Case No. 20283Rape · Co. Kildare · 3 Apr 2020

HSE review finds possible abuse of other residents at Kildare nursing home

On 3 April 2020, a 73-year-old woman was raped at a HSE-run nursing home in Kildare. Emmanuel Adeniji, a Nigerian man who worked as a care assistant there, was convicted of the rape and sentenced in July 2020 to 11 years in prison, with the final year suspended. A HSE safeguarding review and a separate NIRP review, reported in July 2023, found that up to 21 residents may have been affected by physical and sexual abuse. The NIRP review said it was highly likely Adeniji assaulted other residents, though this was not proven beyond reasonable doubt, and Gardaí indicated further prosecutions are highly unlikely.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In courtnot reported
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced19 Jul
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
Emmanuel Adeniji, a care assistant, was convicted of raping a 73-year-old woman.
Where
The nursing home is HSE-run and located in Kildare.
When
The rape was committed on 3 April 2020.
Other details
Adeniji is a Nigerian man who worked as a care assistant in the nursing home.
Investigation
  • A HSE safeguarding review found that up to 21 residents may have been affected by physical and sexual abuse.
  • The NIRP review said it was highly likely that Adeniji assaulted other residents, though this was not proven beyond reasonable doubt.
  • The separate safeguarding review found that nine other residents had alleged reportable sexual assault by Adeniji, but none had been followed up.
  • Gardaí indicated that further prosecutions are highly unlikely.
Sentence
Adeniji was sentenced to 11 years in prison, with the final year suspended, in July 2020.
9 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatEmmanuel Adeniji, a care assistant, was convicted of raping a 73-year-old woman. (gript.ie)
  • whereThe nursing home is HSE-run and located in Kildare. (gript.ie)
  • whenThe rape was committed on 3 April 2020. (gript.ie)
  • investigationA HSE safeguarding review found that up to 21 residents may have been affected by physical and sexual abuse. (gript.ie)
  • investigationThe NIRP review said it was highly likely that Adeniji assaulted other residents, though this was not proven beyond reasonable doubt. (gript.ie)
  • investigationThe separate safeguarding review found that nine other residents had alleged reportable sexual assault by Adeniji, but none had been followed up. (gript.ie)
  • investigationGardaí indicated that further prosecutions are highly unlikely. (gript.ie)
  • sentenceAdeniji was sentenced to 11 years in prison, with the final year suspended, in July 2020. (gript.ie)
  • otherAdeniji worked as a care assistant in the nursing home. (gript.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 19 Jul2023
    "Highly likely" Nigerian who raped elderly woman also assaulted other nursing home resident - Gript

    Adds the HSE safeguarding and NIRP review findings: up to 21 residents may have been affected, nine residents had alleged sexual assault that was not followed up, and Gardaí said further prosecutions are highly unlikely.

    convicted, Emmanuel Adeniji, male, Nigerian, named, non-irishEmmanuel Adenijivictim, 73, female