Man charged following extradition from Romania in Operation OMENA
A man in his 40s was extradited from Romania to Ireland on 6 February 2025 and charged as part of Operation OMENA by the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau. He was initially arrested in Romania in 2022 on an extradition warrant and is expected to appear before the District Court at the Criminal Courts of Justice on 7 February 2025.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Charged4 Feb
2 reports - In court4 Feb
2 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports54 statements extracted from the articles
- whatCatriona Carey is a former Ireland hockey international (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- whatShe met gardaí by arrangement in Dublin on Tuesday morning to be charged (irishtimes.com)
- whatHe allegedly induced 21 people to pay a deposit (irishtimes.com)
- whatHe falsely represented that Careysfort Asset Estates was in a position to secure finance for distressed mortgage holders (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe deposit paid was allegedly refundable (irishtimes.com)
- whatCatriona Carey is a financial adviser and former hockey international. (irishtimes.com)
- whatIt is alleged Carey engaged in converting, transferring, handling, acquiring, possessing and using property that was the proceeds of criminal conduct over each 12-month period. (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe sums allegedly involved have not been stated in court documents or oral evidence. (irishtimes.com)
- whatIt is claimed Steadmond induced 21 people to pay a deposit. (irishtimes.com)
- whatHe falsely represented that the deposit paid was refundable. (irishtimes.com)
- whereShe is from Kilkenny but has an address at Rochford Manor, Graigecullen, Co Carlow (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- wherePaddy Maher is of Glenmalure Gun Club, Co Wicklow (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- whereJohn Steadmond has an address at Rossminogue, Craanford, Gorey, Co Wexford (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- whereJohn Steadmond is of Rossminogue, Craanford, Co Wexford. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe offences allegedly occurred from 2019 to 2022 (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- whenShe met gardai by arrangement in Dublin on Tuesday morning to be charged (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe man was extradited to Ireland on the evening of 6 February 2025 (garda.ie)
- whenThe money laundering offences are alleged to have been committed from 2019 to 2021. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe case followed a Garda-Corporate Enforcement Authority investigation (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe investigation is being conducted by the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau as part of Operation OMENA (garda.ie)
- investigationThe man was arrested in Romania on an extradition warrant (garda.ie)
- investigationInvestigations are ongoing (garda.ie)
- investigationThe case follows an inquiry by the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe GNECB received authorisation in December to charge the trio with multiple offences. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeShe faced 46 fresh charges under the Companies Act (irishtimes.com)
- chargeShe is accused of failing to provide information to the CRO and to file financial returns (irishtimes.com)
- chargeShe faces three counts of money laundering (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- chargeMaher and Steadmond are accused of acting unlawfully as a solicitor while not qualified from July 2019 to February 2022 (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- chargeSteadmond faces 17 other charges for deception (irishtimes.com)
- chargeShe faced 46 charges under the Companies Act (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeShe is accused of failing to provide information to the CRO, keep records, notify of a change of address, or file financial returns (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeSteadmond faces 17 other charges for deception where he allegedly induced 21 people to pay a deposit (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeThe man has been charged (garda.ie)
- chargeCarey faces three counts under section seven of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeMaher and Steadmond are accused of acting unlawfully as solicitors while not being qualified from July 2019 to February 2022. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeSteadmond faces 17 other charges of deception. (irishtimes.com)
- courtShe appeared before Judge Treasa Kelly at Dublin District Court on Tuesday (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP decided she is to face trial on indictment (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned until 14 February for mention (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- courtBail was set at €500, not to be lodged (irishtimes.com, irishmirror.ie)
- courtBail conditions include residing at current address, notifying changes, supplying mobile number, remaining contactable, keeping phone charged, and 21 days' notice to leave the jurisdiction (irishtimes.com)
- courtLegal aid was granted (irishtimes.com)
- courtShe appeared before Judge Treasa Kelly at Dublin District Court (irishmirror.ie)
- courtBail conditions include residing at her current address, supplying her mobile number, remaining contactable, keeping her phone charged, and giving 21 days' notice to leave the jurisdiction (irishmirror.ie)
- courtLegal aid was granted after the defence solicitor presented a statement of means (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe man is expected to appear before the District Court at CCJ No. 1 on 7 February 2025 at approximately 10.30am (garda.ie)
- courtShe appeared before Judge Treasa Kelly at Dublin District Court on Friday. (irishtimes.com)
- courtCo-defendants Paddy Maher, 57, and John Steadmond, 47, also appeared. (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Kelly granted return-for-trial orders after noting books of evidence had been served. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe three accused were sent forward to Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
- courtTheir case will be listed for mention on 20 March. (irishtimes.com)
- courtNone of the three accused have yet to enter pleas. (irishtimes.com)
- otherDetective Garda Robert Collins, seconded to the CEA, told the judge she made no reply when charged (irishmirror.ie)
- otherShe has yet to indicate a plea (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 7 Feb2025Catriona Carey sent forward for trial on money laundering charges
First court appearance where the trio was sent forward for trial; Carey faces three money laundering counts, Maher and Steadmond face unqualified solicitor charges, and Steadmond and Maher face 17 and 23 fraud charges respectively relating to Careysfort Asset Estates.
accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maheraccused, John Steadmond, 47, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Steadmond - 6 Feb2025Operation OMENA - Man Arrested and Charged Following Extradition from Romania, Thursday 6th February 2025
GNECB press release confirming the extradition and charging of a man in his 40s as part of Operation OMENA; no specific offence, name or location of the underlying crime is disclosed.
suspect, 40s, male - 4 Feb2025Catriona Carey appears in court facing 46 new charges
Details the 46 new Companies Act charges, three money laundering counts, bail conditions set at €500, and the specific charges against co-defendants Paddy Maher and John Steadmond including 17 deception counts relating to Careysfort Asset Estates.
accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maheraccused, John Steadmond, 47, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Steadmond - 4 Feb2025Catriona Carey appears in court facing 46 fresh charges
Details the 46 fresh Companies Act charges, three money laundering counts, bail conditions set at €500, co-defendants' specific charges (acting as unqualified solicitor, 17 deception counts by Steadmond involving 21 people and Careysfort Asset Estates), and adjournment to 14 February 2025 for mention.
accused, Catriona Carey, 46, female, named, irish (judged from name)Catriona Careyaccused, Paddy Maher, 57, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paddy Maheraccused, John Steadmond, 47, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Steadmond