Case No. 12694Giving false or misleading evidence in a personal injuries action · Co. Clare · 5 May 2023
Man charged with giving false evidence in personal injuries claim appears at Ennis District Court
Emilian Jaskowiak, 39, of Newmarket-on-Fergus, Co Clare, appeared at Ennis District Court charged with giving false or misleading evidence in a personal injuries action under Section 25 of the Civil Liability & Courts Act 2004. The case was adjourned to 8 October for the serving of a Book of Evidence and will proceed to the Circuit Court on a plea of not guilty.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court15 Sep
- Verdict
- Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet
Key facts
consolidated from all reports12 statements extracted from the articles
- whatA 39-year-old man was charged with giving false or misleading evidence in a personal injuries action. (clareecho.ie)
- whatThe accused is Emilian Jaskowiak of Carrowmeer, Newmarket-on-Fergus, Co Clare. (clareecho.ie)
- whatIt will be alleged that Mr Jaskowiak signed an affidavit as part of his personal injury claim. (clareecho.ie)
- investigationDetective Garda Colm Moriarty of Shannon Garda Station confirmed the complainant is an insurance company. (clareecho.ie)
- investigationGardaí carried out their own investigation into the alleged incident at the centre of the personal injury action. (clareecho.ie)
- chargeThe charge is dated 5 May 2023 at a location within the State, contrary to Section 25 of the Civil Liability & Courts Act 2004. (clareecho.ie)
- courtThe case was heard at Ennis District Court. (clareecho.ie)
- courtJudge Alec Gabbett said it must be the first prosecution of its kind in the District. (clareecho.ie)
- courtThe DPP directed the case be heard before the District Court on a plea of guilty only. (clareecho.ie)
- courtThe case will go forward to the Circuit Court as the defence is fully contesting the charge. (clareecho.ie)
- courtJudge Gabbett adjourned the case to 8 October for the serving of a Book of Evidence. (clareecho.ie)
- sentenceIn the District Court the maximum penalty is 12 months; in the Circuit Court it is up to 10 years. (clareecho.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 15 Sep2025Newmarket-on-Fergus resident charged with giving false & misleading evidence in personal injuries action - Clare Echo
First court appearance; charge to be fully contested; case transferred to Circuit Court where maximum penalty is 10 years' imprisonment.
accused, Emilian Jaskowiak, 39, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Emilian Jaskowiak