Joseph Campbell jailed for rape of boy
Joseph Campbell (63) of Daingean, Co Offaly, was sentenced to 10 years in prison, with the final 18 months suspended, for raping a boy at the boy's home in October 2017. The sentence was imposed at the Central Criminal Court after a jury convicted him of Section 4 rape and he was also convicted of sexual assault offences; he maintains his innocence.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced6 Oct
3 reports
Key facts
consolidated from all reports33 statements extracted from the articles
- whatCampbell was convicted of section 4 rape at the victim's home in October 2017. (rte.ie)
- whatCampbell was convicted at trial of Section 4 rape at the victim's home. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whereCampbell lives at Castle Court, Daingean, Co Offaly. (rte.ie)
- whereCampbell is of Castle Court, Daingean, Co Offaly. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- whenThe rape occurred in October 2017. (offalyexpress.ie)
- whenThe rape occurred at the victim's home in October 2017. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- investigationThe victim first made a complaint to gardaí in 2023. (offalyexpress.ie)
- investigationThe victim first complained to gardaí in 2023. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- investigationCampbell was arrested and interviewed and denied the allegation. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- chargeFurther charges of sexual assault from December 2021 were taken into account. (rte.ie)
- chargeFurther charges of sexual assault in December 2021 were taken into account. (offalyexpress.ie)
- chargeCampbell was convicted by a jury after trial of Section 4 rape. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- chargeFurther charges of sexual assault for an incident in December 2021 were taken into account. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- courtCampbell was sentenced at the Central Criminal Court. (rte.ie, offalyexpress.ie)
- courtThe sentence hearing was at the Central Criminal Court. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- sentenceCampbell was jailed for eight and a half years. (rte.ie, offalyexpress.ie)
- sentenceThe judge set a headline sentence of 11 years and reduced it to ten years. (rte.ie)
- sentenceThe final 18 months of the ten-year term were suspended. (rte.ie)
- sentenceConcurrent six-year terms were imposed for the sexual assault offences. (rte.ie, offalyexpress.ie, leinsterexpress.ie)
- sentenceCampbell must have no contact with the victim while in prison and for five years after release. (rte.ie)
- sentenceCampbell must engage with the Probation Service for 12 months after release from prison. (rte.ie, leinsterexpress.ie)
- sentenceThe judge set a headline sentence of 11 years, reduced to 10 years. (offalyexpress.ie)
- sentenceThe final 18 months of the 10-year term were suspended. (offalyexpress.ie, leinsterexpress.ie)
- sentenceCampbell was ordered to have no contact with the victim in prison and for five years after release. (offalyexpress.ie)
- sentenceCampbell must engage with the Probation Service for 12 months after release. (offalyexpress.ie)
- sentenceThe headline sentence was 11 years, reduced to 10 years. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- sentenceCampbell must have no contact with the victim in prison or for five years after release. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- otherCampbell maintains his innocence and does not accept the jury's verdict. (rte.ie, offalyexpress.ie, leinsterexpress.ie)
- otherThe court accepted in mitigation that Campbell has no previous convictions. (rte.ie)
- otherThe victim was 11 years old when he was anally raped. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- otherThe victim waived his right to anonymity so Campbell could be named. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- otherThe judge said the aggravating factor was that Campbell was a grandfather figure in the family. (leinsterexpress.ie)
- otherCampbell has no previous convictions. (leinsterexpress.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 6 Oct2025Midlands 'grandfather figure' jailed for rape of boy
Sentencing report: Campbell received a 10-year sentence with the final 18 months suspended, concurrent six-year terms for sexual assault, a no-contact order and 12 months of probation supervision after release. The article also gives the victim impact statement and details of the complaint and investigation.
victim, Devin O'Donnell, 19, male, irish (judged from name)Devin O'Donnellconvicted, Joseph Campbell, 63, male, named, irish (judged from name)Joseph Campbell - 6 Oct2025Offaly man in his sixties who was 'grandfather figure' jailed for rape of 11-year-old boy
Sentencing hearing at the Central Criminal Court. Campbell received a 10-year term with the final 18 months suspended, concurrent six-year terms for sexual assault, a no-contact order and 12 months' probation. The victim, Devin O’Donnell, read a victim impact statement.
convicted, Joseph Campbell, 63, male, named, irish (judged from name)Joseph Campbellvictim, Devin O'Donnell, 19, male, irish (judged from name)Devin O'Donnell - 6 Oct2025Man jailed for eight-and-a-half years over rape of boy
Sentencing report from the Central Criminal Court. Adds the sentence details (headline 11 years reduced to ten, final 18 months suspended, effective term of eight and a half years), the no-contact order, the probation requirement, the six-year concurrent terms for sexual assault, and the victim's impact statement. Campbell maintains his innocence.
victim, Devin O'Donnell, 19, male, irish (judged from name)Devin O'Donnellconvicted, Joseph Campbell, 63, male, named, irish (judged from name)Joseph Campbell