Limerick mart worker not guilty of baton assault on farmer after appeal
On June 17, 2019, at the Golden Vale Mart Yard in Kilmallock, County Limerick, Pat Ryan (66), a mart worker, was alleged to have struck farmer John O'Brien across the face with a baton, causing him harm. Mr O'Brien complained to gardaí seven days later. On April 23, 2021, Limerick District Court found the alleged facts proven, applied the Probation Act and recorded no conviction, and Mr Ryan appealed to Limerick Circuit Court, where Judge Tom O'Donnell allowed the appeal and struck out the District Court order because the allegation had not been proved beyond reasonable doubt. The latest reported development, from May 24, 2023, is that the appeal was allowed, while Mr O'Brien is pursuing a civil claim for damages against Mr Ryan.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Acquitted24 May
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Pat Ryan (66) was charged with assaulting John O'Brien, causing him harm.
- Where
- The alleged assault happened at the Golden Vale Mart Yard in Kilmallock, County Limerick.
- When
- The alleged assault happened on June 17, 2019.
- Cause
- Mr Ryan was one of several mart workers authorised to use a baton to direct livestock into a sale ring.
- Weapon
- The alleged weapon was a baton, which the alleged victim said was used to strike him across the face.
- Investigation
- Mr O'Brien made a complaint to gardaí seven days after the alleged assault.
- Charges
- Mr Ryan denied assaulting Mr O'Brien and causing him harm.
- In court
- On April 23, 2021, Limerick District Court found the alleged facts proven; one source says it found he assaulted Mr O'Brien.
- Mr Ryan appealed the District Court ruling at Limerick Circuit Court, which heard the appeal on May 23, 2023.
- Judge Tom O'Donnell said the prosecution had not proved the allegation beyond reasonable doubt, allowed the appeal and struck out the District Court order.
- Sentence
- The District Court applied the Probation Act and recorded no conviction against Mr Ryan.
- Other details
- The defence said there were no witnesses and no evidence of injury; Mr O'Brien is pursuing a civil claim for damages against Mr Ryan.
13 statements extracted from the articles
- whatPat Ryan was found by Limerick District Court to have assaulted a farmer with a baton but no conviction was recorded. (limerickpost.ie)
- whereThe alleged assault happened at the mart. (limerickpost.ie)
- whenThe alleged assault happened on June 17, 2019. (limerickpost.ie)
- causeMr Ryan was one of several mart workers authorised to use a baton to direct livestock. (limerickpost.ie)
- weaponThe alleged weapon was a baton. (limerickpost.ie)
- investigationMr O’Brien made a complaint to gardaí seven days after the alleged assault. (limerickpost.ie)
- chargeMr Ryan was accused of assaulting John O’Brien, causing him harm. (limerickpost.ie)
- courtMr Ryan appealed the ruling at Limerick Circuit Court. (limerickpost.ie)
- courtThe Circuit Court judge said the prosecution had not proved the allegation beyond reasonable doubt and allowed the appeal. (limerickpost.ie)
- courtThe appeal was allowed and the District Court order was struck out. (limerickpost.ie)
- sentenceThe District Court applied the Probation Act and recorded no conviction against Mr Ryan. (limerickpost.ie)
- otherMr O’Brien was pursuing a civil claim for damages against Mr Ryan. (limerickpost.ie)
- otherThe defence said there were no witnesses and no evidence of injury. (limerickpost.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 24 May2023Limerick mart worker not guilty of baton assault on farmer
Reports the Circuit Court appeal outcome: the District Court order finding the assault proven was struck out, and the judge gave Mr Ryan the benefit of the doubt. Adds the 2021 District Court finding, the Probation Act disposal, and the defence case at appeal.
accused, Pat Ryan, 66, male, named, irish (judged from name)Pat Ryanvictim, John O'Brien, male, irish (judged from name)John O'Brien