Irving Oil avoids conviction over Whitegate oil spill
On 22 January 2024 a gas oil release at the Whitegate refinery in Cork Harbour, owned and operated by Irving Oil, a company the RTE report describes as Canadian-owned, saw an estimated 14,200 litres released, some of which leaked into the harbour. The Environmental Protection Agency prosecuted Irving Oil in the District Court for an alleged breach of licence conditions under the Environmental Protection Agency Act, 1992. At the hearing on 21 February 2025 the judge ordered a €2,500 donation to the RNLI in Ballycotton and adjourned the matter to 27 March, saying he would be inclined to give the benefit of the Probation Act if the donation was made.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court21 Feb
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- The spilled material was confirmed to be gas oil, some of which leaked into Cork Harbour.
- The amount of oil released was estimated at 14,200 litres.
- Where
- The Whitegate refinery is in Cork Harbour, Co Cork.
- When
- The oil spill occurred on 22 January 2024, and the EPA was notified by Irving Oil that evening at about 5pm.
- Cause
- The leak came from a small gauge pipe that may have filled with water and been damaged by ice.
- Investigation
- The EPA inspector Joshua Copage gave evidence and reported a strong smell of hydrocarbons in Whitegate village the following day.
- Charges
- The EPA prosecuted Irving Oil for an alleged breach of licence conditions and requirements under the Environmental Protection Agency Act, 1992.
- In court
- The case was heard in the District Court on 21 February 2025.
- Sentence
- The judge ordered Irving Oil to make a €2,500 donation to the RNLI in Ballycotton and adjourned the matter to 27 March.
- The judge said he would be inclined to give Irving Oil the benefit of the Probation Act if the donation was made, and the RTE headline reports that the company avoided conviction.
- Other details
- No bird mortality was reported as a result of the incident.
10 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe spilled material was confirmed to be gas oil, some of which leaked into Cork Harbour. (rte.ie)
- whatThe amount of oil released was estimated at 14,200 litres. (rte.ie)
- whereThe refinery is at Whitegate in Cork Harbour. (rte.ie)
- whenThe oil spill occurred on 22 January 2024. (rte.ie)
- causeThe leak came from a small gauge pipe that may have filled with water and been damaged by ice. (rte.ie)
- investigationThe EPA was notified by Irving Oil of an uncontrolled release of hydrocarbons from the refinery. (rte.ie)
- chargeIrving Oil was prosecuted by the EPA for an alleged breach of licence conditions and requirements under the Environmental Protection Agency Act, 1992. (rte.ie)
- courtThe judge ordered Irving Oil to make a €2,500 donation to the RNLI in Ballycotton and adjourned the matter to 27 March. (rte.ie)
- sentenceThe judge said he would be inclined to give Irving Oil the benefit of the Probation Act if the donation was made. (rte.ie)
- otherNo bird mortality was reported as a result of the incident. (rte.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 21 Feb2025Irving Oil avoids conviction over Whitegate oil spill
Reports the District Court hearing: EPA evidence on the spill, the estimated 14,200 litre leak, the cleanup, and the judge's adjournment with a proposed Probation Act outcome.
accused, Irving Oil, named, non-irish (judged from name)Irving Oil