Jim and Padraig Mansfield appear in court on money laundering and company fraud charges
Two brothers, aged 59 and 49 and of Saggart, Co Dublin, were arrested on Thursday and charged with money laundering, and the 49-year-old also with company fraud. The alleged offences are dated between 2012 and 2014 and involve their own Bank of Ireland accounts. Both men appeared at Blanchardstown District Court on Thursday 29 January 2026, where Judge Áine Clancy granted them bail on a €10,000 bond each and the DPP ordered trial on indictment. The latest development is that both men are due to appear again before Blanchardstown District Court on 28 April 2026.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court29 Jan
2 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- The brothers are named as Jim Mansfield Jr (59) and Padraig 'PJ' Mansfield (49) in the Irish Mirror, and as James Mansfield (59) and Patrick Mansfield (49) in the Irish Times.
- Jim Mansfield is accused of using his own Bank of Ireland account to launder sums between €800 and €20,000.
- Padraig Mansfield is accused of using his own Bank of Ireland account to launder sums between €10,000 and €40,000.
- Where
- The 59-year-old is of Tassagart House, Garters Lane, Saggart, Co Dublin.
- When
- The alleged money laundering offences are dated between 2012 and 2014, and the company fraud charges relate to 2013 and 2014.
- Patrick Mansfield was arrested at about 8.30am on Thursday in Blanchardstown, which the Irish Mirror gives as 8.32am at Main Street, Blanchardstown.
- James Mansfield was arrested at Lucan Garda station at 9am on Thursday.
- Charges
- Jim Mansfield faces 25 money laundering charges totalling €193,700 in the Irish Mirror, and the Irish Times gives more than €193,000 for James Mansfield's 25 charges.
- Padraig Mansfield faces 25 money laundering charges totalling €362,990 and eight company fraud charges for allegedly carrying on eight companies with intent to defraud creditors in the Irish Mirror, while the Irish Times reports 33 money laundering and company fraud offences for Patrick Mansfield totalling more than €352,000.
- Both men are charged under the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010.
- Investigation
- Detective Garda Paul Kane gave evidence of the arrest, charge and caution of Padraig Mansfield, and Detective Garda Fiona Connaughton of the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau gave evidence of the same for Jim Mansfield.
- Other details
- Both men made no reply to each of the charges after caution.
- In court
- Both men appeared at Blanchardstown District Court on Thursday morning, and Judge Áine Clancy granted them bail on their own bond of €10,000 each.
- The DPP ordered trial on indictment for both men, and Padraig Mansfield was ordered to surrender his passport and not to travel.
- Both men are due to appear again before Blanchardstown District Court on 28 April 2026.
31 statements extracted from the articles
- whatJim Mansfield is accused of using his own Bank of Ireland account to launder sums between €800 and €20,000. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatPadraig Mansfield is accused of using his own Bank of Ireland account to launder sums between €10,000 and €40,000. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereJim Mansfield Jr is of Tassagart House, Garters Lane, Saggart. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenPadraig is accused on multiple dates between 2013 and 2014 of carrying on the business of companies with intent to defraud creditors. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenJim is accused on multiple dates in 2014 and on dates in 2012 and 2013 of converting, transferring, handling, acquiring, possessing or using proceeds of criminal conduct. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenPatrick Mansfield was arrested at 8.30am in Blanchardstown on Thursday. (irishtimes.com)
- whenJames Mansfield was arrested at Lucan Garda station at 9am on Thursday. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationPadraig was arrested at 8:32am at Main Street, Blanchardstown. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationDetective Garda Paul Kane gave evidence of the arrest, charge and caution of Padraig Mansfield. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationDetective Garda Fiona Connaughton of the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau gave evidence of the arrest, charge and caution of Jim Mansfield. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationDetectives from the Garda National Drugs and Organised Crime Bureau gave evidence of arrest, charge and caution. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeJim Mansfield Jr faced 25 charges of money laundering totalling €193,700. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargePadraig Mansfield faced 25 charges of money laundering totalling €362,990. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargePadraig Mansfield faced eight charges of company fraud for allegedly carrying on the business of eight separate companies with intent to defraud creditors. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeBoth men face charges under the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeBoth were charged with multiple money laundering offences between 2012 and 2014. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe charges are under the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing) Act 2010. (irishtimes.com)
- chargePatrick Mansfield was charged with 33 money laundering and company fraud offences. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeJames Mansfield was charged with 25 money laundering offences. (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Aine Clancy granted bail to both men with a €10,000 bond. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtPadraig was ordered to surrender his passport and undertake not to travel. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe DPP ordered trial on indictment for both men. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtBoth men are due to appear before the court again on 28 April. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe brothers appeared at Blanchardstown District Court on Thursday morning. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThey are due to appear again before Blanchardstown District Court on April 28th. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceJudge Áine Clancy remanded both men on bail on their own bond of €10,000 each. (irishtimes.com)
- otherPadraig made no reply to each of the charges after caution. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherJim made no reply to each of the charges after caution. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe total sum related to Patrick's charges was more than €352,000. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe total sum involved in James's charges was more than €193,000. (irishtimes.com)
- otherPatrick Mansfield was ordered to surrender his passport and not apply for any other travel documents. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 29 Jan2026Mansfield brothers appear before court charged with multiple counts of money laundering
Court appearance and bail conditions for the two brothers charged with 33 and 25 money laundering offences respectively, with total sums exceeding €352,000 and €193,000.
accused, James Mansfield, 59, male, named, irish (judged from name)James Mansfieldaccused, Patrick Mansfield, 49, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Mansfield - 29 Jan2026Mansfield brothers appear in court over €500k money laundering charges
First court appearance; both brothers granted bail, DPP ordered trial on indictment, next appearance set for 28 April 2026.
accused, Jim Mansfield Jr, 59, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jim Mansfield Jraccused, Padraig Mansfield, 49, male, named, irish (judged from name)Padraig Mansfield