay of one count of rape and acquitted him of the second rape count and the false imprisonment charge.
Sentence
  • Maymay was sentenced to six years' imprisonment with the final year suspended on strict conditions, which reports described as five years in jail.
  • The sentence was backdated to 13 October 2023, when Maymay went into custody.
Other details
  • The court heard that Maymay had no history of sexual offending, and the DPP's view was that the headline sentence should be between seven and 10 years.
  • Maymay has 17 previous convictions, including for violent disorder and possession of drugs for sale or supply.
  • The woman said the guilty verdict would help with her recovery.
  • Maymay's permission to remain in the State expired in 2020 and has not been renewed.
21 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe woman told Maymay to stop and said she wanted to go home. (donegallive.ie)
  • whatDaniel Maymay was found guilty of one count of rape. (gript.ie)
  • whereThe incident took place at Maymay's home in Letterkenny. (donegallive.ie)
  • whereThe rape took place at Maymay's home. (gript.ie)
  • whenMaymay was found guilty of one count of rape for an incident on 28 January 2019. (donegallive.ie)
  • whenThe rape took place on 28 January 2019. (gript.ie)
  • causeThe victim and Maymay had chatted on social media and arranged to meet for coffee and to smoke cannabis. (donegallive.ie)
  • causeThe two had met online and agreed to meet for coffee and cannabis. (gript.ie)
  • causeThe woman had asked Maymay to stop making sexual advances and said she wanted to leave. (gript.ie)
  • chargeMaymay had pleaded not guilty to two counts of rape and one of false imprisonment. (donegallive.ie)
  • courtMaymay appeared before Mr Justice Paul Burns in the Central Criminal Court in Dublin. (donegallive.ie)
  • courtThe jury convicted Maymay of one count of rape and acquitted him of the second rape count and the false imprisonment charge. (donegallive.ie)
  • courtThe Central Criminal Court heard the case. (gript.ie)
  • sentenceMaymay was sentenced to six years' imprisonment with the final year suspended on strict conditions. (donegallive.ie)
  • sentenceThe sentence was backdated to when Maymay went into custody on 13 October 2023. (donegallive.ie)
  • sentenceMaymay was sentenced to six years in jail, with the final year suspended. (gript.ie)
  • otherThe woman said the guilty verdict would help with her recovery. (donegallive.ie)
  • otherThe court heard the mitigating factors included that Maymay had no history of sexual offending. (donegallive.ie)
  • otherThe DPP's view was that the headline sentence should be between seven and 10 years. (donegallive.ie)
  • otherMaymay has 17 previous convictions, including for violent disorder and possession of drugs for sale or supply. (gript.ie)
  • otherMaymay's permission to remain in the State expired in 2020 and has not been renewed. (gript.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 11 Dec2023
    Man previously involved in gang assault jailed for 5 years for rape of woman - Gript

    Court report of the sentencing of Daniel Maymay at the Central Criminal Court. The article also covers his earlier 2013 gang assault conviction, which is a separate case and not recorded here.

    convicted, Daniel Maymay, 31, male, namedDaniel Maymayvictim, female
  2. 4 Dec2023
    Man who raped woman he met online jailed for five years

    Sentencing report from the Central Criminal Court: the jury convicted Maymay of one count of rape and acquitted him of the other rape count and false imprisonment; he received six years with the final year suspended, backdated to 13 October 2023.

    victim, femaleconvicted, Daniel Maymay, 31, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Daniel Maymay