Man charged with gang and cocaine offences faces non-jury trial in Dublin
Brian Grendon, 48, of Clondalkin, Dublin, was arrested in January 2026 by the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau after returning to the country. He is charged with directing a criminal organisation in drug importation, distribution and money laundering between 1 August and 17 September 2024, along with five additional offences including unlawful importation of cocaine worth €13,000 or more via Rosslare Europort and two money laundering allegations. He was remanded in custody on 26 January 2026 and later withdrew a High Court bail application in February, after which he was ordered to pay prosecution costs. Fresh charges were brought at Dublin District Court on 31 March 2026, and the DPP directed the case to the non-jury Special Criminal Court. Grendon has yet to enter a plea and was remanded to appear at Cloverhill District Court on 7 April 2026.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Charged1 Mar
3 reports - In court11 Feb
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Grendon is charged with directing a criminal organisation in drug importation, distribution and money laundering between 1 August and 17 September 2024, contrary to Section 71A of the Criminal Justice Act 2006.
- Five additional offences relate to unlawful importation of cocaine worth €13,000 or more via Rosslare Europort, Co Wexford, and two money laundering allegations involving proceeds of €22,220 and €230,860 on 16 and 17 September 2024.
- Where
- Grendon lives at Greenfort Drive, Clondalkin, Dublin.
- When
- The cocaine importation offences allegedly occurred on 7 August, between 2 and 9 September, and between 10 August and 13 September 2024.
- Investigation
- Grendon was arrested in January 2026 by the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau after returning to the country.
- In court
- Grendon appeared before Judge Máire Conneely at Dublin District Court on 26 January 2026 and was remanded in custody.
- Grendon withdrew a High Court bail application in February 2026 and was ordered to pay prosecution costs.
- Fresh charges were brought at Dublin District Court on 31 March 2026 and the DPP directed the case to the non-jury Special Criminal Court.
- Grendon was remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court on 7 April 2026.
- Other details
- Grendon has yet to enter a plea.
49 statements extracted from the articles
- whatGrendon is 48 years old (irishtimes.com)
- whatA Dublin man has been charged with running a crime gang and cocaine smuggling and will face a non-jury Special Criminal Court trial. (thejournal.ie)
- whatThe additional offences relate to the unlawful importation of cocaine worth €13,000 or more into the State via Rosslare Europort, Co Wexford. (thejournal.ie)
- whatBrian Grendon is 48 years old (irishtimes.com)
- whereGrendon lives at Greenfort Drive, Clondalkin (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe charged period is between August 1 and September 17, 2024 (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe cocaine importation offences allegedly occurred over three time periods in 2024. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe cocaine importation offences allegedly occurred on 7 August, between 2 and 9 September, and between 10 August and 13 September 2024 (irishtimes.com)
- investigationGrendon was arrested by officers from the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau (irishtimes.com)
- investigationGrendon was arrested after an investigation by the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau following his return to the country. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationGrendon was arrested in January 2026 after an investigation by the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau. (rte.ie)
- investigationGrendon was arrested following an investigation by the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau after he returned to the country (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe primary charge alleges that between 1 August and 17 September 2024 he directed the activities of a criminal organisation in drug importation, distribution and money laundering, contrary to Section 71A of the Criminal Justice Act 2006. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeGrendon was charged with five additional connected offences. (thejournal.ie, rte.ie)
- chargeTwo money laundering allegations involve possession of proceeds of crime of €22,220 and €230,860 on 16 September 2024 and the following day. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeGrendon is charged with running a crime gang and cocaine smuggling. (rte.ie)
- chargeThe primary charge alleges he directed a criminal organisation in drug importation, distribution and money laundering between 1 August and 17 September 2024. (rte.ie)
- chargeOne charge alleges unlawful importation of cocaine worth €13,000 or more into the State via Rosslare Europort. (rte.ie)
- chargeTwo money laundering allegations involve proceeds of crime of €22,220 and €230,860 on 16 and 17 September 2024. (rte.ie)
- chargeFive additional offences relate to unlawful importation of cocaine worth €13,000 or more into the State via Rosslare Europort, Co Wexford (irishtimes.com)
- chargeTwo money-laundering charges involve possession of proceeds of crime of €22,220 and €230,860 on 16 and 17 September 2024 (irishtimes.com)
- courtGrendon appeared before Judge Máire Conneely at Dublin District Court on January 26 (irishtimes.com)
- courtGrendon could not apply for bail in the District Court because the charge requires a High Court decision (irishtimes.com)
- courtGrendon's bail application was heard before Justice David Keane at Cloverhill Court (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP objected to Grendon's bail application (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge imposed reporting restrictions under the Bail Act (irishtimes.com)
- courtDefence counsel Keith Spencer, instructed by solicitor Wayne Kenny, represented Grendon (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe defence withdrew Grendon's bail application (irishtimes.com)
- courtGrendon has yet to indicate a plea (irishtimes.com)
- courtFresh charges were brought against Grendon at Dublin District Court. (thejournal.ie, rte.ie)
- courtGrendon made no reply to each new charge when they were put to him. (thejournal.ie)
- courtJudge Treasa Kelly noted the DPP's decision that the case will eventually be transferred to the Special Criminal Court. (thejournal.ie)
- courtGrendon has yet to enter a plea and was remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court on 7 April. (thejournal.ie, rte.ie)
- courtThe case will be tried in the non-jury Special Criminal Court. (rte.ie)
- courtGrendon was remanded in custody on 26 January. (rte.ie)
- courtGrendon made no reply to each new charge. (rte.ie)
- courtThe District Court has no jurisdiction to consider bail in this case. (rte.ie)
- courtGrendon's solicitor said he would apply for High Court bail later in the month. (rte.ie)
- courtGrendon earlier withdrew a bail application made in February and was ordered to pay prosecution costs. (rte.ie)
- courtGrendon was remanded in custody on 26 January 2026 (irishtimes.com)
- courtGrendon was remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court on 7 April 2026 (irishtimes.com)
- courtGrendon previously lodged a High Court bail application in February, withdrew it at a late stage, and was ordered to pay prosecution costs (irishtimes.com)
- courtGrendon will apply for High Court bail later in March 2026 (irishtimes.com)
- otherGrendon was arrested after returning to the country (irishtimes.com)
- otherHe was previously remanded in custody on 26 January. (thejournal.ie)
- otherThe District Court does not have jurisdiction to consider bail in this case. (thejournal.ie, irishtimes.com)
- otherThe defence said Grendon would apply for High Court bail later this month. (thejournal.ie)
- otherThe defence expects the prosecution's book of evidence to be completed soon, as Grendon was questioned about the matter a year ago. (thejournal.ie)
- otherGrendon previously lodged a bail application in February, withdrew it at a late stage and was ordered to pay prosecution costs. (thejournal.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 31 Mar2026Man charged with running crime gang and cocaine smuggling to face Special Criminal Court trial
Fresh charges brought at Dublin District Court; DPP directed case to Special Criminal Court; remanded in custody to appear at Cloverhill District Court on 7 April 2026; High Court bail application expected later in March.
accused, Brian Grendon, 48, male, named, irish (judged from name)Brian Grendon - 31 Mar2026Man charged with running gang to face non-jury trial
Fresh charges were brought at Dublin District Court on 31 March 2026, adding five connected offences and two money laundering allegations. The DPP's decision that the case will be transferred to the Special Criminal Court was revealed. The defence said a High Court bail application would follow later in the month.
accused, Brian Grendon, 48, male, named, irish (judged from name)Brian Grendon - 1 Mar2026Dublin man charged with organised crime and cocaine smuggling to face Special Criminal Court trial
New article on fresh charges brought at Dublin District Court on 31 March 2026, the DPP's decision that the case will go to the Special Criminal Court, and the remand and bail position. No existing case in the list matches this individual.
accused, Brian Grendon, 48, male, named, irish (judged from name)Brian Grendon - 11 Feb2026Brian Grendon ordered to pay bill for bail effort in trial over alleged gang leadership
Reports the outcome of Grendon's bail hearing: the defence withdrew the application after the judge refused an adjournment, and the judge ordered him to pay the prosecution's costs.
accused, Brian Grendon, 48, male, named, irish (judged from name)Brian Grendon