Case No. 5861Fraud (false personal injury insurance claims) · Co. Dublin

Grandmother jailed over €28,000 in false trip-and-slip insurance claims in Clondalkin

Winnifred Lawrence (74), a woman, made six personal injury claims under the false name Margaret Mongan between September 2012 and May 2014 from her home in Clondalkin, Dublin 22. Compensation totalling €28,310 was paid on the first three claims. Gardaí began an investigation after an anti-fraud specialist working for IPB contacted them, and Lawrence was arrested in 2019, when her home was searched under warrant, and interviewed four times, during which she denied the allegations. She pleaded guilty to three counts of making a gain for herself or causing a loss to another by deception, and was sentenced to three and a half years with the final 18 months suspended, as reported on 16 May 2024.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In courtnot reported
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced16 May
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • Winnifred Lawrence, a woman aged 74, made personal injury claims under the false name Margaret Mongan on six occasions.
  • Insurance companies paid compensation totalling €28,310 on the first three claims, and Lawrence received a net sum of €23,185.50 after legal expenses.
Where
Lawrence lives at Moorefield Grove, Clondalkin, Dublin 22, where her home was searched under warrant in 2019.
When
The claims were made between September 2012 and May 2014.
Cause
All six claims were processed by the same solicitor.
Investigation
  • The garda investigation began after an anti-fraud specialist working for IPB contacted gardaí.
  • Lawrence was arrested in 2019 and interviewed four times, during which she denied the allegations.
Charges
Lawrence pleaded guilty to three counts of making a gain for herself or causing a loss to another by deception.
In court
Judge Codd said there had to be general deterrence for this type of offence.
Sentence
Lawrence was sentenced to three and a half years, with the final 18 months suspended, as reported on 16 May 2024.
Other details
Lawrence has three previous convictions, including one for a similar offence for which she received a three-year suspended sentence in 2019.
11 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatWinnifred Lawrence made personal injury claims under the false name Margaret Mongan on six occasions. (dublinlive.ie)
  • whatCompensation totalling €28,310 was paid out on the first three claims. (dublinlive.ie)
  • whereLawrence's home at Moorefield Grove, Clondalkin, Dublin 22 was searched under warrant in 2019. (dublinlive.ie)
  • whenThe claims were made between September 2012 and May 2014. (dublinlive.ie)
  • causeThe six claims were all processed by the same solicitor. (dublinlive.ie)
  • investigationLawrence was arrested in 2019 and interviewed four times, during which she denied the allegations. (dublinlive.ie)
  • investigationThe garda investigation began after an anti-fraud specialist working for IPB contacted gardaí. (dublinlive.ie)
  • chargeLawrence pleaded guilty to three counts of making a gain for herself or causing a loss to another by deception. (dublinlive.ie)
  • courtJudge Codd said there had to be general deterrence for this type of offence. (dublinlive.ie)
  • sentenceLawrence was sentenced to three and a half years, with the final 18 months suspended. (dublinlive.ie)
  • otherLawrence has three previous convictions, including a similar offence for which she received a three-year suspended sentence in 2019. (dublinlive.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 16 May2024
    Grandmother, 74, jailed over €28,000 false 'trip and slip' insurance claims

    Sentencing report from Dublin Live. Adds the sentence, the plea, the amounts paid out, Judge Codd's remarks, the investigation history and the defendant's previous conviction. No existing case matched.

    convicted, Winnifred Lawrence, 74, female, named, irish (judged from name)Winnifred Lawrence