Kilkenny man guilty of manslaughter of brother-in-law awaits sentence
On May 3, 2022, John 'Johnny' Cash was fatally stabbed in the chest at Hebron Road, Kilkenny City. His brother-in-law, Andrew 'Andy' Cash, a father-of-three, was charged with his murder. A jury at the Central Criminal Court returned a 10-2 majority verdict finding him not guilty of murder but guilty of manslaughter, and not guilty of producing a knife during a dispute and of assault causing harm. At a sentencing hearing on December 1, 2023, the DPP suggested a headline sentence of between ten and 15 years, and sentence is due to be passed on February 19.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Convicted1 Dec
2 reports - Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- John Cash suffered two stab wounds, and the fatal wound was to the chest and penetrated the heart.
- Andrew Cash was charged with the murder of John Cash.
- Where
- The killing took place at Hebron Road, Kilkenny City.
- When
- The killing took place on May 3, 2022.
- Cause
- Andrew Cash had an argument with his wife on the day about what he believed had happened years earlier.
- Andrew Cash believed his wife had been intimate with John Cash in the past.
- Other details
- Andrew Cash had been drinking and taking tablets before the attack and was described in court as having snapped during a row.
- Elizabeth Cash, John Cash's wife and Andrew Cash's sister, witnessed the fatal assault and said she no longer feels safe.
- Weapon
- Andrew Cash had a knife in his car and took it with him; the defence said he spontaneously armed himself with it.
- Investigation
- Andrew Cash told gardaí that John Cash 'had it coming for 12 years'.
- Charges
- Andrew Cash was found not guilty of murder but guilty of the manslaughter of John Cash.
- Andrew Cash was found not guilty of producing a knife during a dispute and of assault causing harm.
- In court
- A jury at the Central Criminal Court returned a 10-2 majority verdict on all charges.
- Sentence
- The DPP suggested a headline sentence of between ten and 15 years at a sentencing hearing on December 1, 2023.
- Sentence will be passed on February 19.
27 statements extracted from the articles
- whatJohn Cash suffered two stab wounds. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe fatal wound was to the chest and penetrated the heart. (irishmirror.ie, irishtimes.com)
- whatAndrew Cash was charged with the murder of John Cash. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe killing happened at Hebron Road, Kilkenny City. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe killing took place at Hebron Road, Kilkenny City. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe killing happened on May 3, 2022. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe killing took place on May 3rd 2022. (irishtimes.com)
- causeAndrew Cash had an argument with his wife on the day about what he believed had happened years earlier. (irishmirror.ie)
- causeCash believed his wife had been intimate with John Cash in the past. (irishtimes.com)
- causeCash had been drinking and taking tablets before the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- weaponAndrew Cash had a knife in his car and took it with him. (irishmirror.ie)
- weaponCash stabbed John Cash. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeAndrew Cash was found not guilty of murder but guilty of the manslaughter of John Cash. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeAndrew Cash was found not guilty of producing a knife during a dispute and of assault causing harm. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtA jury returned a 10-2 majority verdict on all charges at the Central Criminal Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtA jury returned a 10-2 majority verdict on all charges. (irishtimes.com)
- courtCash was found not guilty of murder. (irishtimes.com)
- courtCash was found guilty of the manslaughter of John Cash. (irishtimes.com)
- courtCash was found not guilty of producing a knife during a dispute and of assault causing harm. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceThe DPP suggested a headline sentence of between ten and 15 years. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceSentence will be passed on February 19. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceThe prosecution suggested a headline sentence of between ten and 15 years. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceSentence will be passed on February 19th. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe defendant had been drinking and taking tablets when he snapped. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe defence said Andrew Cash spontaneously armed himself with a knife from his car. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherAndrew Cash was unemployed at the time and had 19 previous convictions. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherCash had 19 previous convictions. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 1 Dec2023Man who killed brother-in-law told gardaí ‘he had it coming’
Sentencing hearing at the Central Criminal Court after the jury's 10-2 majority verdict; sentence to be passed by Ms Justice Eileen Creedon on February 19th.
convicted, Andrew 'Andy' Cash, 30, male, named, irish (judged from name)Andrew 'Andy' Cashvictim, John 'Johnny' Cash, 40, male, irish (judged from name)John 'Johnny' Cashvictim, Elizabeth Cash, irish (judged from name)Elizabeth Cash - 1 Dec2023Kilkenny man who killed brother-in-law told gardai: 'He had it coming'
First report in the list on this case. Covers the manslaughter verdict, the sentencing hearing, the DPP's suggested sentence range and the victim impact statements.
victim, John 'Johnny' Cash, 40, male, irish (judged from name)John 'Johnny' Cashconvicted, Andrew 'Andy' Cash, 30, male, named, irish (judged from name)Andrew 'Andy' Cash