Case No. 7374Aggravated burglary; violent disorder; criminal damage; false imprisonment; assault causing harm; arson; causing unnecessary suffering to an animal · Co. Roscommon · 16 Dec 2018

High Court refuses inquiry into detention of man convicted over Roscommon farmhouse attack

On 16 December 2018 an attack on security guards took place at a repossessed farmhouse at Falsk, Strokestown, Co Roscommon. Martin O'Toole, a 59-year-old Co Mayo farmer also known as Martin Thomas, was one of three men found guilty by a jury at the Circuit Criminal Court after a three-month trial in 2023, and Judge Martina Baxter sentenced him to a total of 15 years in prison. He has rejected any wrongdoing. On 12 October 2023 Mr Justice Mark Sanfey dismissed a High Court bid for an Article 40 inquiry into his ongoing detention in Castlerea Prison, saying the complaints were largely matters for appeal, and this refusal is the latest development.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In courtnot reported
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced12 Oct
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
Where
The attack took place at a repossessed farmhouse at Falsk, Strokestown, Co Roscommon.
When
The incident happened on 16 December 2018.
What happened
  • The attack was on security guards at the property.
  • The property was the scene of a controversial repossession by KBC bank agents.
Other details
  • The named victims were Ian Gordon, Mark Rissen, John Graham and Gary McCourtney.
  • Martin O'Toole has rejected any wrongdoing.
Charges
  • Charges included aggravated burglary, violent disorder and criminal damage to a door of a house.
  • Charges included false imprisonment and assault causing harm to four men.
  • Charges included arson in relation to three vans and causing unnecessary suffering to an animal.
In court
  • Three men were found guilty by a jury at the Circuit Criminal Court after a three-month trial in 2023, and a fourth man was acquitted.
  • On 12 October 2023 the High Court, in a ruling by Mr Justice Mark Sanfey, refused to direct an Article 40 inquiry into the ongoing detention of Martin O'Toole in Castlerea Prison.
  • The judge refused the application as a collateral attack on the verdict, hearing and sentence.
  • The judge said an appeal was a clear remedy for many of the complaints.
Sentence
Martin O'Toole, also known as Martin Thomas, was sentenced to a total of 15 years in prison by Judge Martina Baxter.
14 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatThe property was the scene of a controversial repossession by KBC bank agents. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe attack took place at a repossessed farmhouse in Roscommon. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe incident at Falsk, Strokestown happened on 16 December 2018. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeCharges included aggravated burglary, violent disorder and criminal damage to a door of a house. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeCharges included false imprisonment and assault causing harm to four men. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeCharges included arson in relation to three vans and causing unnecessary suffering to an animal. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe High Court dismissed a bid for an inquiry into the ongoing detention of one of three men convicted. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe High Court ruling was delivered on Thursday. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThree men were found guilty by a jury at the Circuit Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtA fourth man was acquitted of the charges. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe judge refused the application as a collateral attack on the verdict, hearing and sentence. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe judge said an appeal was a clear remedy for many of the complaints. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceMartin O’Toole was sentenced to a total of 15 years in prison. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherMartin O’Toole has rejected any wrongdoing. (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 12 Oct2023
    Court rejects inquiry into detention of man convicted of offences at Roscommon farmhouse

    Reports the High Court ruling refusing an inquiry into the detention of Martin O’Toole, who was sentenced to 15 years after a jury conviction. It adds the court's reasoning that the complaints were matters for appeal. It does not report the original incident in detail.

    convicted, Martin O'Toole, 59, male, named, irish (judged from name)Martin O'Tooleconvicted, PJ Sweeney, 44, named, irish (judged from name)PJ Sweeneyconvicted, Paul Beirne, 56, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Beirnevictim, Ian Gordon, irish (judged from name)Ian Gordonvictim, Mark RissenMark Rissenvictim, John Graham, irish (judged from name)John Grahamvictim, Gary McCourtney, irish (judged from name)Gary McCourtney