Case No. 13010Shooting (criminal damage), use of a hurley or stick (Firearms and Weapons Act) · Co. Clare · 29 May 2025

Johnny Donovan remanded on High Court bail over Ennis halting site shooting

Johnny Donovan, 23, of Shankill, Co Dublin, was remanded on continuing High Court bail at Ennis District Court on 3 August 2025 after being charged with three counts of criminal damage and a Firearms and Weapons Act offence following a shooting at Ballaghboy halting site, Ennis, on 29 May 2025, in which three shots were fired at a caravan and no person was hit.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court3 Aug
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
20 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatDonovan is a 23-year-old Dublin man (clareecho.ie)
  • whatDonovan was travelling in a grey BMW jeep when he entered the halting site (clareecho.ie)
  • whatDonovan was accompanied by a second male (clareecho.ie)
  • whatDonovan produced a hand-gun and fired three indiscriminate shots at a caravan in the first bay (clareecho.ie)
  • whatNo person was shot in the incident (clareecho.ie)
  • whatTwo people were present in the bay at the time of the shooting (clareecho.ie)
  • whatOne of the two people took a video capturing her running to a vehicle and three gunshots (clareecho.ie)
  • whatA Garda Scenes of Crime unit found one caravan had three bullet holes (clareecho.ie)
  • whatOne spent bullet was found inside the caravan (clareecho.ie)
  • whereDonovan lives at Bay 3, Rathmichael, Shankill, Co Dublin (clareecho.ie)
  • whereThe shooting incident occurred at Ballaghboy halting site, Quin Rd, Ennis (clareecho.ie)
  • whenThe shooting incident took place on 29 May 2025 (clareecho.ie)
  • whenThe shooting took place only ten minutes after the Garda ASU had left the scene (clareecho.ie)
  • causeThere had been unrest all week due to tensions between certain families at Ballaghboy halting site (clareecho.ie)
  • investigationThe fire-arm has not yet been recovered (clareecho.ie)
  • chargeDonovan faces three charges of criminal damage of property at Ballaghboy (clareecho.ie)
  • chargeDonovan faces a fourth charge under the Firearms and Weapons Act concerning use of a Hurley or a stick (clareecho.ie)
  • courtJudge Gabbett refused bail at the contested hearing on 6 June 2025 (clareecho.ie)
  • otherDonovan has family links to Co Clare (clareecho.ie)
  • otherDonovan is first cousins of the partners of the injured parties (clareecho.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 3 Aug2025
    Twenty three year old Donovan charged with shooting at Ennis halting site secures High Court bail following - Clare Echo

    Reports that Donovan has secured High Court bail and is remanded on continuing High Court bail to re-appear at Ennis District Court on 1 October 2025 for DPP directions; Sgt Burke indicated very significant developments in the investigation but could not detail them.

    accused, Johnny Donovan, 23, male, named, irish (judged from name)Johnny Donovansuspect, malevictim, femalevictim