Man bailed over pharmacy robbery with syringe threat in Dublin 8
John Paul Ward, 36, of Tuam, Co Galway, was released on €350 bail at Dublin District Court after being charged with robbing Morgan's pharmacy on Thomas Street, Dublin 8, on 13 December 2024, allegedly threatening staff with a syringe and claiming to have AIDS while demanding Valium tablets.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrested13 Dec
- Chargednot reported
- In court14 Dec
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports18 statements extracted from the articles
- whatA man was arrested following a robbery at a premises on Thomas Street in Dublin. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatJohn Paul Ward, 36, of Parkmore estate, Tuam, Galway, was released on bail on Saturday. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe accused entered the pharmacy with his hand in his pocket and told staff he had a syringe and had AIDS. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe staff handed over D5 (diazepam) tablets and the raider fled. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe robbery took place at Morgan's pharmacy on Thomas Street, Dublin 8. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe incident occurred at approximately 4pm on Friday, 13 December 2024. (dublinlive.ie)
- investigationThe man was detained at a Dublin Garda Station under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act 1984. (dublinlive.ie)
- investigationGardaí arrested him, took his clothing as evidence, and gathered CCTV. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeWard was also charged with possessing a stolen bicycle earlier that day. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtWard appeared before Judge William Aylmer at Dublin District Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtA recommendation to the DPP was that the case be dealt with on indictment in the Circuit Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge Aylmer remanded Ward on €350 bail to appear again on 25 January. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtBail conditions include residing at his Tuam address, signing on three days a week at the local Garda station, being contactable on a mobile phone, not contacting witnesses, and staying out of Dublin apart from court appearances. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherNo injuries were reported in connection with the robbery. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherWard had been of no fixed abode lately. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherGarda Mylod said there could be further charges due to the alleged threat. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherWard has yet to indicate a plea. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherWard claimed he could not get home for about 11 days after losing his train ticket and had no money. (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 14 Dec2024Man who allegedly threatened 'shocked' workers with AIDS syringe bailed
Bail hearing at Dublin District Court: Ward released on €350 bail with conditions including residing in Tuam, signing on three days a week, and staying out of Dublin apart from court appearances. To reappear 25 January. DPP recommendation for trial on indictment in Circuit Court.
suspect, John Paul Ward, 36, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Paul Wardvictim, malevictim, femalevictim, female - 13 Dec2024Man arrested after robbery at Dublin city pharmacy
Reports the initial arrest of the man following the robbery; he was detained under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Act 1984 at a Dublin Garda Station. No injuries were reported.
suspect, male