Louth man jailed over selling US-bought firearms to Irish criminal gangs
Conor O'Brien, a 29-year-old man of Kilpatrick, Ardee, Co Louth, who holds US citizenship, was part of a criminal organisation that bought military-grade firearms in Nevada, smuggled them into Ireland in component parts and sold them to criminal gangs between 10 February 2023 and 19 July 2024. Gardaí raided a shed in Blackstick, Ardee, on 19 July 2024, found the weapons and arrested O'Brien and a co-accused. O'Brien was arraigned in November 2025 and pleaded guilty to six charges. On Monday 16 March 2026 the Special Criminal Court sentenced him to 11 years with the final 12 months suspended, though some reports say ten years, and further submissions on seized cash were due the following week.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced16 Mar
3 reports
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Conor O'Brien was part of a criminal organisation that imported military-grade firearms from the US and sold them to Irish criminal gangs.
- O'Brien used his US citizenship to buy military-grade firearms and ammunition legally in America before selling them on.
- Where
- O'Brien bought the guns in Nevada and smuggled them into Ireland in component parts.
- The weapons were stored in a rented shed at John Street, Blackstick, Ardee, Co Louth, and were distributed to gangs in Derry, Armagh, Dublin and Limerick.
- When
- The offending took place between 10 February 2023 and 19 July 2024.
- Weapon
- The seized firearms included semi-automatic pistols and military-grade rifles, all in working order, and communications showed O'Brien had military-grade rifles and Glock handguns.
- Investigation
- Gardaí raided the shed on 19 July 2024, found the cache of weapons and ammunition, and arrested both men.
- Text messages were recovered from two phones belonging to O'Brien, and both men's phones were seized.
- Charges
- O'Brien pleaded guilty to six charges, including participating in activity facilitating a criminal organisation's importation of firearms and ammunition, and five counts of possessing or controlling firearms or ammunition in suspicious circumstances.
- In court
- The judge, Ms Justice Karen O'Connor, said the offences were extremely serious and cited extensive planning and organisation as an aggravating factor, with O'Brien's guilty plea and lack of previous convictions taken into account.
- The court ordered the forfeiture and destruction of the firearms and ammunition.
- Sentence
- Sentence was passed at the Special Criminal Court on Monday 16 March 2026: the headline sentence was 15 years, reduced to 11 years with the final 12 months suspended for one year.
- One report says O'Brien was jailed for ten years, while other reports say 11 years with the final year suspended.
- Other details
- O'Brien had rented the lock-up on the basis that it was for an LED business, and his co-accused Mark McCourt was jailed earlier for 12 years.
42 statements extracted from the articles
- whatConor O'Brien was part of a criminal organisation that imported military-grade firearms from the US. (rte.ie)
- whatO'Brien used his US citizenship to buy military-grade firearms and ammunition legally in America before selling them to Irish criminal gangs. (limerickleader.ie)
- whatConor O'Brien used his US citizenship to buy military-grade firearms and ammunition legally in America and sold them to Irish criminal gangs. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whereO'Brien bought guns in Nevada and smuggled them into Ireland in component parts. (rte.ie)
- whereThe weapons were stored in a shed in Blackstick, Ardee, Co Louth, which O'Brien rented. (rte.ie)
- whereThe guns were distributed to criminal gangs in Derry, Armagh, Dublin and Limerick. (limerickleader.ie)
- whereThe firearms offences related to John Street, Blackstick, Ardee, Co Louth. (limerickleader.ie)
- whereThe firearms possession offences related to John Street, Blackstick, Ardee, Co Louth, on July 19, 2024. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- whenThe offending took place between 10 February 2023 and 19 July 2024. (rte.ie)
- whenThe firearms offences related to July 19, 2024. (limerickleader.ie)
- weaponCommunications showed O'Brien had military grade rifles and Glock handguns. (rte.ie)
- weaponThe seized firearms included semi-automatic pistols and military grade rifles. (limerickleader.ie)
- weaponThe firearms found were semi-automatic pistols and military-grade rifles, all in working order. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- investigationGardaí found the cache of weapons and ammunition when they raided the shed on 19 July 2024 and arrested both men. (rte.ie)
- investigationText messages were recovered from two phones belonging to O'Brien. (rte.ie)
- investigationGardaí raided a shed in Ardee in July 2024 and found firearms and handguns. (limerickleader.ie)
- investigationBoth men were arrested and their phones were seized. (limerickleader.ie)
- investigationGardaí raided a shed in Ardee in July 2024 and found a suitcase of firearms and handguns. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeO'Brien pleaded guilty to six charges, including possession of the firearms and helping the criminal gang. (rte.ie)
- chargeO'Brien pleaded guilty to participating in activity facilitating a criminal organisation's importation of firearms and ammunition between February 2023 and July 2024. (limerickleader.ie)
- chargeO'Brien also pleaded guilty to five counts of possession or control of a firearm or ammunition in suspicious circumstances. (limerickleader.ie)
- chargeO'Brien pleaded guilty to participating in activity facilitating a criminal organisation's importation of firearms and ammunition. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- chargeO'Brien pleaded guilty to five counts of possessing or controlling firearms or ammunition in suspicious circumstances. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- courtThe judge said O'Brien had committed extremely serious offences. (rte.ie)
- courtThe judge cited the extensive planning and organisation involved in the importation and sale of guns as an aggravating factor. (limerickleader.ie)
- courtSentence was passed at the Special Criminal Court on a Monday. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- courtThe judge cited extensive planning and organisation as an aggravating factor. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- courtO'Brien's guilty plea was taken into account as a mitigating factor. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- courtFurther submissions on cash seized by gardaí were to be heard the following week. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- sentenceThe article's lead says O'Brien was jailed for ten years. (rte.ie)
- sentenceThe judge sentenced O'Brien to 11 years in prison, with the final year suspended. (rte.ie)
- sentenceO'Brien was jailed for ten years at the Special Criminal Court. (limerickleader.ie)
- sentenceThe judge set a headline sentence of 15 years and reduced it to 11 years, with the final 12 months suspended for one year. (limerickleader.ie)
- sentenceO'Brien was jailed for ten years. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- sentenceThe judge set a headline sentence of 15 years, the maximum penalty available. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- sentenceThe sentence was reduced to 11 years, with the final 12 months suspended for one year. (dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- otherO'Brien had rented the lock-up on the basis that it was for an LED business. (rte.ie)
- otherO'Brien has no previous convictions. (rte.ie)
- otherThe court ordered the forfeiture and destruction of the firearms and ammunition. (limerickleader.ie, dundalkdemocrat.ie)
- otherFurther submissions on seized cash were to be heard the following week. (limerickleader.ie)
- otherO'Brien was aged 29 and of Kilpatrick, Ardee, Co Louth, when he was arraigned last November on six charges. (limerickleader.ie)
- otherO'Brien had no previous convictions. (limerickleader.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 17 Mar2026Dual citizen from Louth who bought guns legally in US and sold them to Irish crime gangs is jailed
Reports the sentencing of Conor O'Brien at the Special Criminal Court, with the sentence, court orders, pleas and the July 2024 Ardee raid.
convicted, Conor O'Brien, 29, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor O'Brien - 16 Mar2026'Ireland's top criminals, LOL': Man who sold guns to Limerick gangs jailed for 10 years
Sentencing report. The headline and opening say ten years, but the body says the sentence was reduced from a 15-year headline to 11 years with the final 12 months suspended. O'Brien pleaded guilty and had no previous convictions. Co-accused Mark McCourt was jailed earlier for 12 years. Submissions on forfeiture of seized cash were due the following week.
convicted, Conor O'Brien, 29, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor O'Brien - 16 Mar2026Man jailed for selling imported weapons to crime gang
Sentencing report. Adds the sentence, the charges pleaded to, the offending period, the Blackstick shed raid and the judge's remarks. The article's lead says ten years, but its later paragraph says 11 years with the final year suspended.
convicted, Conor O'Brien, 29, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor O'Brien