Hutch's legal costs bid refused after Regency murder acquittal in Dublin
On 5 February 2016, armed men from the Hutch organised crime group shot David Byrne, 33, dead and Daniel Kinahan, believed to be the main target, at the Regency Hotel in Whitehall, Dublin 9, during a boxing weigh-in. Paul Murphy, 61, and Jason Bonney, 52, were convicted at the Special Criminal Court of providing getaway vehicles for the attack, while Gerard Hutch, 60, was acquitted of the murder of Byrne after a 52-day trial. On 7 June 2023, the Special Criminal Court refused Hutch's application to have his legal costs paid by the State following his acquittal.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court8 May
3 reports - Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Armed men from the Hutch organised crime group shot David Byrne, 33, dead and Daniel Kinahan, believed to be the main target, at the Regency Hotel during a boxing weigh-in.
- Where
- The shooting took place at the Regency Hotel on the Swords Road, Whitehall, Dublin 9.
- When
- The attack took place on the afternoon of 5 February 2016.
- Weapon
- The hit team were armed with Kalashnikovs.
- Investigation
- Gardaí quickly identified the Hutch gang as the chief suspects through their intelligence system, and initially had only eyewitness testimony with no Garda source at the scene.
- Charges
- Paul Murphy and Jason Bonney were charged with facilitating the attack by providing getaway vehicles, and Gerard Hutch was charged with the murder of David Byrne.
- In court
- The Special Criminal Court found beyond reasonable doubt that the attack was orchestrated by the Hutch criminal organisation, acquitted Gerard Hutch of murder, and convicted Murphy and Bonney of providing access to motor vehicles used in the murder.
- On 7 June 2023, the Special Criminal Court refused Gerard Hutch's application for legal costs following his acquittal, ruling it was not unfair to deny his costs.
- Sentence
- The court was to impose sentences on Murphy and Bonney for providing getaway vehicles.
- Other details
- Murphy provided access to his Toyota Avensis taxi and Bonney was the sole driver of a black BMW jeep, both at St Vincent's GAA club on 5 February 2016.
- Murphy has 67 previous convictions and Bonney has no previous convictions.
- It is believed Hutch left Ireland for Spain the month before the costs hearing.
60 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe hit squad that entered the hotel were prepared to shoot anyone who got in their way, even a Garda. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe armed Hutch hit squad killed David Byrne at the Regency. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe hit team's plan was to exit through an apartment block. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe expected police response would have been two detectives armed with two handguns. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatOne man died in the incident. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe Hutch Organised Crime Gang carried out the hit and took advantage of Garda resource shortages. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatDaniel Kinahan narrowly escaped with his life at the Regency and was believed to be the main target. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereByrne was shot dead at the hotel in Whitehall, Dublin 9. (thejournal.ie)
- whereThe shooting took place during a boxing weigh-in at the Regency Hotel. (thejournal.ie)
- whereThe killing took place at the Regency Hotel on the Swords Road, Whitehall, Dublin 9. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe Regency attack took place on February 5th, 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe Regency shooting took place on the afternoon of 5 February 2016. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe Regency Hotel attack happened on 5 February 2016. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe killing took place on 5 February 2016. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe Regency shooting took place 10 years before the article was published. (irishmirror.ie)
- weaponThe hit team were armed with Kalashnikovs. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationGarda witnesses agreed that Bonney and Murphy were not on the Garda radar before the Regency attack. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationIn the first 24 hours, Gardaí feared the attack could have been Phase 1 of a larger plot. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe immediate priority was finding where the group went, where the weapons were, and whether they would appear elsewhere. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationInitially all Gardaí had was eyewitness testimony, with no Garda source at the scene. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationGardaí moved to warn dozens of people that their lives were in danger from a Kinahan backlash. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationGardaí quickly identified the Hutch gang as the chief suspects through their intelligence system. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargePaul Murphy and Jason Bonney were convicted of facilitating the attack by providing getaway vehicles. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeGerard Hutch denied the murder of David Byrne. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeHutch had denied the murder of David Byrne. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe Director of Public Prosecutions is opposing a legal costs application by Gerard Hutch following his acquittal of the murder of David Byrne at the Regency Hotel. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court has fixed Friday to hear the costs application, which is estimated at a substantial six-figure sum. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial ran for 52 days. (irishtimes.com)
- courtIn their judgment of April 17th, the judges were satisfied beyond reasonable doubt that the attack was orchestrated by the Hutch criminal organisation. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court acquitted Gerard Hutch of the murder charge. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe State will oppose Hutch's costs application, which will be heard on Friday. (thejournal.ie)
- courtPaul Murphy and Jason Bonney were found guilty at the Special Criminal Court of acting as getaway drivers. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court found it could not rely on the unsupported evidence of Jonathan Dowdall when acquitting Hutch. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe court was satisfied beyond reasonable doubt that the Regency attack was orchestrated by the Hutch criminal organisation. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe costs hearing is expected to take no more than an hour. (thejournal.ie)
- courtHutch was acquitted last month of the murder of David Byrne. (thejournal.ie)
- courtHutch is seeking his legal costs, and the State is opposing the application. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe costs hearing was originally listed for the Friday of that week. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe judge set a new date for the costs hearing instead of putting the matter in for mention. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe costs application was listed for 7 June, the first day of the next term. (thejournal.ie)
- courtHutch failed in a bid to recover his legal costs from the State after his acquittal. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe State refused the costs application at the Special Criminal Court. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe judge ruled it was not unfair to deny Hutch his costs and refused the application. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe court found Hutch was recognised as the figurehead and patriarchal figure of the Hutch Organised Crime Group. (thejournal.ie)
- courtHutch was acquitted of murder by the three-judge Special Criminal Court after a 52-day trial. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe DPP argued that the costs issue comes down to judicial discretion. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceThe court will impose sentences on two men convicted of providing getaway vehicles for the Regency attack. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceMurphy's counsel submitted that his offence should attract a sentence of perhaps eight years. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceThe court will pass sentence on Friday at 10am. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceMurphy and Bonney are due to be sentenced on Friday. (thejournal.ie)
- otherMurphy provided access to his Toyota Avensis taxi at St Vincent’s GAA club on February 5th, 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- otherBonney was the sole driver of a black BMW jeep on February 5th, 2016, and provided access to it at St Vincent’s GAA club car park. (irishtimes.com)
- otherGerard Hutch was acquitted of murdering David Byrne and is seeking his legal costs from the State. (thejournal.ie)
- otherJason Bonney has no previous convictions. (thejournal.ie)
- otherPaul Murphy has 67 previous convictions. (thejournal.ie)
- otherMurphy and Bonney were found guilty of providing access to motor vehicles used in the murder. (thejournal.ie)
- otherThe court rejected the prosecution case that Hutch was one of the shooters in the Regency attack. (thejournal.ie)
- otherIt is believed Hutch left Ireland for Spain the previous month. (thejournal.ie)
- otherPrior to the incident, Gardaí were crying out for resources on the ground. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherMichael O'Sullivan worked for over 40 years in the Garda force. (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 6 Feb2026Garda insider makes chilling claim about Regency hit
Retrospective interview with former Assistant Commissioner Michael O'Sullivan reflecting on the Regency Hotel shooting 10 years later, describing the Hutch gang's plan, the immediate Garda response, and the anticipated Kinahan backlash.
victim, David Byrne, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrnevictim, Daniel Kinahan, male, irish (judged from name)Daniel Kinahan - 7 Jun2023Gerry Hutch Fails In Bid To Recoup Regency Trial Legal Costs
The article text is unusable template code. Only the headline is available, and it reports that Gerry Hutch failed to recover Regency trial legal costs.
accused, Gerry Hutch, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry Hutch - 7 Jun2023Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch loses bid to have his legal costs in murder trial paid for by the State
Reports the Special Criminal Court's 7 June 2023 ruling refusing Hutch's costs application, with the judge's reasons and the arguments of both sides. Confirms the murder trial ended with his acquittal and that he had denied the murder.
accused, Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch, 60, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry 'The Monk' Hutchvictim, David Byrne, 33, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrne - 10 May2023Hutch’s bid to have his legal costs paid by the State adjourned to next month
Adds that the costs hearing was adjourned from its original Friday listing to 7 June because of scheduling difficulties, the State opposes the costs bid, and Paul Murphy and Jason Bonney were due to be sentenced on the Friday.
victim, David Byrne, 33, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerard Hutch, 60, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchconvicted, Paul Murphy, 61, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, 52, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonney - 8 May2023State to oppose bid by Gerard Hutch to reimburse his legal fees for Regency shooting trial
Covers the State's opposition to Gerard Hutch's costs application, to be heard alongside the sentencing of Paul Murphy and Jason Bonney, and reports the court's findings on Hutch's acquittal and the convicted men's roles.
victim, David Byrne, 33, irish (judged from name)David Byrnesuspect, Gerard Hutch, 60, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchconvicted, Paul Murphy, 61, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, 52, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonney - 8 May2023State opposes Gerard Hutch’s application for substantial legal costs after murder acquittal
Reports the DPP opposing Hutch's costs application, the court fixing a hearing for Friday, the court's findings on the getaway drivers, and a defence submission that Murphy's sentence should be around eight years.
victim, David Byrne, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerard Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchconvicted, Paul Murphy, 61, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, 52, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonney