Inquest into George Nkencho shooting by gardaí delayed until 2026
George Nkencho, a 27-year-old man whose family come originally from Nigeria, was fatally shot by members of the Garda Armed Support Unit during a stand-off outside his family home in Clonee, Co Dublin, on 30 December 2020, after an alleged assault of a shop assistant at a nearby Eurospar store. He was armed with a kitchen knife during the confrontation and died from multiple gunshot wounds to the torso. The inquest into his death was adjourned to 12 September 2025 and will not begin before early 2026, with around 50 to 60 witnesses expected to give evidence over more than two weeks. Two members of the Armed Support Unit will be given anonymity at the inquest, and Fiosrú has been granted full legal representation for the proceedings.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court28 Jul
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- George Nkencho, 27, suffered fatal gunshot wounds during a stand-off with members of the Garda Armed Support Unit.
- He was armed with a kitchen knife during the stand-off, which arose after an alleged assault of a shop assistant at a nearby Eurospar store.
- Where
- The shooting took place outside his family home at Manorfields Drive, Clonee, Co Dublin, and he was pronounced dead at Connolly Hospital Blanchardstown.
- When
- The shooting occurred on 30 December 2020.
- Cause
- Post-mortem revealed he died from multiple gunshot wounds to the torso.
- Investigation
- Gardaí had reviewed 252 witness statements and additional material provided by the coroner.
- In court
- The coroner adjourned the inquest hearing to 12 September 2025, and the inquest will not begin before early 2026.
- Around 50 to 60 witnesses are expected to be called, and the inquest is expected to last over two weeks.
- Two members of the Garda Armed Support Unit would be given anonymity at the inquest.
- Fiosrú had been granted full legal representation for the inquest.
- Other details
- His family come originally from Nigeria.
- His family claim he was suffering from mental health issues for several months before his death.
18 statements extracted from the articles
- whatGeorge Nkencho was 27 years old at the time of his death (irishmirror.ie)
- whatHe suffered fatal gunshot wounds (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe incident involved members of the Garda Armed Support Unit (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe deceased was armed with a kitchen knife during the stand-off with gardaí (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe situation arose after an alleged assault of a shop assistant at a nearby Eurospar store (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe shooting took place outside his family home at Manorfields Drive, Clonee, Co Dublin (irishmirror.ie)
- whereHe was pronounced dead at Connolly Hospital Blanchardstown (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe shooting occurred on 30 December 2020 (irishmirror.ie)
- causePost-mortem revealed he died from multiple gunshot wounds to the torso (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationGardaí had reviewed 252 witness statements and additional material provided by the coroner (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe inquest will not begin before early 2026 (irishmirror.ie)
- courtAround 50-60 witnesses are expected to be called to give evidence (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe inquest is expected to last over two weeks (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe coroner adjourned the hearing until 12 September 2025 (irishmirror.ie)
- courtTwo members of the Garda Armed Support Unit would be given anonymity at the inquest (irishmirror.ie)
- courtFiosrú had been granted full legal representation for the inquest (irishmirror.ie)
- otherHis family come originally from Nigeria (irishmirror.ie)
- otherHis family claim he was suffering from mental health issues for several months before his death (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 28 Jul2025Inquest into George Nkencho shooting by gardai delayed until 2026
Reports that the inquest, originally targeted for November 2025, will be delayed to early 2026 due to the volume of documentation (252 witness statements plus a Fiosrú report) still under review by An Garda Síochána. The coroner adjourned the hearing to 12 September 2025.
victim, George Nkencho, 27, male, non-irish (judged from name)George Nkencho