Case No. 2588Money laundering, theft (Social Welfare payments), breach of Social Welfare Act · Co. Louth

Hannah O'Connor remanded on bail over money laundering charges linked to Drogheda crime gang

Hannah O'Connor, 26, appeared at Drogheda District Court on 9 January 2025, charged with two counts of money laundering via PTSB and Revolut bank accounts, breaching the Social Welfare Consolidation Act, and theft of €49,000 in Social Welfare payments, all linked to organised crime in Drogheda under Operation Stratus. She was remanded on continuing bail for a Book of Evidence to be served in February.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court9 Jan
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
9 statements extracted from the articles
  • investigationAll 13 have been targeted as part of Operation Stratus, set up in 2018 targeting organised criminal activity in the Co Louth area. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeShe is charged with two counts of money laundering via a PTSB bank account between March 22, 2019 and November 24, 2022. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeShe is charged with money laundering via a Revolut account between June 15, 2020 and December 5, 2022. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeThe money laundering offences are contrary to Section 7 of the Criminal Justice (Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing Act 2010). (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeShe is charged with breaching Section 251(1) of the Social Welfare Consolidation Act 2005. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeShe is charged with theft of Social Welfare payments amounting to €49,000 from the Minister of Social Protection. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe DPP directed the accused be sent forward to the circuit court for sentencing on a signed guilty plea should that arise. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtLegal aid was granted to defence solicitor Michael Finucane. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtShe was remanded on continuing bail to appear before the court again in February for service of the Book of Evidence. (irishmirror.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 9 Jan2025
    Update on woman charged with offences linked to Drogheda crime gang

    First court appearance for O'Connor; DPP directed trial on indictment in the circuit court; she is the 13th person charged with money laundering offences connected to the Drogheda feud under Operation Stratus.

    accused, Hannah O'Connor, 26, female, named, irish (judged from name)Hannah O'Connor