Case No. 0273Assault (civil), perverting the course of justice (alleged) · Co. Dublin

James Lawrence's solicitor warns RTÉ over reporting of Nikita Hand rape allegation

In December 2018, Nikita Hand alleged she was raped at a south Dublin hotel, naming James Lawrence, 36, of Drimnagh, and Conor McGregor as the men involved. A 2024 High Court jury found that McGregor raped Hand but that Lawrence did not assault her, awarding Hand €250,000 in damages. Justice Alexander Owens refused to award Lawrence his costs, and he lost a Court of Appeal challenge on that decision. Lawrence has since instituted High Court proceedings against Hand and made a criminal complaint to An Garda Síochána alleging deception and perverting the course of justice. In September 2026, his solicitor Ciaran Mulholland wrote to RTÉ boss Kevin Bakhurst asking the broadcaster to report the jury verdict accurately following Hand's radio appearance to promote her book.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court21 Sep
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • A 2024 High Court jury found that Conor McGregor raped Nikita Hand but that James Lawrence did not assault her.
  • The jury awarded Hand €250,000 in damages.
  • Lawrence has instituted High Court proceedings against Nikita Hand.
  • Lawrence has made a criminal complaint to An Garda Síochána alleging deception and perverting the course of justice.
Where
The alleged rape took place at a south Dublin hotel.
When
The alleged rape took place in December 2018.
In court
Justice Alexander Owens did not award Lawrence his costs in the civil case, and he lost a Court of Appeal challenge on that decision.
Other details
  • Lawrence's solicitor Ciaran Mulholland sent a letter to RTÉ boss Kevin Bakhurst following Hand's appearance on the Brendan O'Connor show to promote her book Not the Perfect Victim.
  • Lawrence, 36, of Drimnagh, south Dublin, claimed to have had consensual sex with Hand on the night.
10 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatA jury in a 2024 High Court civil trial found that James Lawrence did not assault Nikita Hand (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe jury accepted Hand's claim of rape against McGregor but did not find Lawrence liable (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe jury awarded Hand €250,000 in damages (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatLawrence has instituted High Court proceedings against Nikita Hand (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatLawrence has made a criminal complaint to An Garda Síochána alleging deception and perverting the course of justice (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatLawrence's solicitor Ciaran Mulholland sent a letter to RTÉ boss Kevin Bakhurst (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatLawrence is 36 with an address in Drimnagh, south Dublin, and claimed to have had consensual sex with Hand on the night (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereThe alleged rape took place at a south Dublin hotel in December 2018 (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtMr Justice Alexander Owens did not award Lawrence his costs in the civil case (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtLawrence lost his Court of Appeal challenge over the costs decision (irishmirror.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 21 Sep2026
    James Lawrence says rape claim by Nikita Hand has had devastating effect on him

    Lawrence's solicitor Ciaran Mulholland sent a letter to RTÉ boss Kevin Bakhurst following Hand's appearance on the Brendan O'Connor show to promote her book 'Not the Perfect Victim'. The letter warns RTÉ to accurately report the jury verdict in Lawrence's favour and notes his new High Court proceedings and criminal complaint to Gardaí.

    accused, James Lawrence, 36, male, named, irish (judged from name)James Lawrencevictim, Nikita Hand, female, non-irish (judged from name)Nikita Handaccused, Conor McGregor, male, named, irish (judged from name)Conor McGregor