Investment deal to save Rathwood expected this week, High Court told
Rathwood, a home and garden centre in Co Carlow controlled by the Tullow, Co Carlow-based Keogh family, entered examinership in late April 2026 with liabilities totalling €18 million. An investment proposal from a potential investor was advanced with draft agreements issued, and the court was told completion of binding terms was anticipated on Thursday. Examiner Padraic Bermingham told the High Court the company had a reasonable prospect of survival, while noting that certain Revenue liabilities arising during the protection period remained outstanding. Judge Mulcahy extended the protection period to a date in July, having noted concerns about trading controls and Revenue liabilities.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court1 Jul
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Rathwood is a home and garden centre in Co Carlow controlled by the Tullow, Co Carlow-based Keogh family.
- The company had liabilities totalling €18 million, including €10 million to trade creditors, €1.4 million to the Revenue Commissioners, and €2.5 million in customer deposits and vouchers.
- An investment proposal from a potential investor was advanced with draft agreements issued, and completion of binding terms was anticipated on Thursday.
- Certain Revenue liabilities arising during the protection period remained outstanding, and Revenue was informed the debts would be paid that week.
- When
- Rathwood entered examinership in late April 2026.
- In court
- Examiner Padraic Bermingham told the High Court the company had a reasonable prospect of survival.
- Judge Mulcahy extended the protection period to a date in July, noting concerns about trading controls and Revenue liabilities.
13 statements extracted from the articles
- whatRathwood is a home and garden centre in Co Carlow (irishtimes.com)
- whatRathwood is controlled by the Tullow, Co Carlow-based Keogh family (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe company had liabilities totalling €18 million (irishtimes.com)
- what€10 million was owed to trade creditors (irishtimes.com)
- what€1.4 million was owed to the Revenue Commissioners (irishtimes.com)
- what€2.5 million was in customer deposits and vouchers (irishtimes.com)
- whatAn investment proposal from a potential investor had been advanced with draft agreements issued (irishtimes.com)
- whatCertain Revenue liabilities arising during the protection period remained outstanding (irishtimes.com)
- whatRevenue was informed by the company that the debts due would be paid this week (irishtimes.com)
- whenRathwood entered examinership in late April (irishtimes.com)
- whenCompletion of binding terms was anticipated on Thursday (irishtimes.com)
- courtExaminer Padraic Bermingham said the company had a reasonable prospect of survival (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge agreed to extend the protection period (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 1 Jul2026Investment deal to save Rathwood expected this week, court told
High Court examinership hearing; Judge Mulcahy extended protection period to a date in July after noting concerns about trading controls and Revenue liabilities.