Man accused of robbing Tullamore pharmacy to be sent to Circuit Court
Philip Maguire, a 37-year-old man with an address in Tullamore, is accused of robbing McCormack Pharmacy on Arden Road, Tullamore, County Offaly, on 22 October 2025, allegedly taking €530 in cash and medication worth €192. Gardaí apprehended him after the alleged robbery, and he was later refused bail and held in custody. At Tullamore District Court on 7 January 2026 the book of evidence was not yet ready and the case was adjourned to 21 January. On 21 January, Judge Andrew Cody said Maguire would be sent to the Circuit Court on 4 February, when the book of evidence is expected to be ready.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court7 Jan
3 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Philip Maguire, a 37-year-old man, is accused of robbing a pharmacy in Tullamore.
- He is alleged to have taken €530 in cash and medication worth €192.
- Where
- The robbery is alleged to have taken place at McCormack Pharmacy, Kilbeggan Bridge, Arden Road, Tullamore, County Offaly.
- When
- The robbery is alleged to have happened on 22 October 2025.
- Weapon
- CCTV footage reportedly showed a man holding a gun in the pharmacy, which a garda said was Maguire.
- Investigation
- Gardaí apprehended Maguire after the alleged robbery.
- Judge Andrew Cody viewed the CCTV footage during a bail application.
- Charges
- Maguire is accused of robbing the pharmacy and is to be sent forward to the Circuit Court.
- In court
- Maguire was refused bail, remanded in custody, and appeared by video link from prison.
- On 7 January 2026 the book of evidence was not yet ready and the case was adjourned to 21 January.
- On 21 January the book of evidence was still not ready and Maguire was remanded to 4 February.
- Judge Cody said Maguire will be sent to the Circuit Court on 4 February, with the book of evidence expected within two weeks.
- Sentence
- No sentence has been reported, as the case is still at the pre-trial stage.
- Other details
- Maguire has an address at St Columba's Place, Tullamore.
26 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe accused is alleged to have robbed €530 cash and medication worth €192. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whatMaguire is alleged to have robbed €530 cash and medication worth €192. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whatA man is accused of robbing a pharmacy in Tullamore. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whatCash and medication worth €192 were allegedly taken. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whereThe robbery took place at McCormack Pharmacy on Arden Road, Tullamore. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whereThe robbery allegedly took place at McCormack Pharmacy on Arden Road, Tullamore. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whenThe robbery happened on 22 October 2025. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whenThe robbery is alleged to have happened on October 22, 2025. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whenThe robbery allegedly took place on October 22, 2025. (offalyexpress.ie)
- weaponThe CCTV footage showed a man holding a gun in the pharmacy. (offalyexpress.ie)
- investigationGardaí apprehended the accused after the alleged robbery. (offalyexpress.ie)
- investigationCCTV footage was viewed by the judge in a bail application. (offalyexpress.ie)
- investigationThe book of evidence was not yet ready and Maguire was remanded to February 4. (offalyexpress.ie)
- investigationThe book of evidence is expected to be ready in two weeks. (offalyexpress.ie)
- investigationThe book of evidence was not yet ready, and the accused was remanded to February 4. (offalyexpress.ie)
- chargeMaguire is accused of robbing a pharmacy in Tullamore. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe accused was refused bail and remanded in custody. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtDefence counsel said the matter could be adjourned for a book of evidence. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtA book of evidence is being prepared for the prosecution. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe accused appeared before the judge on Wednesday, 7 January. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned to 21 January and the accused was remanded to appear on that date. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtMaguire had previously been refused bail and appeared at Tullamore District Court by video link from prison. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtJudge Cody said Maguire will be sent to the Circuit Court on February 4. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe accused had previously been refused bail and appeared by video link from prison. (offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe judge said the accused would be sent to the Circuit Court on February 4. (offalyexpress.ie)
- otherThe accused is 37 years old and has an address at St Columba's Place, Tullamore. (offalyexpress.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 26 Jan2026Man accused of robbing pharmacy in Tullamore will be sent to Circuit Court
First report of the case. Adds the court appearance on Wednesday 21 January 2026 by video link from prison, the bail refusal, the adjournment for the book of evidence, and the plan to send the accused to the Circuit Court on February 4.
accused, Philip Maguire, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Philip Maguire - 22 Jan2026Man accused of Offaly robbery will be sent to Circuit Court
Reports the Wednesday 21 January 2026 District Court appearance: the book of evidence was not yet ready, Maguire was previously refused bail, and Judge Cody said he will be sent to the Circuit Court on 4 February.
accused, Philip Maguire, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Philip Maguire - 7 Jan2026Book of evidence being prepared after Offaly robbery
Court report on the 7 January 2026 District Court hearing. Adds that a book of evidence is being prepared, that CCTV shows a man holding a gun, the amount and medication allegedly taken, and the adjournment to 21 January.
accused, Philip Maguire, 37, male, named, irish (judged from name)Philip Maguire