Case No. 22451Fatal shooting (police use of force during attempted armed robbery) · Co. Dublin · 15 May 2009

Gardaí to give evidence anonymously at inquest into 2009 fatal shooting of robber Garett Molloy in Lucan

Senior coroner Myra Cullinane ruled that Gardaí from the National Surveillance Unit involved in the 2009 fatal shooting of armed robber Garett Molloy in Lucan, Dublin, will be allowed to give evidence anonymously at the inquest. The hearing was adjourned to address ongoing disputes over the disclosure and privilege of 94 documents.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court9 Feb
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
17 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatGarett Molloy, 28, from Lower Sheriff Street, Dublin, was fatally wounded. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe incident occurred during an attempted armed robbery of a cash-in-transit vehicle. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatA Group 4 Securicor van had pulled up outside the premises when the incident occurred. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatMolloy was struck by a bullet fired by a plain-clothed garda after he had fired a shot in the air and was threatening to kill a security man. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatAccomplice Keith Murtagh was also wounded in the encounter. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe surveillance included a €7.6 million raid on the Bank of Ireland branch at College Green in February 2009. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe shooting took place outside a Centra store on Foxborough Road, Lucan. (irishtimes.com)
  • weaponMolloy was carrying a sawn-off shotgun. (irishtimes.com)
  • investigationThe gang had been under surveillance for several months by detectives investigating armed cash-in-transit thefts and tiger kidnappings. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtGardaí involved in the fatal shooting will be allowed to give evidence at the inquest anonymously. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe senior coroner for Dublin is Myra Cullinane. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtOnly the coroner, legal representatives and jury will be allowed to see the witnesses. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtGareth Hutch was cleared of charges relating to his role in the attempted robbery. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtA claim of privilege is being made over a total of 94 documents by the various parties. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe hearing was adjourned to fix a date in about two months for an update on document classification. (irishtimes.com)
  • courtThe DPP directed that no prosecutions would arise from a Gsoc report into the fatal shooting, as heard at an earlier inquest hearing in May 2013. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceDerek Hutch received a 16-year prison sentence for his role in the crime. (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 9 Feb2023
    Gardaí involved in fatal shooting of robber to give evidence anonymously at inquest

    Reports on a preliminary inquest hearing at Dublin District Coroner's Court where the coroner permitted anonymous testimony for the gardaí, expressed concern over protracted document disclosure, and adjourned the hearing to fix a date in about two months for a further update on document classification.

    victim, Garett Molloy, 28, male, irish (judged from name)Garett Molloysuspect, Keith Murtagh, male, named, irish (judged from name)Keith Murtaghconvicted, male, irish (judged from name)accused, Gareth Hutch, male, named, irish (judged from name)Gareth Hutchsuspect