Man accused of heroin and cocaine supply in Portarlington
John Egan, 43, of Bog Road, Portarlington, is accused of having cocaine and heroin for sale or supply at Bog Road on April 26, 2024, and of possessing cannabis and assaulting two men there on the same date. He first appeared at Portlaoise District Court, as reported on March 16, 2025, when gardaí requested four to five weeks to prepare a book of evidence. The defence had no objection, and the judge granted legal aid. The matter was adjourned to Portlaoise District Court on April 28.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court13 Mar
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- John Egan, 43, of Bog Road, Portarlington, is accused of having cocaine and heroin for sale or supply.
- Where
- The alleged offences took place at Bog Road, Portarlington; the article gives the address as Portarlington, Offaly, while Portarlington is in County Laois.
- When
- The alleged offences are dated April 26, 2024.
- Charges
- He is also accused of possessing cannabis and of assaulting two men at Bog Road on the same date.
- The drug matters are on indictment and will be dealt with in the circuit court, while the assault offences are summary and can be dealt with in the district court.
- Investigation
- Garda Sergeant JJ Kirby requested four to five weeks to prepare a book of evidence.
- In court
- The accused appeared at Portlaoise District Court, with the first appearance reported on March 16, 2025.
- The defence solicitor had no objection to the request for time.
- The judge granted legal aid and adjourned the matter to Portlaoise District Court on April 28.
10 statements extracted from the articles
- whereThe alleged drug supply offence took place at Bog Road. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- whenThe alleged offences are dated April 26, 2024. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- chargeJohn Egan is accused of having cocaine and heroin for sale or supply at Bog Road on April 26, 2024. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- chargeHe is further accused of possessing cannabis and assaulting two men at Bog Road on the same date. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- courtThe accused appeared in court at Portlaoise District Court. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- courtThe assault offences are summary and can be dealt with in the district court. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- courtThe drug matters are on indictment and will be dealt with in the circuit court. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- courtGardaí requested four to five weeks to prepare a book of evidence. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- courtThe defence solicitor had no objection to the request. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- courtThe judge granted legal aid and adjourned the matter to Portlaoise District Court on April 28. (leinsterexpress.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 13 Mar2025Man allegedly had heroin and cocaine for sale or supply in Portlarlington
Court report on the first appearance. The article gives the address as Portarlington, Offaly, but Portarlington is in County Laois, so county is recorded as Laois. The existing case 9128 concerns a different John Egan (45, Lyster Square, Portlaoise) and a May 2026 A&E incident, so it is not the same case.