Gerry Hutch acquitted of murder at Regency Hotel in Dublin
David Byrne, a 33-year-old man, was shot dead by men dressed in tactical gear and disguised as gardai at the Regency Hotel in Dublin during a boxing weigh-in on 5 February 2016. Gerard Hutch, a 60-year-old man, was extradited from Spain in 2021 and tried over 52 days at the Special Criminal Court on a murder charge. On 17 April 2023, the three-judge court acquitted Hutch, finding the key prosecution witness Jonathan Dowdall unreliable and a liar, while convicting co-accused Paul Murphy and Jason Bonney of lesser charges of providing vehicles to a criminal organisation. The court found beyond reasonable doubt that members of the Hutch family, acting as an organised crime group, were responsible for the attack, but the evidence did not prove Hutch was one of the shooters.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court12 Apr
2 reports - Acquitted17 Apr
19 reports - Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- David Byrne was shot dead by men dressed in tactical gear and disguised as gardai at the Regency Hotel during a boxing weigh-in.
- Where
- The murder took place at the Regency Hotel in Whitehall, north Dublin.
- When
- The shooting occurred at 2.32pm on 5 February 2016.
- Weapon
- Three AK-47 rifles, seized from IRA man Shane Rowan, were used in the attack, with two used in the shooting of Byrne.
- Charges
- Gerard Hutch was charged with the murder of David Byrne; Jonathan Dowdall pleaded guilty to facilitating the murder; Paul Murphy and Jason Bonney were charged with providing vehicles to a criminal organisation.
- In court
- The trial ran for 52 days before the Special Criminal Court, a three-judge non-jury panel.
- The court found the key prosecution witness Jonathan Dowdall unreliable and a liar, and that the evidence did not prove beyond reasonable doubt that Hutch was one of the shooters.
- The court found beyond reasonable doubt that members of the Hutch family, acting as an organised crime group, were responsible for the attack and the murder.
- Sentence
- Gerard Hutch was acquitted of the murder of David Byrne on 17 April 2023.
- Paul Murphy and Jason Bonney were found guilty of providing vehicles to a criminal organisation and are due to be sentenced on 8 May 2023.
- Investigation
- The Garda investigation into the Regency attack and the Hutch organised crime group remains ongoing, with Commissioner Drew Harris set to meet the Director of Public Prosecutions.
- Other details
- Hutch had been in custody since August 2021, first in Spain and then in Ireland after extradition, and was released from Wheatfield Prison after the verdict.
188 statements extracted from the articles
- whatGerry Hutch turned 60 that week. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatDavid Byrne, 34, was shot dead by two men dressed in tactical gear and disguised as gardai at 2.32pm on 5 February 2016. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatHutch talked about the movement of three AK-47 rifles used in the Regency shooting, which were seized from IRA man Shane Rowan. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatDowdall claimed Gerry Hutch met him on Richmond Road on 4 February, the day before the shooting, and was handed a room card by his father Patrick. (dublinlive.ie)
- whatGerard Hutch was acquitted of the murder of David Byrne at the Regency Hotel. (irishtimes.com)
- whatGerard Hutch was acquitted on Monday of the 2016 Regency Hotel murder of David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- whatGerry Hutch was found not guilty of murdering David Byrne. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatDavid Byrne was shot dead in the foyer of the Regency Hotel during a boxing weigh-in. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatHutch was cleared of the murder of David Byrne. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatGerard Hutch was acquitted of the 2016 Regency Hotel murder of David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- whatGerry "The Monk" Hutch was acquitted of the murder of David Byrne. (dublinlive.ie)
- whereThe murder of David Byrne took place at the Regency Hotel in Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- whereDavid Byrne was shot dead at the Regency Hotel. (rte.ie)
- whereThe killing took place at the Regency Hotel in Dublin at a boxing event. (gript.ie)
- whereThe murder was at the Regency Hotel. (extra.ie, dublinlive.ie)
- whereHutch left the Criminal Courts of Justice in Dublin through the front door. (irishtimes.com)
- whereAfter leaving court, Hutch walked briskly up Infirmary Road. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe Regency Hotel attack took place at the Regency Hotel in Whitehall, Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe shooting took place at the Regency Hotel in north Dublin. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereHutch walked out of the Criminal Courts of Justice after the verdict. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe Regency Hotel attack took place in north Dublin. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe killing took place during a boxing weigh-in on February 5th, 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- whenDavid Byrne was shot dead on 5 February 2016. (rte.ie)
- whenThe live report was published on Monday 17 April 2023. (rte.ie)
- whenThe shooting happened on 5 February 2016. (gript.ie)
- whenDavid Byrne was shot during a boxing weigh-in on 5 February 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- whenByrne was shot in the Regency Hotel on February 5th, 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- whenHutch was acquitted just minutes before he left the court on Monday. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe killing happened during a boxing weigh-in on 5 February 2016. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe murder of David Byrne took place at the Regency Hotel on February 5, 2016. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe Regency Hotel attack took place in 2016. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe murder happened over seven years before the article. (dublinlive.ie)
- causeByrne was shot dead in the reception area of the hotel by one of a gang of armed men. (gript.ie)
- causeThe court was satisfied that members of the Hutch family, acting as an organised crime group, were responsible for the attack and the murder. (irishtimes.com)
- weaponThe court held that three AK47 rifles found in Shane Rowan's car were used in the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- weaponThe State alleged the gunmen were armed with AK47s. (irishtimes.com)
- weaponThe court found three AK-47 rifles were used in the Regency attack, two of them in the shooting of David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- weaponThe attack involved five gunmen, three dressed in mock Garda uniforms and armed with AK47s. (irishtimes.com)
- weaponHutch was in control of the AK47s used by the gunmen, according to the court. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe recording was made by the National Surveillance Unit (NSU). (dublinlive.ie)
- investigationA ballistics expert concluded the weapons seized from Rowan were the same guns used in the Regency attack. (dublinlive.ie)
- investigationHutch remains under Garda investigation over allegations that he directed an organised crime gang. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe inquiry is also examining whether Hutch was tipped off from inside the Garda about a European arrest warrant issued for him in 2021. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationDetectives from the National Bureau of Criminal Investigation arrested and interviewed Hutch while he was in custody awaiting trial for Byrne's killing. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationGarda Headquarters said the investigation of the Regency attack was ongoing. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationGardaí said the investigation into the Regency Hotel events remains live and continuing. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationGardaí said they are continuing their investigation into the murder and events at the Regency Hotel. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationInvestigators remain convinced that individuals with information have not contacted gardaí. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationGardaí appealed to anyone with information to contact them in confidence. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe writer says the garda investigation shows others may face charges. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationHutch remains a person of interest in the continuing investigation into suspected links between gardaí and the Hutch gang. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationGardaí searched Patsy Hutch's home as part of the investigation into the Regency Hotel attack. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe State's case largely depended on testimony from Jonathan Dowdall. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe Garda Commissioner said the Hutch gang remains under investigation. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThe Commissioner is to meet the Director of Public Prosecutions to discuss the case. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationGardaí launched an investigation into a GSOC officer alleged to have attended a party with Hutch. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationHarris said the investigation was continuing and other charges could be brought against the Hutch gang. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe Hutch Organised Crime Group remains under investigation. (dublinlive.ie)
- investigationHarris will meet the Director of Public Prosecutions about the matter. (dublinlive.ie)
- chargeThe State alleges Hutch was one of the two men dressed in tactical gear, based on an alleged confession to Dowdall in Ellenfield Park, Whitehall, Dublin. (dublinlive.ie)
- chargeGerard Hutch denies the murder of David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- chargePaul Murphy and Jason Bonney denied lesser charges of facilitating the murder by making vehicles available to a criminal organisation. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe prosecution contended that Gerard Hutch was one of two men who shot David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeGerard Hutch had pleaded not guilty to the charge. (rte.ie)
- chargeJonathan Dowdall pleaded guilty to facilitating the murder by booking a hotel room used in connection with the incident. (gript.ie)
- chargePaul Murphy and Jason Bonney were convicted of facilitating the attack by making vehicles available to a criminal organisation. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeJonathan Dowdall's murder charge was dropped after he pleaded guilty to a lesser charge of facilitating the murder in September 2022. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeHutch denied the murder charge. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeJason Bonney and Paul Murphy were found guilty of facilitating the murder by acting as getaway drivers. (irishtimes.com)
- chargePaul Murphy and Jason Bonney were found guilty of providing a motor vehicle to a criminal organisation. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeJason Bonney and Paul Murphy were found guilty of providing a motor vehicle to a criminal organisation. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeMurphy and Bonney had been convicted of assisting the Hutch gang in carrying out the Regency Hotel hit. (dublinlive.ie)
- chargeMurphy was found guilty of driving a member of the hit team away from St Vincent's GAA ground in his taxi. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeBonney was found guilty of driving Kevin "Flat Cap" Murray away from the same grounds. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeMurphy and Bonney had been convicted of assisting the Hutch gang in the Regency attack. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeThe prosecution proceeded only with the murder charge against Hutch. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeCharges of organised crime group involvement and firearms possession could have been added but were not. (irishtimes.com)
- chargePatsy Hutch faces no charges. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeHutch was not charged with firearms offences or other gang-related crimes connected with the Regency attack, instead of a murder charge. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeHutch did not face charges other than murder. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtThe judges are Ms Justice Tara Burns, Judges Grainne Malone and Sarah Berkeley. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtGrehan cross-examined Dowdall over five days. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtGerry Hutch never once took the stand during the trial. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court will deliver its judgment on Monday on the trial of Gerard Hutch for the murder of David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe three-judge, non-jury court deferred judgment on January 26th after the proceedings ended following 52 days. (irishtimes.com)
- courtArmed gardaí were present inside and outside the Criminal Courts of Justice for the duration of the trial. (irishtimes.com)
- courtMs Justice Tara Burns, Judge Sarah Berkeley and Judge Gráinne Malone are to give the decision. (irishtimes.com)
- courtDefence counsel argued at the close of the case that there was no evidence to support the murder charge against Mr Hutch. (irishtimes.com)
- courtGerard Hutch was found not guilty of the murder of David Byrne. (rte.ie)
- courtThe verdict was delivered by three judges at the Special Criminal Court. (rte.ie)
- courtThe prosecution claimed Gerard Hutch was one of two gunmen disguised in fake Garda tactical uniforms. (rte.ie)
- courtThe court said it was not prepared to act on the main witness's statement alone and required corroborative evidence. (rte.ie)
- courtGerard 'The Monk' Hutch was found not guilty of the Regency murder. (rte.ie)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court delivered a verdict of not guilty in the murder case against Gerard Hutch. (gript.ie)
- courtThe court said it was satisfied that Hutch was in control of and had possession of guns used in the killing. (gript.ie)
- courtThe evidence did not prove beyond reasonable doubt that Hutch was the killer. (gript.ie)
- courtThe prosecution had failed to prove its case against Gerard Hutch, and a not guilty verdict was returned. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial of Gerard Hutch and two co-accused ran for 52 days. (irishtimes.com)
- courtGerard Hutch was acquitted of murdering David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial ended on January 26th. (irishtimes.com)
- courtSeveral lawyers believed the prosecution had failed to prove beyond reasonable doubt that Hutch was one of the two armed men. (irishtimes.com)
- courtHutch took his case to the Supreme Court in an unsuccessful bid for a jury trial. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court ruled that accomplice evidence could not be relied on unless it was corroborated. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe audio recordings of Dowdall and Hutch did not provide the necessary corroboration to convict Hutch. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court found adequate evidence, including CCTV, to convict two co-accused on lesser charges. (irishtimes.com)
- courtGerry Hutch was found not guilty of the murder of David Byrne. (extra.ie)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court found Hutch not guilty of the murder of David Byrne at the Regency Hotel. (irishtimes.com)
- courtMs Justice Tara Burns delivered the verdict with judges Sarah Berkeley and Gráinne Malone. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe adjacent courtroom was used as an overflow court with proceedings broadcast live. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court said the case against Hutch was one of participation in the murder rather than common design. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court concluded that the key prosecution witness, Jonathan Dowdall, was a proven liar. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court found no evidence to incriminate Hutch of being one of the shooters on the day. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court believed the Hutch faction was behind the attack. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court found that the key State witness, Jonathan Dowdall, was not credible. (irishtimes.com)
- courtPaul Murphy and Jason Bonney were found guilty of lesser charges of aiding the Regency gang by acting as drivers on the day. (irishtimes.com)
- courtHutch has applied for his legal costs, expected to be a substantial six-figure sum. (irishtimes.com)
- courtA judge at the Special Criminal Court returned the not guilty verdict shortly after 3.30pm. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court delivered its verdicts on April 17, 2023. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtGerry 'The Monk' Hutch was found not guilty of David Byrne's murder. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThree judges found there was no clear evidence that Hutch was one of the shooters. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtHutch was found not guilty of the murder of David Byrne at the Regency Hotel. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtThe verdict was delivered by Ms Justice Tara Burns. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtMurphy was found guilty of driving a member of the hit team away from the grounds after the attack. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtBonney was found guilty of driving Kevin Murray away from the same grounds. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtHutch had been tried over 52 days, being brought to court from Wheatfield Prison. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtHutch was found not guilty of the murder of David Byrne. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtMs Justice Tara Burns delivered the not guilty verdict. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtHutch had been tried over 52 days before the verdict, with the verdict on the 53rd day. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe verdict of not guilty was given by Ms Justice Tara Burns. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe murder trial lasted 13 weeks. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe judge said Hutch likely possessed the firearms used in the attack. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe judge agreed with the defence that the evidence was not tantamount to murder. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe evidence did not prove Hutch was physically in the Regency Hotel that day. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe judges disregarded Dowdall's evidence as untrustworthy. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe State made a massive effort to extradite and charge Hutch with the murder. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe court found Gerard Hutch had control of the rifles at least on March 7th. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court found members of the Hutch family, acting as an organised crime group, were responsible for the Regency attack and the murder of Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court found the prosecution had not proven that Hutch was present at the Regency or shot Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court said it could not accept Dowdall's evidence without independent corroboration. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court acquitted Gerard Hutch of the murder of David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court said a reasonable possibility arose that Patsy Hutch planned the Regency attack. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe court found beyond reasonable doubt that members of the Hutch family were responsible for the attack and the murder of David Byrne. (irishtimes.com)
- courtGerard Hutch was acquitted by the Special Criminal Court on the Monday before the article was published. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe three-judge court did not believe Dowdall's evidence and concluded he lied. (irishtimes.com)
- courtGerry Hutch was acquitted of the murder of David Byrne at the Regency Hotel. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court found that Hutch could have potentially organised the Regency attack, but evidence could suggest the opposite. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe judge described state witness Jonathan Dowdall as unreliable and a liar. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court acquitted Gerard Hutch. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court judges accepted beyond reasonable doubt that Hutch was in control of the AK47s used by the gunmen after the 2016 attack. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe Special Criminal Court said The Monk could have potentially organised the Regency attack, but evidence could suggest the opposite. (dublinlive.ie)
- courtJustice Tara Burns said state witness and former Sinn Fein councillor Jonathan Dowdall was unreliable and a liar. (dublinlive.ie)
- sentencePaul Murphy, aged 61, was found guilty of providing access to a motor vehicle used during the attack. (gript.ie)
- sentenceJason Bonney, aged 51, was found guilty of providing access to vehicles, assisting in the killing. (gript.ie)
- sentencePaul Murphy and Jason Bonney will be sentenced on 8 May. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceBonney and Murphy will be sentenced at a later date. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceBonney and Murphy are due to be sentenced on May 8. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe court found the audio did not establish Gerard Hutch's presence or participation in the murder. (rte.ie)
- otherThe court was satisfied Gerard Hutch had possession of the guns by 7 March 2016 at least. (rte.ie)
- otherThe article is a live blog titled 'As it happened'. (rte.ie)
- otherThe Special Criminal Court is a non-jury court operating under emergency legislation dating back some 50 years. (irishtimes.com)
- otherLawyers considered Jonathan Dowdall, the main prosecution witness, not credible. (irishtimes.com)
- otherHutch had been in custody since August 2021, first in Spain and then Ireland after extradition. (irishtimes.com)
- otherHutch had been in custody for more than a year before the verdict. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherHutch left Wheatfield Prison in Dublin on the Monday of the verdict and entered the courtroom. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherHutch walked out of the Criminal Courts of Justice a free man. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherHutch left by the front door like every other person in the court. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherMurphy and Bonney were on bail during the verdict. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherThe Byrne family stormed out of the courtroom when Hutch was acquitted. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherThe writer says the evidence against Hutch was quite thin. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherHutch was described as a top target of the Kinahan cartel. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe court noted the evidence had not established that Hutch was in Ireland at the time of the Regency shooting. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe court considered it a reasonable possibility that the attack was planned by Patsy Hutch. (irishtimes.com)
- otherHutch was extradited from Spain only on the murder charge. (irishtimes.com)
- otherPatrick Hutch jnr's charges were dropped in 2019 after a nolle prosequi was entered. (irishtimes.com)
- otherA solicitor views it as unlikely that fresh charges will be brought against Hutch over the Regency attack. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe State has put 24-hour Garda protection in place outside Patsy Hutch's home. (irishtimes.com)
- otherDowdall reserved a room at the hotel that was used by one of the gunmen. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe Regency attack involved at least 12 conspirators. (irishtimes.com)
- otherGarda sources say Dowdall would remain under threat for decades because of the evidence he gave. (irishtimes.com)
- otherGarda sources say using Dowdall as a witness again would only damage future prosecutions. (irishtimes.com)
- otherGardaí say Dowdall's wife and younger children would have to remain under armed Garda protection even if he were relocated abroad. (irishtimes.com)
- otherThe Commissioner would not say why Hutch did not face charges other than murder. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe Commissioner admitted the acquittal was a setback. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe GSOC officer is alleged to have attended a welcome home party for Hutch after his acquittal. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherGarda Commissioner Drew Harris was set to meet the Director of Public Prosecutions, Catherine Pierse, after the acquittal. (irishtimes.com)
- otherHarris said his force would keep pursuing gangs despite the setback of the trial and acquittal. (irishtimes.com)
- otherA GSOC officer is alleged to have attended a welcome-home party for Hutch after his acquittal. (dublinlive.ie)
- otherThe GSOC officer resigned during the week before facing the internal investigation. (dublinlive.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 25 Apr2023'My gang is bigger than their gang' - Garda Commissioner warns Hutch mob
Adds the Garda Commissioner's response to the acquittal: the Hutch gang remains under investigation, he will meet the DPP about further charges, and a GSOC officer is the subject of a probe over an alleged welcome-home party for Hutch.
accused, Gerry "The Monk" Hutch, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry "The Monk" Hutchvictim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrne - 25 Apr2023‘My gang is bigger than their gang’: Harris pledges to pursue organised crime after Regency trial
Harris's response to the acquittal of Gerard Hutch. The article also covers Gsoc, the Garda Representative Association and bullying claims, which are not part of this case. It gives no exact date for the 2016 attack.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerard Hutch, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutch - 25 Apr2023Top garda's warning for Hutch mob: 'My gang is bigger than their gang'
Adds the Garda Commissioner's response to the acquittal, including that the Hutch gang remains under investigation, a planned meeting with the DPP, a GSOC officer probe over an alleged welcome home party, and the Special Criminal Court's findings on the Regency attack and on witness Jonathan Dowdall.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerry "The Monk" Hutch, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry "The Monk" Hutch - 20 Apr2023Jonathan Dowdall now useless as future witness, say gardaí
Garda sources say Jonathan Dowdall is now of no use as a future witness after the court rejected his evidence and found he lied, and that the State must keep providing security for him and his family for years.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerard Hutch, 60, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchconvicted, Jonathan Dowdall, 44, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdall - 18 Apr2023Patsy Hutch: Did the man under 24-hour Garda protection plan the Regency attack?
Feature on Patsy Hutch after the Special Criminal Court judgment in Gerard Hutch's trial. Adds the court's view that Patsy Hutch may have planned the Regency attack, the evidence cited against him, and his 24-hour Garda protection. Patsy Hutch is not charged.
victim, David Byrne, 34, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerard Hutch, 60, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchsuspect, Patsy Hutch, 62, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patsy Hutch - 18 Apr2023Hutch verdict raises questions as to why prosecution proceeded as it did
Analysis of the acquittal: it details the court's findings on the AK-47 rifles, the reliance on Jonathan Dowdall's evidence, and why the prosecution charged only murder, and it reports that new charges are considered unlikely.
accused, Gerard Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchvictim, David Byrne, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Patrick Hutch jnr, 30, named, irish (judged from name)Patrick Hutch jnr - 18 Apr2023'I was in court for the Gerry Hutch verdict - everyone was in a state of shock'
Opinion piece on the Special Criminal Court acquittal of Gerry Hutch. It adds the writer's view that the evidence was thin, the judge's findings on firearms and the defence submission, the disregarding of Dowdall's evidence, and the view that others may face charges.
accused, Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry 'The Monk' Hutchvictim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrne - 18 Apr2023Tight security at trial of the century ends as the Monk walks free from court
Reports the verdict in the trial: Hutch acquitted of murder, while Murphy and Bonney were found guilty of driving members of the hit team away from St Vincent's GAA ground.
accused, Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry 'The Monk' Hutchconvicted, Paul Murphy, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyvictim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrne - 18 Apr2023'Go on Gerry' heard outside court as Gerard 'The Monk' Hutch walks free
Describes the courtroom scene and verdict day, including Hutch leaving court free, the convictions of Murphy and Bonney in the same trial, the length of the trial, and the Byrne family's reaction.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerard 'The Monk' Hutch, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard 'The Monk' Hutchconvicted, Paul Murphy, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonney - 18 Apr2023Gardaí renew appeal for information on Regency shooting after Monk walks free
Adds the Garda statement renewing the appeal after the verdicts, the verdicts on 17 April 2023 (Hutch acquitted; Bonney and Murphy found guilty of providing a vehicle), and Hutch's release from Wheatfield Prison.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch, 60, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry 'The Monk' Hutchconvicted, Jason Bonney, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Paul Murphy, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphy - 18 Apr2023Every update from court as Gerry Hutch found not guilty in Regency murder trial
Reports the Special Criminal Court verdict on 17 April 2023: Hutch acquitted of murder, and Murphy and Bonney convicted of lesser charges relating to providing a vehicle.
victim, David Byrne, 33, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerry 'The Monk' Hutch, 50s, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry 'The Monk' Hutchconvicted, Paul Murphy, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonney - 17 Apr2023Hutch remains under Garda investigation despite Regency-killing acquittal
Adds the Special Criminal Court's reasons for acquitting Hutch, the convictions of Paul Murphy and Jason Bonney on lesser charges, the continuing Garda inquiry into directing an organised crime gang and a tip-off allegation, and the pending costs application.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrnesuspect, Gerard Hutch, 60, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchconvicted, Paul Murphy, 61, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, 50, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonney - 17 Apr2023Hutch maintains monastic silence as he walks free from court
Reports the verdict in the trial: Hutch acquitted after about 60 years of age, having been in custody since August 2021; the court found the key witness Jonathan Dowdall a proven liar; Bonney and Murphy convicted and awaiting sentence.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerard Hutch, 60, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchconvicted, Jason Bonney, 50, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Paul Murphy, 61, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphy - 17 Apr2023Gerry Hutch Found Not Guilty Of Murder Of David Byrne At Regency Hotel
Reports the not guilty verdict on the murder charge against Gerry Hutch. The article body is empty apart from template code, so no other details are available.
accused, Gerry Hutch, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry Hutchvictim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrne - 17 Apr2023Hutch acquittal unlikely to silence critics of non-jury Special Criminal Court
Analysis of the Hutch acquittal and the criticism of the Special Criminal Court; adds the court's reasoning on corroboration of accomplice evidence and the convictions of two co-accused on lesser charges.
victim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerard Hutch, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutch - 17 Apr2023Gerard Hutch not guilty of the murder of David Byrne at Regency Hotel
Reports the verdicts: Gerard Hutch acquitted of murder; Paul Murphy and Jason Bonney convicted of facilitating the attack; Jonathan Dowdall's earlier plea and the court's findings on the Hutch family's role.
accused, Gerard Hutch, 60, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchvictim, David Byrne, 33, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneconvicted, Paul Murphy, 61, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, 50, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Jonathan Dowdall, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdall - 17 Apr2023Breaking News -Special Criminal Court Delivers Not Guilty Verdict in Gerry Hutch Murder Trial - Gript
Gives the verdict reasoning and the outcomes for co-accused Paul Murphy, Jason Bonney and Jonathan Dowdall.
victim, David Byrne, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerard 'The Monk' Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard 'The Monk' Hutchconvicted, Paul Murphy, 61, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyconvicted, Jason Bonney, 51, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyconvicted, Jonathan Dowdall, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdall - 17 Apr2023As it happened: Gerard Hutch found not guilty of murder
Reports the not guilty verdict for Gerard 'The Monk' Hutch in the Regency murder case, in a live blog. The text gives no details beyond the verdict.
accused, Gerard 'The Monk' Hutch, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard 'The Monk' Hutch - 17 Apr2023Gerard Hutch found not guilty of murder of David Byrne
Reports the Special Criminal Court verdict acquitting Gerard Hutch, including the court's reasons for doubting the main witness and the audio evidence.
accused, Gerard 'The Monk' Hutch, 60, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard 'The Monk' Hutchvictim, David Byrne, irish (judged from name)David Byrne - 17 Apr2023Special Criminal Court to give judgment on murder charge against Gerard Hutch
Previews the Special Criminal Court judgment in the trial of Gerard Hutch, after the trial ended on 26 January with 52 days of evidence. It adds that co-accused Paul Murphy and Jason Bonney deny lesser facilitation charges and gives the judges' names and the trial's length.
accused, Gerard Hutch, 60, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerard Hutchaccused, Paul Murphy, 61, male, named, irish (judged from name)Paul Murphyaccused, Jason Bonney, 50, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jason Bonneyvictim, David Byrne, 33, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrne - 12 Apr2023Long-awaited verdict in Gerry Hutch trial only days away as 'The Monk' turns 60
Preview of the upcoming verdict in Gerry Hutch's Regency murder trial, detailing the prosecution evidence (alleged Dowdall confession, NSU recording, CCTV of rifles transferred to Shane Rowan) and the defence cross-examination of Dowdall over five days.
victim, David Byrne, 34, male, irish (judged from name)David Byrneaccused, Gerry Hutch, 60, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gerry Hutchconvicted, Jonathan Dowdall, male, named, irish (judged from name)Jonathan Dowdallsuspect, Kevin 'Flat Cap' Murray, male, named, irish (judged from name)Kevin 'Flat Cap' Murraysuspect, Patsy Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Patsy Hutchsuspect, Mago Gately, male, named, irish (judged from name)Mago Gately