Case No. 6967Failing to keep books of account · Co. Kildare

Kelly convicted of failing to keep books of account in Kildare

Patricia Kelly, 61, of Clane, Co Kildare, pleaded guilty on 8 December 2023 to one count of failing to keep books of account as a director of Console Suicide Bereavement Counselling Ltd, with the offence period running from 6 December 2006 to 21 May 2015. She is the widow of the charity's former chief executive, the late Paul Kelly. Kelly had also been charged with two counts of fraudulent trading and one count of money laundering, with a trial set for 11 January 2024. The case was adjourned for sentencing to 22 February 2024, and she was remanded on continuing bail.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court16 Jan
    2 reports
  5. Convicted8 Dec
    4 reports
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
Patricia Kelly, 61, of Alexandra Manor, Clane, Co Kildare, is the widow of Paul Kelly, former chief executive of the Console suicide prevention charity.
Where
The case was heard at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court.
When
The offence of failing to keep books of account is alleged to have occurred between 6 December 2006 and 21 May 2015.
Charges
  • Kelly pleaded guilty to one count of failing to keep books of account as a director of Console Suicide Bereavement Counselling Ltd.
  • She is charged with two counts of fraudulent trading relating to the carrying on of Console Suicide Bereavement Counselling Ltd for fraudulent purpose between 6 December 2006 and 14 July 2016.
  • She is charged with one count of money laundering alleging she concealed the true nature, source, location, disposition, movement or ownership of property of Console Ltd between 1 September 2010 and 1 July 2016.
In court
  • The case appeared before Justice Patricia Ryan at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court.
  • A trial date of 11 January 2024 was set for the remaining charges, with the trial expected to last up to ten weeks.
Sentence
Sentencing for the guilty plea was adjourned to 22 February 2024, and Kelly was remanded on continuing bail.
Other details
The company concerned is Console Suicide Bereavement Counselling Ltd.
43 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatPatricia Kelly is 61 and lives at Alexandra Manor, Clane, Co Kildare (kildarenow.com, irishtimes.com)
  • whatShe is the widow of Paul Kelly, former chief executive of the Console suicide prevention charity (kildarenow.com)
  • whatPatricia Kelly is the widow of the former chief executive of the Console suicide prevention charity, the late Paul Kelly. (kildarenow.com)
  • wherePatricia Kelly is of Alexandra Manor, Clane, Co Kildare. (kildarenow.com)
  • wherePatricia Kelly lives in Clane, Co Kildare. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenThe offence occurred between 6 December 2006 and 21 May 2015. (rte.ie)
  • whenThe offence occurred within the State between December 6, 2006, and May 21, 2015. (kildarenow.com)
  • whenThe offence is alleged to have occurred between 6 December 2006 and 21 May 2015. (thejournal.ie)
  • whenThe offence is stated to have occurred on dates between December 6th, 2006, and May 21st, 2015. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeShe is charged with two counts of fraudulent trading and one count of money laundering (kildarenow.com, irishtimes.com)
  • chargeFirst count alleges she was knowingly a party to carrying on Console Suicide Bereavement Counselling Ltd for fraudulent purpose between 6 December 2006 and 31 May 2015 (kildarenow.com)
  • chargeSecond count relates to the same charge between 1 June 2015 and 14 July 2016 (kildarenow.com)
  • chargeMoney laundering count alleges she concealed the true nature, source, location, disposition, movement or ownership of property of Console Ltd between 1 September 2010 and 1 July 2016 (kildarenow.com)
  • chargeThe first fraudulent trading count covers the period from 6 December 2006 to 31 May 2015 (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeThe second fraudulent trading count covers the period from 1 June 2015 to 14 July 2016 (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeThe money laundering count covers the period from 1 September 2010 to 1 July 2016 (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeShe pleaded guilty to failing to keep proper books of account as a director of the company. (rte.ie)
  • chargeThe charge is that she failed to keep proper books of account for Console Suicide Bereavement Counselling, other than wilfully. (kildarenow.com)
  • chargeShe pleaded guilty to one count of failing to keep books of account as a director of a company. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeThe charge relates to Console Suicide Bereavement Counselling. (thejournal.ie)
  • chargeKelly pleaded guilty to one count of failing to keep books of account as a director of a company. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe case appeared before Justice Patricia Ryan at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court (kildarenow.com)
  • courtA trial date of 11 January 2024 was set (kildarenow.com)
  • courtShe was remanded on continuing bail to the trial date (kildarenow.com, irishtimes.com)
  • courtHer solicitor told the court she would be contesting the charges (kildarenow.com)
  • courtHer case appeared before Justice Patricia Ryan at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court (irishtimes.com)
  • courtJustice Ryan set a trial date of 11 January 2024 (irishtimes.com)
  • courtPatricia Kelly entered a guilty plea at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to one count of failing to keep books of account. (rte.ie)
  • courtThe trial had been due to start the following month and was expected to last up to ten weeks. (rte.ie)
  • courtSentencing was initially adjourned to 20 February, and she was remanded on bail until then. (rte.ie)
  • courtPatricia Kelly pleaded guilty before Dublin Circuit Criminal Court to one count of failing to keep books of account as a director of a company. (kildarenow.com)
  • courtPatricia Kelly had been due to go on trial the following month, with the case expected to last up to ten weeks. (kildarenow.com)
  • courtThe guilty plea was entered before Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtThe guilty plea was entered before Judge Patricia Ryan. (thejournal.ie)
  • courtKelly entered her guilty plea before Judge Patricia Ryan. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceThe sentence date was later amended to 22 February 2024. (rte.ie)
  • sentenceThe case was adjourned for sentence and Patricia Kelly was remanded on bail until that date. (kildarenow.com)
  • sentenceThe sentencing date was later changed to 22 February 2024. (kildarenow.com)
  • sentenceThe sentencing date was amended to 22 February 2024. (thejournal.ie)
  • sentenceThe case was adjourned to February 22nd for sentence, and Kelly was remanded on bail until then. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe company concerned is Console Suicide Bereavement Counselling. (rte.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • otherKelly had been due to go on trial the following month, with the case expected to last up to 10 weeks. (thejournal.ie, irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe case was first adjourned for sentence and Kelly was remanded on bail until that date. (thejournal.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 8 Dec2023
    Widow of Console founder pleads guilty to charge of failing to keep books of account

    Guilty plea entered at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court before Judge Patricia Ryan. Sentencing adjourned to February 22nd and the accused remanded on bail. The offence period is stated as December 6th, 2006, to May 21st, 2015. The article does not state where the offence occurred, so the county is taken from the court.

    convicted, Patricia Kelly, 61, female, named, irish (judged from name)Patricia Kelly
  2. 8 Dec2023
    Widow of late Console charity founder to be sentenced in February after guilty plea today

    Confirms the guilty plea before Dublin Circuit Criminal Court, gives the offence period and the sentencing date of 22 February 2024, and notes the trial that had been due to start the following month.

    convicted, Patricia Kelly, 61, female, named, irish (judged from name)Patricia Kelly
  3. 8 Dec2023
    Kildare resident and widow of the late founder of suicide prevention charity Console to be sentenced in February

    Adds the guilty plea before Dublin Circuit Criminal Court, the offence period of 6 December 2006 to 21 May 2015, the trial that was due to start, and the sentencing date of 22 February 2024.

    convicted, Patricia Kelly, 61, female, named, irish (judged from name)Patricia Kelly
  4. 8 Dec2023
    Widow of charity founder to be sentenced in February

    Reports the guilty plea entered at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court, the offence period of 6 December 2006 to 21 May 2015, and the sentence date later amended to 22 February 2024.

    convicted, Patricia Kelly, 61, female, named, irish (judged from name)Patricia Kelly
  5. 16 Jan2023
    Widow of Console founder set for money laundering trial in 2024

    Reports that Patricia Kelly was given a trial date of 11 January 2024 for two counts of fraudulent trading and one count of money laundering, which she is contesting, following her earlier guilty plea to failing to keep books of account in the same Console matter.

    accused, Patricia Kelly, 61, female, named, irish (judged from name)Patricia Kelly
  6. 16 Jan2023
    KILDARE: The widow of the late founder of suicide prevention charity Console to go on trial

    Provides the specific charges (two counts of fraudulent trading and one count of money laundering), the detailed date ranges for each count, the trial date of 11 January 2024, and confirms she is contesting the charges.

    accused, Patricia Kelly, 61, female, named, irish (judged from name)Patricia Kelly