Case No. 7474Attempted murder · Co. Dublin · 2 Sep 2016

Gunman jailed for 22 years over Dublin shootings

On 2 September 2016, John Hutch, a 63-year-old man, was shot at in his back garden at his home on North Circular Road, Dublin 7; Hutch has since died. Michael Carroll, a 43-year-old man, was originally charged with attempting to murder Hutch. On 26 March 2017 in Dublin 1, Carroll was charged with twice attempting to murder Edward Staunton, a 25-year-old man, who was admitted to intensive care. Carroll pleaded guilty to possessing a firearm with intent to endanger life and to attempting to murder Staunton at Railway Street, and on Monday, as reported on 2 October 2023, the Special Criminal Court jailed him for 22 years for the two offences.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In courtnot reported
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced2 Oct
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • Michael Carroll was jailed for 22 years by the Special Criminal Court.
  • Carroll fired several shots at John Hutch, who was 63 and has since died, as Hutch ran through his back garden.
  • Carroll drove a car at Edward Staunton, knocking him into the air, then shot him twice as he lay on the ground; Staunton was admitted to intensive care.
Where
The shooting at Hutch's home took place at Drumalee Avenue, North Circular Road, Dublin 7.
When
  • The shooting at Hutch's home took place on 2 September 2016.
  • Carroll was charged with twice attempting to murder Staunton on the night of 26 March 2017 at James Joyce Street and at Peadar Kearney House, Railway Street, Dublin 1.
Weapon
Sources differ on the weapons: the key facts say Carroll was armed with a pistol and a revolver, while the Irish Times article says he emptied a revolver at Hutch.
Charges
Carroll pleaded guilty to possessing a firearm with intent to endanger life and to the attempted murder of Staunton at Railway Street on 26 March 2017.
In court
The sentence was passed by Mr Justice Tony Hunt, sitting with Judge Elma Sheahan and Judge Alan Mitchell, in the non-jury Special Criminal Court.
Sentence
  • The final sentence was 22 years for the two offences, with the last two years and six months of the adjusted 14-year sentence suspended.
  • The judge said the firearms offence carried a presumptive minimum sentence of 10 years.
Other details
  • Carroll has 58 previous convictions, including robbery, theft, drug offences and possession of knives.
  • Carroll was extradited from the UK.
  • Gardaí were told Carroll wanted to ingratiate himself with the Kinahan/Byrne faction; the Irish Times article describes this as the Kinahan cartel.
17 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatMichael Carroll was jailed for 22 years by the Special Criminal Court. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatCarroll fired several shots at Hutch as he ran through his back garden. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatCarroll drove a car at Staunton, knocking him into the air, then shot him twice as he lay on the ground. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe shooting at John Hutch's home took place on the North Circular Road, Dublin 7. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereCarroll was charged with twice attempting to murder Edward Staunton on the night of 26 March 2017 at James Joyce Street, Dublin 1, and at Peadar Kearney House, Railway Street, Dublin 1. (irishtimes.com)
  • whenThe shooting at John Hutch's home took place on 2 September 2016. (irishtimes.com)
  • weaponCarroll was armed with a pistol and a revolver during the shooting at Hutch's residence. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeCarroll pleaded guilty to possessing a firearm with intent to endanger life. (irishtimes.com)
  • chargeCarroll pleaded guilty to the attempted murder of Staunton at Railway Street on 26 March 2017. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe sentence was passed by Mr Justice Tony Hunt, sitting with Judge Elma Sheahan and Judge Alan Mitchell. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceThe final sentence was 22 years for the two offences, with the last two years and six months of the adjusted 14-year sentence suspended. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceThe judge said the firearms offence carried a presumptive minimum sentence of 10 years. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherStaunton was admitted to intensive care after the shooting. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherCarroll had 58 previous convictions. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherCarroll was extradited from the UK. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherGardaí were told Carroll wanted to ingratiate himself with the Kinahan/Byrne faction. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherCarroll was believed to be under pressure to repay a significant drug debt. (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 2 Oct2023
    ‘Ruthless’ gunman who shot at Gerard Hutch’s brother jailed for 22 years

    Reports the Special Criminal Court sentence of 22 years, the guilty pleas, the sentencing reasoning, and details of the 2017 attack on Edward Staunton. No existing case matches.

    convicted, Michael Carroll, 43, male, named, irish (judged from name)Michael Carrollvictim, John Hutch, 63, male, irish (judged from name)John Hutchvictim, Edward Staunton, 25, male, irish (judged from name)Edward Staunton