Case No. 12835Theft · Co. Donegal · 18 Apr 2025
John O'Connor told he can avoid circuit court trial over Donegal autoparts thefts if he pleads guilty
John O'Connor, of 75 Bride Street, Dublin 8, appeared at Sligo District Court via videolink from Castlerea Prison on 27 August 2025, charged with six counts of theft of autoparts in Donegal, Sligo and Leitrim. The DPP indicated the matter can be dealt with by summary disposal on a plea of guilty, and Judge Ciaran Liddy remanded him in custody to appear at Ballyshannon District Court on 5 September 2025.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court27 Aug
- Verdict
- Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet
Key facts
consolidated from all reports11 statements extracted from the articles
- whatOn 18 April 2025 he allegedly stole autoparts worth €300 from Robert Kee and Sons, Laghey (donegallive.ie)
- whatThe total value of goods captured in the charges is €8,034 (donegallive.ie)
- investigationHe was captured on CCTV at all the premises (donegallive.ie)
- chargeHe is charged with six counts of theft including from autoparts premises in Donegal, Sligo and Leitrim (donegallive.ie)
- chargeAll offences are contrary to Section 4 of the Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud Offences) Act 2001 (donegallive.ie)
- courtHe appeared at Sligo District Court via videolink from Castlerea Prison on 27 August 2025 (donegallive.ie)
- courtThe DPP indicated the matter can be dealt with by way of summary disposal on a plea of guilty (donegallive.ie)
- courtJudge Ciaran Liddy remanded him in custody to appear at Ballyshannon District Court on 5 September (donegallive.ie)
- otherHe has been in custody in Castlerea Prison since April after being refused bail (donegallive.ie)
- otherNone of the stolen goods have been recovered (donegallive.ie)
- otherHe is before a number of other courts around the country on similar charges (donegallive.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 27 Aug2025Alleged serial thief will avoid circuit court trial if he pleads guilty in Donegal
DPP directed summary disposal on a plea of guilty; remanded in custody to Ballyshannon District Court on 5 September 2025. Total value of stolen goods is €8,034, none recovered. He is also before other courts on similar charges.
accused, John O'Connor, male, named, irish (judged from name)John O'Connorvictim, Thomas McGee, irish (judged from name)Thomas McGeevictim, Shaun Kee, irish (judged from name)Shaun Keevictim, Nissan McLaughlin, irish (judged from name)Nissan McLaughlinvictim, Rory O'Donnell, irish (judged from name)Rory O'Donnellvictim, Hubert McCormack, irish (judged from name)Hubert McCormack