Judge declines to rule on disclosure application in Limerick assault charges against Alison and Bill Chawke
Alison Chawke (40) and Bill Chawke (30), described in the sources as members of the same family, are facing charges of assault causing harm over an alleged assault in County Limerick on 17 January 2024. The sources do not name the victim. On 10 September 2024 the defence applied to Judge Mark O'Connell at Limerick District Court for an order of disclosure of the prosecution evidence, and the sources differ on whether the application was refused or the judge declined to rule on it, with the judge saying he would not rule before the Newcastle West date. The latest development is that both accused are due to appear before Newcastle West District Court on 1 October 2024.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court10 Sep
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Alison Chawke and Bill Chawke are facing charges of assault causing harm.
- Where
- The alleged assault took place in County Limerick.
- When
- The alleged assault took place on 17 January 2024.
- Other details
- Alison Chawke is 40 years old and Bill Chawke is 30 years old, and the sources describe them as members of the same family.
- The sources give Alison Chawke's address as Goatstown, Dublin 14, and Bill Chawke's address as Merrion Street Upper, Dublin 2.
- The sources do not name the victim.
- In court
- On 10 September 2024 the defence applied to Judge Mark O'Connell at Limerick District Court for an order of disclosure of the prosecution evidence.
- Sources differ on the outcome: one says the two were refused access to all prosecution evidence, while the headline says the judge would not rule on the application.
- The judge said he would not rule on the application before the Newcastle West court date.
- Both accused are due to appear before Newcastle West District Court on 1 October 2024.
- Investigation
- The State opposed disclosure, saying further charges were pending.
- The defence said the accused had been accused since January and that the State had produced no evidence.
8 statements extracted from the articles
- whereThe charges concern an assault in County Limerick. (limerickpost.ie)
- whenThe alleged assault took place on 17 January 2024. (limerickpost.ie)
- investigationThe State opposed disclosure, saying further charges were pending. (limerickpost.ie)
- chargeAlison Chawke and Bill Chawke are facing charges of assault causing harm. (limerickpost.ie)
- courtOn 10 September 2024 the two were refused an application at Limerick court for access to all prosecution evidence. (limerickpost.ie)
- courtThe defence applied to Judge Mark O'Connell for an order of disclosure. (limerickpost.ie)
- courtBoth accused are due to appear before Newcastle West District Court on 1 October. (limerickpost.ie)
- courtThe judge said he would not rule on the application before the Newcastle West court date. (limerickpost.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 10 Sep2024Judge won't rule on application for evidence in County Limerick assault charge
The article reports a court hearing on the disclosure application. It gives the incident date as 17 January 2024 and does not mention the 9 November 2023 Adare incident in the existing record, so it is treated as a separate incident.
accused, Alison Chawke, 40, named, irish (judged from name)Alison Chawkeaccused, Bill Chawke, 30, named, irish (judged from name)Bill Chawke