Laois man accused of cannabis possession case adjourned after drug analysis delay
Darlington Ovenserh, a 30-year-old man, is accused of possessing cannabis valued at €10 at Tower Hill, Portlaoise, on March 17, 2024. At a hearing in Portlaoise District Court, reported in September 2024, his solicitor, Michael Byrne, said he was pleading not guilty and would need a certificate of analysis, as there is a ten month waiting list for these. Legal aid was granted, and the case was adjourned to July 8, 2025, with no verdict or sentence reported.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court4 Sep
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Darlington Ovenserh, a 30-year-old man of Jessop Street, Portlaoise, is accused of having cannabis valued at €10.
- Where
- The cannabis was allegedly found at Tower Hill, Portlaoise, Co. Laois.
- When
- The alleged offence took place on March 17, 2024.
- Charges
- The accused is accused of possession of cannabis valued at €10.
- In court
- Portlaoise District Court was told there is a ten month waiting list for drug analysis.
- The solicitor, Michael Byrne, said the accused was pleading not guilty and would require a certificate of analysis.
- The solicitor requested legal aid, saying the accused was not working, and the judge consented.
- The solicitor told the judge the case would take about ten minutes to hear.
- The case was adjourned to July 8, 2025.
- Investigation
- Garda Sergeant JJ Kirby said there is a ten month waiting list for certificates of analysis.
- Sentence
- No verdict or sentence has been reported.
- Other details
- The article gives the court report's publication date as September 7, 2024, while the tracker dates it September 4, 2024.
7 statements extracted from the articles
- whereThe cannabis was allegedly found at Tower Hill, Portlaoise. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- whenThe alleged offence took place on March 17, 2024. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- chargeThe accused is accused of having cannabis valued at €10. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- courtPortlaoise District Court was told there is a ten month waiting list for drug analysis. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- courtThe solicitor said the accused was pleading not guilty and would require a certificate of analysis. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- courtThe judge consented to legal aid and adjourned the case to July 8, 2025. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- otherGardaí said there is a ten month waiting list for certificates of analysis. (leinsterexpress.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 4 Sep2024Laois court told of ten month delay for drug analysis
Court report of the first hearing: the accused's plea of not guilty, the legal aid grant, the ten-month waiting list for certificates of analysis, and the adjournment to Portlaoise District Court on July 8, 2025.
accused, Darlington Ovenserh, 30, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Darlington Ovenserh