Case No. 3239Provisional liquidation (corporate insolvency) · Co. Dublin · 27 Apr 2026

High Court appoints provisional liquidators to 13 Torca Homes construction companies

Judge Marguerite Bolger at the High Court appointed Nicholas O'Dwyer and John Boland of Grant Thornton as provisional liquidators to 13 insolvent construction companies in the Torca Homes group, with the matter to return in June. The 20-company group, founded in 2012, faced insolvency after contractor failures, a €15 million bonding obligation, and a construction built in the wrong location in Carrickmines.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court27 Apr
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
10 statements extracted from the articles
  • courtThe High Court appointed provisional liquidators to 13 construction companies. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe judge approved the appointment and said the matter could come back in June. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherTwenty individual companies in the Torca Homes group are insolvent. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThirteen companies applied for provisional liquidators while seven will go into voluntary liquidation. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherBetween 2019 and 2021 the group acquired various sites from credit institutions and entered agreements with the social housing body Respond. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe 10 per cent performance bond requirement grew to €15 million as the group expanded. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherMain contractor Blacklough Construction went into liquidation in 2023, along with two other contractors at about the same time. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherA contractor built a construction in Carrickmines in the wrong location. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe group entered a phased payment agreement with Revenue and made a number of employees redundant. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherThe 13 companies are Cavernbell Ltd, Bloom Capital Ltd, Torca Developments Ltd, Torca Construction Ltd, Torbuild Ltd, Hallglen Ltd, Craterside Ltd, Coastdawn Ltd, Hailview Ltd, Kentdale Ltd, Rothmount Ltd, Teabrook Ltd and Wildeborn Ltd. (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 27 Apr2026
    High Court appoints provisional liquidators to 13 construction companies

    Details the insolvency of the 20-company Torca Homes group, the appointment of Grant Thornton as provisional liquidators to 13 companies, and the causes including contractor liquidations, a €15 million performance bond, and a mislocated construction in Carrickmines.