Man jailed for 10 years over US firearms importation in Ardee
On 19 July 2024, Gardaí raided a shed at John Street, Blackstick, Ardee, Co Louth, and seized parts for six AR-15 assault rifles, 12 semi-automatic pistols, and over 900 rounds of ammunition. Mark McCourt, 34, of Newry, Co Down, and Conor O'Brien, 29, of Kilpatrick, Ardee, were arrested and charged with facilitating a criminal organisation's importation of firearms and possession of firearms in suspicious circumstances. McCourt pleaded guilty at the Special Criminal Court and was sentenced to 12 years in November 2025. O'Brien pleaded guilty to six charges and was sentenced to 10 years effective on 16 March 2026.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Charged24 Jul
- In court24 Jul
6 reports - Convicted28 Jul
4 reports - Sentenced3 Nov
4 reports
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Parts for six AR-15 assault rifles, 12 semi-automatic pistols, a silencer, two Airsoft rifles, and over 900 rounds of ammunition were seized from a shed in Ardee, Co Louth.
- The firearms were purchased in Nevada, USA, by a man with US citizenship and smuggled into Ireland in parts for reassembly.
- Where
- The seizure took place at a shed on John Street, Blackstick, Ardee, Co Louth.
- When
- The raid and seizure took place on 19 July 2024.
- Investigation
- The search was carried out by the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau supported by the Garda Emergency Response Unit as part of an intelligence-led operation targeting organised crime.
- Charges
- Mark McCourt, 34, of Newry, Co Down, and Conor O'Brien, 29, of Kilpatrick, Ardee, Co Louth, were each charged with facilitating a criminal organisation's importation of firearms and possession of firearms in suspicious circumstances.
- In court
- Both men were tried before the Special Criminal Court.
- Sentence
- McCourt pleaded guilty to six charges and was sentenced to 12 years in prison in November 2025.
- O'Brien pleaded guilty to six charges and was sentenced to 10 years effective on 16 March 2026, with a headline sentence of 15 years reduced to 11 years and 12 months suspended.
- Other details
- The criminal organisation distributed weapons and pipe bombs to criminal organisations in Derry, Dublin, and Limerick.
- McCourt has 47 previous convictions, while O'Brien had no prior criminal convictions.
191 statements extracted from the articles
- what18 firearms and over 900 rounds of ammunition were seized at a premises in Ardee. (rte.ie)
- whatGardaí seized 6 AR-15 assault rifles. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whatGardaí seized 12 semi-automatic 9mm handguns. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whatAbout 900 rounds of 9mm and .223 ammunition were seized. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whatTwo men were charged with possession of components that make up six AR-15 rifles and 12 semi-automatic handguns (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe components would build six semi-automatic AR-15 style rifles and 12 semi-automatic pistols (irishmirror.ie)
- whatApproximately 900 rounds of ammunition were seized along with the firearms (irishmirror.ie)
- whatTwo men appeared in court charged in connection with the seizure of 18 firearms and over 900 rounds of ammunition in Co Louth. (irishtimes.com)
- whatGardaí seized six AR-15 assault rifles and 12 semi-automatic 9mm handguns. (irishtimes.com)
- whatBoth men face 23 charges of possession of gun components and ammunition. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatA suitcase containing parts for six semi-automatic assault rifles and 12 semi-automatic pistols was found. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatSerial numbers showing the true origin of the firearms had been removed. (irishmirror.ie)
- what904 rounds of ammunition and two Airsoft rifles were also found. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatA silencer was among the weaponry found. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatGardaí gained entry and found a suitcase containing parts for six semi-automatic assault rifles and 12 semi-automatic pistols. (thejournal.ie)
- whatGardaí also found 904 rounds of ammunition and two Airsoft rifles. (thejournal.ie)
- whatThe weapons were bought at a guns and ammunition shop in Nevada by a man with US citizenship and smuggled into Ireland (rte.ie)
- whatA gloved hand was seen loading and unloading weapons including a drum magazine holding up to 50 rounds (rte.ie)
- what82 gun components were found in two Nike holdall bags (rte.ie)
- whatThe components made six AR-15 assault rifles and 12 Glock semi automatic pistols (rte.ie)
- whatAll firearms and ammunition were in working order and suitable for discharge (rte.ie)
- what800 rounds of ammunition were found in a Dunnes Stores bag (rte.ie)
- whatMcCourt had bought a pair of microfibre gloves earlier that morning (rte.ie)
- whatThe criminal organisation was involved in distribution of weapons and pipe bombs to criminal organisations in Derry, Dublin and Limerick (rte.ie)
- whatThe weapons included AR15 assault rifles and semi-automatic pistols, bought at a shop in Nevada, USA. (rte.ie)
- whatThe weapons were smuggled into Ireland in parts and reassembled here. (rte.ie)
- whatGardaí found 82 gun components in two holdall bags in the shed. (rte.ie)
- whatOnce assembled, the components made six AR15 assault rifles and 12 Glock semi-automatic pistols. (rte.ie)
- whatGardaí also found 800 rounds of ammunition in a supermarket bag. (rte.ie)
- whatMark McCourt, leader of a gun-running ring, was jailed for 12 years. (irishtimes.com)
- whatMark McCourt was jailed for 12 years for leading a gun-running ring that smuggled arms into Ireland from America. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whatA 29-year-old man pleaded guilty before the Special Criminal Court to facilitating a smuggling ring that brought assault rifle components and ammunition from the US into Ireland. (irishtimes.com)
- whatConor O'Brien, 29, of Kilpatrick, Ardee, Co Louth, was arraigned on six charges. (limerickleader.ie)
- whatO'Brien and McCourt were involved in procuring firearms in America and bringing them into Ireland, where they were distributed. (limerickleader.ie)
- whatHe used his dual citizenship to buy firearms in the US and sell them in Ireland for financial gain. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe seized items included two .233 Remington AR-15 barrels, four .233 Remington AM-15 barrels, eight Sig Sauer pistol frames, a Canik pistol frame, and four Sig Sauer P320 9mm slides. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe alleged offences took place at John Street, Blackstick, Ardee, Co Louth. (rte.ie, dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whereGardaí searched a premises on the outskirts of Ardee, County Louth. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whereThe charges relate to a premises at John Street, Blackstick, Ardee, Co Louth (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe firearms and ammunition were seized at a premises at John Street, Blackstick, in Ardee. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe firearms and ammunition were found at a shed on John Street, Blackstick, Ardee. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereOfficers went to a property said to have been rented by Mr O’Brien. (thejournal.ie)
- whereMcCourt has an address at Edencrieve, Newry in Co Down (rte.ie)
- whereThe one weapon with a serial number was traced to Pahrump, a gun and ammunition supply store outside Las Vegas, Nevada (rte.ie)
- whereMcCourt was caught red-handed in a Garda raid. (irishtimes.com)
- whereMcCourt lives in Edenreive, Newry, Co Down. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whereFirearms parts and ammunition were seized from a shed in Ardee, Co Louth. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whereThe offences related to John Street, Blackstick, Ardee, Co Louth. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe offences relate to John Street, Blackstick, Ardee, Co Louth. (limerickleader.ie)
- whereThe firearms offences relate to John Street, Blackstick, Ardee, Co Louth. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whenThe seizure took place in Co Louth on the Friday before the court appearance. (rte.ie)
- whenThe firearms and ammunition were seized on Friday 19 July 2024. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whenThe search of the property was carried out at about 2pm. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe two men were arrested on July 19 by Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau officers. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenBoth men were arrested on 19 July by Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau officers. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe alleged possession offences occurred on 19 July 2024. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whenThe rifle was bought by a man with US citizenship on 10 February 2023 (rte.ie)
- whenOn 19 July 2024, gardaí raided a shed at Blackstick in Ardee, Co Louth (rte.ie)
- whenThe importation offences covered the period from 10 February 2023 to 19 July 2024. (rte.ie)
- whenGardaí raided a shed at Blackstick, Ardee, Co Louth, on 19 July 2024. (rte.ie)
- whenMcCourt and his co-accused were arrested on 19 July 2024. (irishtimes.com, dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whenThe firearms possession offences occurred on 19 July 2024. (irishtimes.com)
- causeThe prosecution said there was a criminal organisation under McCourt's control and direction. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- weaponA silencer was allegedly among the weaponry found at a shed on John Street, Blackstick, Ardee. (thejournal.ie)
- weaponMark McCourt is charged with possessing multiple parts for .223 calibre Remington AR-15 semi-automatic rifles. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- weaponIt is alleged that McCourt also possessed parts for pistols, including Lugers and Sig Sauers. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- weaponParts for six assault rifles and hundreds of rounds of ammunition were seized. (irishtimes.com, dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- weaponA firearms technician assembled 82 gun parts seized in a raid on a property in Co Louth into six assault rifles and 12 pistols. (irishtimes.com)
- weaponAbout 1,200 rounds of 9mm and nearly 400 rounds of .223 ammunition were seized from a shed in Ardee, Co Louth. (irishtimes.com)
- weaponSome 1,200 rounds in 9mm and nearly 400 in .223 were seized. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- weaponHe allegedly possessed two .233 Remington calibre barrels from AR-15 pattern semi-automatic rifles. (irishtimes.com)
- weaponHe allegedly possessed eight frames for Sig Sauer semi-automatic pistols. (irishtimes.com)
- weaponO'Brien had four .233 Remington calibre barrels from Anderson AM-15 pattern semi-automatic rifles in his possession. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- weaponMcCourt offered to supply ten pipe bombs as a free gift in a deal for guns and ammunition. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- investigationBoth men were arrested and charged at Drogheda Garda Station. (rte.ie)
- investigationDetective Garda Michael Ormond gave evidence of arrest, charge and caution. (rte.ie)
- investigationThe two men were arrested as part of an operation targeting organised crime. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- investigationPersonnel from the Garda National Drugs & Organised Crime Bureau, supported by the Garda Emergency Response Unit, carried out the search. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- investigationFollow-on searches were later carried out at several properties in the county. (dundalkdemocrat.ie, irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe search was carried out by the Garda National Drugs & Organised Crime Bureau supported by the Garda Emergency Response Unit (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationFollow-on searches were carried out at several properties in the county (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe seizure was part of an ongoing intelligence-led operation targeting organised crime. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationGardaí supported by the Garda Emergency Response Unit searched the property. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationTwo men were arrested on suspicion of participation in the activities of a criminal organisation to facilitate firearms trafficking. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationGardaí received confidential information about the importation of firearms shipped to Ireland to be sold to criminal groups. (irishmirror.ie, thejournal.ie)
- investigationThe property was rented by O'Brien and the defendants failed to let gardaí in, with an attempt to conceal two mobile phones. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationMcCourt's phone was seized when he was arrested for a separate offence in May 2024 (rte.ie)
- investigationGardaí found text messages, voice messages and videos related to importation of military grade guns and ammunition (rte.ie)
- investigationA smashed mobile phone was found in a blue plastic drum with a conversation about remotely wiping data from the cloud (rte.ie)
- investigationMcCourt was arrested and interviewed 14 times but nothing of evidential value came from the interviews (rte.ie)
- investigationMcCourt was interviewed 14 times, and nothing of evidential value came from the interviews. (rte.ie)
- investigationDetective Inspector Shane McCartan of the Garda Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau led the investigation. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationGardaí extracted data from McCourt's phone that shed light on the smuggling ring's activities. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- investigationGardaí found a suitcase of firearms and handguns at the Ardee premises in July 2024. (limerickleader.ie, dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- investigationBoth men were arrested and their phones were seized. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeMark McCourt made no reply to 23 charges. (rte.ie)
- chargeConor O'Brian made no reply to 23 charges. (rte.ie)
- chargeThe charges relate to components that make up six AR15 rifles and 12 semi-automatic rifles. (rte.ie)
- chargeThe two men have been charged. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeMark McCourt was charged with 23 separate charges of possession of firearm components including ammunition (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeConor O'Brien was charged with 23 charges and made no reply after caution (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeBoth men were charged at Drogheda Garda station. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeBoth men face the same 23 charges, possession of gun components and ammunition. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeMcCourt faces 24 counts under the Firearms Act. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeO'Brien is charged with 24 similar offences on the same date and at the same location. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeO'Brien faces a count of participating in activity that could facilitate a criminal organisation importing firearms and ammunition into the State between 10 February 2023 and 19 July 2024. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeO'Brien is charged under the Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Act over €7,450 and $20 Canadian. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeO'Brien faces a similar money laundering charge over €9,980 in alleged criminal proceeds at a Dublin 14 address. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeMcCourt pleaded guilty to six charges of facilitating a criminal organisation. (rte.ie)
- chargeMcCourt pleaded guilty in July to participation in a criminal organisation's efforts to import restricted weapons between February 2023 and July 2024, and to possession of firearms. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeMcCourt pleaded guilty to participation in a criminal organisation's efforts to import restricted weapons between February 2023 and July 2024. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeMcCourt also pleaded guilty to possession of firearms. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeHe was charged with participating in or contributing to a criminal organisation's activity to facilitate importing firearms, ammunition and explosives between February 2023 and July 2024. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeHe was further charged with five counts of possession or control of a firearm or ammunition in suspicious circumstances. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeO'Brien pleaded guilty to participating in or contributing to activity to facilitate a criminal organisation's serious offence of importing firearms, ammunition and explosives. (limerickleader.ie)
- chargeO'Brien pleaded guilty to five counts of possessing or controlling firearms or ammunition in suspicious circumstances. (limerickleader.ie)
- chargeO'Brien was arraigned on six charges. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeO'Brien pleaded guilty to taking part in activity that facilitated a criminal organisation's serious offences between February 10, 2023, and July 19, 2024. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeO'Brien also pleaded guilty to five counts of possessing or controlling firearms or ammunition in suspicious circumstances. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeHe pleaded guilty to facilitating a criminal organisation in the importation of firearms, ammunition and explosives between 10 February 2023 and 19 July 2024. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeHe pleaded guilty to five counts of possession of firearms in suspicious circumstances at John Street, Blackstick, Ardee, on 19 July 2024. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe two men were brought before a sitting of Dublin District Court by officers from the Garda Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau. (rte.ie)
- courtNeither accused applied for bail and both were remanded in custody. (rte.ie)
- courtThe accused are to appear by video link at Cloverhill District Court the following Wednesday. (rte.ie)
- courtThe two men are expected to appear before the Criminal Courts of Justice in Dublin, Court 2, on 24 July 2024. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- courtThe men appeared before Judge John Hughes at Dublin District Court on Wednesday evening (irishmirror.ie)
- courtMr McCourt gave no reply to all 23 charges after caution (irishmirror.ie)
- courtMr McCourt was remanded into custody with no application for bail (irishmirror.ie)
- courtMr O'Brien was also remanded into custody with no application for bail (irishmirror.ie)
- courtBoth men are due to appear before Cloverhill District Court the following week (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe men were brought before a sitting of Dublin District Court. (irishtimes.com)
- courtNeither man applied for bail and both were remanded in custody to appear by video-link at Cloverhill District Court on Wednesday. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe bail application was heard at the High Court in Cloverhill before Mr Justice Kerida Naidoo. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe men were remanded in custody following a District Court appearance on July 24. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe men were remanded in custody after a District Court appearance on 24 July. (thejournal.ie)
- courtMr O’Brien was granted €115,000 bail with a range of strict conditions. (thejournal.ie)
- courtGardaí objected to bail at the High Court. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe DPP applied for both men to be tried before the Special Criminal Court, and Ms Justice Karen O'Connor agreed. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- courtNeither man was present for the application, and both are required to appear at a sitting in June. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- courtMark McCourt pleaded guilty to six counts at the Special Criminal Court (rte.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned for mention on Thursday (rte.ie)
- courtThe judge said McCourt showed forensic awareness in an attempt to destroy phone evidence. (rte.ie)
- courtThe judge said McCourt had a leading role and offered a bonus of pipe bombs. (rte.ie)
- courtThe judge took into account McCourt's early guilty plea. (rte.ie)
- courtThe sentence was passed by Ms Justice Karen O'Connor, sitting with Judges Elma Sheahan and Marie Keane. (irishtimes.com)
- courtMcCourt was sentenced by the Special Criminal Court. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- courtConor O’Brien, of Kilpatrick, Ardee, Co Louth, was arraigned on six charges at the three-judge, non-jury court. (irishtimes.com)
- courtO’Brien pleaded guilty to all the offences and was remanded on continuing bail to appear before the court on 12 January. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court put the matter back to March 16 for sentence, with O'Brien remanded in custody until then. (limerickleader.ie)
- courtSentencing was put back to March 16 and O'Brien was remanded in custody until then. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- courtThe court ordered the forfeiture and destruction of the firearms and ammunition. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceBail was set at €40,000 in O'Brien's own bond with a €75,000 independent surety. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceConditions include a 9pm–9am curfew, daily sign-on at his local garda station, not associating with his co-accused, not leaving the state, and not applying to replace his travel documents. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceMr Justice Naidoo said bail could be granted with conditions despite the seriousness of the case. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceBail was set at a €40,000 bond with a €75,000 independent surety. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceMcCourt was sentenced to 12 years in prison. (rte.ie)
- sentenceMcCourt was jailed for 12 years for arms smuggling, based on a 15-year headline sentence with 20 per cent mitigation for his early guilty plea. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceHe was concurrently sentenced to 10 years on four firearms possession charges, reduced from 12½ years. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceMcCourt received 12 years for arms smuggling, based on a 15-year headline sentence with 20% mitigation for his early guilty plea. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- sentenceMcCourt was sentenced concurrently to 10 years on four firearms possession charges. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- sentenceMcCourt's jail term is backdated to his arrest on 19 July 2024. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- sentenceCo-accused Mark McCourt was previously jailed for 12 years by the Special Criminal Court. (limerickleader.ie, dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- sentenceO'Brien was jailed for 10 years effective. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceThe judge set a headline sentence of 15 years, the maximum penalty. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceThe sentence was reduced to 11 years with the final 12 months suspended for one year. (irishtimes.com)
- otherAssistant Commissioner Justin Kelly said the weapons would have been used to maim, kill and intimidate communities (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe weapons are described as the lifeblood of organised criminal groups who use violence in drug trafficking (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe Assistant Commissioner for Organised and Serious Crime described the seizure as particularly significant. (irishtimes.com)
- otherO'Brien was alleged to have had a central role in the case. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherO'Brien has dual Irish-US citizenship and had travelled to the UK, raising flight risk concerns. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherO'Brien lived in the United States until he was five and regularly visited America two or three times a year. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherO'Brien set up an LED lighting business after leaving a job with Intel. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherO'Brien had no prior criminal convictions. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherO'Brien's travel documents had been seized. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherA letter from the American embassy stated Irish authorities would be notified if O'Brien applied to travel to the US. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherIt was alleged the defendants failed to let gardaí in and tried to conceal two mobile phones. (thejournal.ie)
- otherGardaí alleged Mr O’Brien had a central role and that there were flight risk concerns. (thejournal.ie)
- otherMr O’Brien had no prior criminal convictions and his travel documents had been seized. (thejournal.ie)
- otherMr O’Brien must observe a 9pm to 9am curfew, sign on daily, not associate with his co-accused, not leave the state and not apply for new travel documents. (thejournal.ie)
- otherThe man with US citizenship has dual Irish and US citizenship (rte.ie)
- otherMark McCourt has 47 previous convictions including ramming the car of an off duty garda at her home for which he was sentenced to three years (rte.ie)
- otherMcCourt has 47 previous convictions. (rte.ie)
- otherMcCourt is 34 years old and has an address in Newry, Co Down. (rte.ie)
- otherMcCourt offered a prospective customer 10 pipe bombs as a free gift to seal a €75,000 cash deal to supply guns and ammunition smuggled by air from America. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe remaining 20 counts on the indictment were taken into account. (irishtimes.com)
- otherMcCourt offered to sell guns and ammunition smuggled by air from America for a €75,000 cash deal. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- otherO'Brien told gardaí he was pressured into going to America to get the guns. (limerickleader.ie)
- otherO'Brien had no previous convictions. (limerickleader.ie, dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- otherDefence counsel said O'Brien told gardaí he was pressured into going to America to get the guns. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- otherDefence counsel disputed the detective's opinion that there would be no criminal organisation without O'Brien. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- otherMoney laundering charges brought against O'Brien are no longer being pursued. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 16 Mar2026Man caught ‘red-handed’ with arsenal of firearms imported from US to sell to Irish gangs
Sentencing at the three-judge Special Criminal Court; headline sentence of 15 years reduced to 11 years with 12 months suspended; money laundering charges dropped; forfeiture of seized cash to be heard the following week.
convicted, 29, male, Irish, irishsuspect, Mark McCourt, named, irish (judged from name)Mark McCourt - 10 Feb2026Louth man smuggled military-grade weapons for sale to 'Ireland's top criminals', court hears
Reports O'Brien's guilty pleas and the adjournment of sentence to March 16, and adds co-accused Mark McCourt's previous 12-year sentence and the detective's evidence on the weapons.
convicted, Conor O'Brien, 29, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor O'Brienconvicted, Mark McCourt, 34, male, named, irish (judged from name)Mark McCourt - 9 Feb2026Military-grade weapons imported for sale to criminal gangs in Limerick and three other counties, court hears
Sentencing hearing in the Special Criminal Court. O'Brien pleaded guilty to six charges, with sentence adjourned to March 16. Co-accused Mark McCourt was previously jailed for 12 years.
convicted, Conor O'Brien, 29, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor O'Brienconvicted, Mark McCourt, 34, male, named, irish (judged from name)Mark McCourt - 17 Nov2025Gang imported US assault rifle components to reassemble in Ireland, court told
New case not in the existing list. Reports O'Brien's guilty plea to six charges at the Special Criminal Court, the charge period (February 2023 to July 2024) and the firearms parts found at John Street, Blackstick, Ardee, on 19 July 2024. Adds that the gang leader was jailed for 12 years two weeks earlier, and that co-accused Mark McCourt was previously jailed.
convicted, Conor O'Brien, 29, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor O'Brien - 6 Nov2025Boss of gun-running ring smuggling assault rifles into Ireland gets 12 years
Confirms the 12-year sentence at the Special Criminal Court, gives the age as 34 and the address as Edenreive, Newry, Co Down, and adds that the jail term is backdated to his arrest on 19 July 2024. Adds detail on the seized parts, rounds and phone evidence.
convicted, Mark McCourt, 34, male, named, irish (judged from name)Mark McCourt - 3 Nov2025Leader of crime group that smuggled assault rifles from US to Ireland jailed for 12 years
Reports the sentencing of McCourt; no existing case matches this prosecution.
convicted, Mark McCourt, 34, male, named, irish (judged from name)Mark McCourt - 3 Nov2025Man caught 'red handed' over weapon importation is jailed
Court report on McCourt's sentencing: 12-year sentence, guilty plea to six charges, and details of the seizure, phone evidence, and the judge's reasons. Gives McCourt's age as 34 and his address as Newry, Co Down. It concerns McCourt only and does not add details about Conor O'Brien.
convicted, Mark McCourt, 34, male, named, irish (judged from name)Mark McCourt - 28 Jul2025Court told man was leader of gang supplying weapons
Details of the Special Criminal Court plea hearing including phone evidence, text messages with 'The Keeler', 'Vladimir Putin' and 'Duff', the Nevada gun purchase, and the Ardee raid where 82 gun components and 800 rounds of ammunition were found.
convicted, Mark McCourt, 34, male, named, irish (judged from name)Mark McCourtsuspect, male - 27 May2025Two to go before Special Criminal court for Louth firearms offences
Reports the DPP application to have both men tried before the Special Criminal Court. Gives Conor O'Brien's age as 28, which differs from earlier reports. Adds money laundering charges over €7,450, $20 Canadian and €9,980 in alleged criminal proceeds, and states the McCourt and O'Brien charges in detail.
accused, Mark McCourt, 34, male, named, irish (judged from name)Mark McCourtaccused, Conor O'Brien, 28, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor O'Brien - 18 Sep2024Man charged after seizure of 18 semi-automatic gun parts granted bail with strict conditions
Reports the High Court bail decision for both men: €115,000 bail with conditions, the 23 charges they face, the alleged role of Mr O’Brien, and his bail terms. Adds the ages and home towns of both men and the flight risk arguments.
accused, Mark McCourt, 33, male, named, irish (judged from name)Mark McCourtaccused, Conor O'Brien, 27, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor O'Brien - 18 Sep2024Man charged after guns and ammo haul granted €115k bail with strict conditions
Bail application at the High Court in Cloverhill; O'Brien granted €115,000 bail with curfew, daily sign-on, and travel restrictions; McCourt has not sought bail.
accused, Conor O'Brien, 27, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor O'Brienaccused, Mark McCourt, 33, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Mark McCourt - 24 Jul2024Two men appear in court following seizure of 18 firearms and 900 rounds of ammunition
First report of the case: the two men were charged and appeared in court after the seizure of 18 firearms and about 900 rounds of ammunition at John Street, Blackstick, Ardee.
accused, Mark McCourt, 33, male, named, irish (judged from name)Mark McCourtaccused, Conor O'Brian, 27, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor O'Brian - 24 Jul2024Two appear in court charged with possession of components that make up 18 guns
Court appearance details: 23 charges each, no reply after caution, remanded in custody, next appearance at Cloverhill District Court. Seizure by GNDOCB and ERU as part of intelligence-led operation targeting organised crime.
accused, Mark McCourt, 32, male, named, irish (judged from name)Mark McCourtaccused, Conor O'Brien, 27, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor O'Brien - 24 Jul2024Two men to appear in court in connection with Louth firearms seizure
Reports that two men in their 30s were arrested in an organised crime operation, charged, and due in court in Dublin on 24 July 2024, and details the firearms and ammunition seized.
accused, 30s, maleaccused, 30s, male - 24 Jul2024Two men in court over seizure of firearms in Co Louth
Names the two accused (Mark McCourt, 33, and Conor O'Brian, 27), says they appeared in Dublin District Court, gives 23 charges each relating to firearm components, and says they were remanded in custody to appear by video link at Cloverhill District Court.
accused, Mark McCourt, 33, male, named, irish (judged from name)Mark McCourtaccused, Conor O'Brian, 27, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor O'Brian