Case No. 4780Serious public disorder · Co. Dublin · 23 Nov 2023

Garda update on Dublin City Centre public disorder of 23 November 2023 and persons of interest appeal

A large-scale public disorder incident took place in Dublin City Centre on 23 November 2023, from about 4pm to midnight, across Dublin North Inner and South Inner City, involving alleged riot, violent disorder, arson, criminal damage, assault, theft, harassment and intimidation offences. No victim or suspect is named, and no age, sex or nationality is given in the sources. Gardaí have since arrested 57 people and charged 53, and on 18 November 2024 one person pleaded guilty in the Circuit Court and was remanded in custody for sentence. On 19 November 2024 gardaí published CCTV images of 99 persons of interest, and 14 people have been convicted in the District Court of summary public order offences, with no conviction date given. The latest update says 42 images have been removed from the public gallery and 57 persons of interest remain sought, though that update's stated issue date of 22 October 2024 conflicts with its reference to the 19 November 2024 publication.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Charged1 Nov
  4. In court
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
Where
The disorder took place in Dublin City Centre and spread across Dublin North Inner and South Inner City.
When
The disorder took place on 23 November 2023, from about 4pm to midnight.
What happened
The incident involved alleged riot, violent disorder, arson, criminal damage, assault, theft, public disorder, harassment and intimidation offences.
Other details
  • The damage included 28 vehicles subject to arson or criminal damage, one Luas and three Dublin Buses destroyed by fire, and 66 premises subject to criminal damage.
  • 13 members of An Garda Síochána were injured.
  • Gardaí are not confirming the role of any person of interest, and identification does not mean criminal involvement; one man has left the jurisdiction and a European Arrest Warrant will be sought.
Charges
57 people have been arrested and 53 people have been charged in connection with the disorder to date.
In court
  • One person pleaded guilty in the Circuit Court on 18 November 2024 and was remanded in custody for sentence.
  • Four people are before the Circuit Court awaiting arraignment, four are before the District Court awaiting service of the Book of Evidence, and nine are before the District Courts pending DPP directions on venue for trial.
Sentence
14 people have been convicted in the District Court of summary public order offences related to the riots, with sentences ranging from imprisonment to dismissal under the Probation Act, striking out, and referral for adult caution.
Investigation
  • On 19 November 2024 gardaí published CCTV images of 99 persons of interest on the Garda website to identify them and rule each in or out of the investigation.
  • The latest update says 42 images have been removed from the public gallery after identification or nomination, and 57 persons of interest remain sought.
56 statements extracted from the articles
  • whereThe disorder took place in Dublin City Centre. (garda.ie)
  • whereThe disorder spread across a wide area of Dublin North Inner and South Inner City. (garda.ie)
  • whenThe events under investigation took place on 23 November 2023. (garda.ie)
  • whenThe events took place on 23 November 2023. (garda.ie)
  • whenThe disorder took place on 23 November 2023. (garda.ie)
  • whenThe disorder took place in Dublin city centre on 23 November 2023. (garda.ie)
  • whenThe disorder took place on 23 November 2023, from about 4pm to midnight. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí published CCTV images of 99 persons of interest on the Garda website on 19 November 2024. (garda.ie)
  • investigationThe publication aimed to rule each individual in or out of the investigation. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí have received a very significant public response to the appeal. (garda.ie)
  • investigationImages of 42 persons of interest have been removed from the public gallery overall. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí are validating nominations for the 42 persons of interest whose images were removed. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí are asking the public for information on the remaining 57 persons of interest. (garda.ie)
  • investigationPersons of interest can contact the investigation team at Store Street Garda Station. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí removed a further 4 images from the public gallery after those persons were identified. (garda.ie)
  • investigationIn total 18 persons of interest have been identified and their images removed from the public gallery. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí are asking the public for information or identification of any of the 81 remaining persons of interest. (garda.ie)
  • investigationAnyone who identifies themselves from the published images is asked to contact the investigation team at Store Street Garda Station. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí published CCTV images of 99 persons of interest on 19 November 2024. (garda.ie)
  • investigationThe aim of the publication was to identify the persons of interest and rule each in or out of the criminal investigation. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí received a very significant public response to the appeal. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí removed nine more images from the public gallery because those persons of interest had been identified. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí are asking the public for information or nominations for the remaining persons of interest. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí published CCTV images of 99 persons of interest on the Garda website. (garda.ie)
  • investigationThe purpose of publishing the images was to identify the people so that each could be ruled in or out of the criminal investigation. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí have received a very significant public response to the appeal for information. (garda.ie)
  • investigationFive images have been removed from the public gallery because those persons of interest have been identified. (garda.ie)
  • investigationGardaí are asking the public to provide information or nominate identifications for the remaining 94 persons of interest. (garda.ie)
  • investigationPeople who think they are a person of interest are urged to contact the Store Street investigation team. (garda.ie)
  • investigation57 people have been arrested in connection with the public disorder to date. (garda.ie)
  • investigationAn investigation team of more than 50 Garda members and 8 contract staff is investigating the disorder. (garda.ie)
  • chargeThe incident involved alleged riot, violent disorder, arson, criminal damage, assault, theft, public disorder, harassment and intimidation offences. (garda.ie)
  • charge53 people have been charged with offences in connection with the public disorder to date. (garda.ie)
  • charge134 charge sheets to date have included 46 public order charges. (garda.ie)
  • chargeThe charge sheets include 46 public order offences. (garda.ie)
  • courtOne person entered a guilty plea in the Circuit Court on 18 November 2024 and was remanded in custody for sentence. (garda.ie)
  • courtFour people are before the Circuit Court awaiting arraignment. (garda.ie)
  • courtFour people are before the District Court awaiting service of the Book of Evidence. (garda.ie)
  • courtNine people are before the District Courts pending DPP directions on venue for trial. (garda.ie)
  • sentence14 people have been convicted in the District Court of summary public order offences related to the riots. (garda.ie)
  • sentenceSentences have ranged from imprisonment to dismissal under the Probation Act, striking out, and referral for adult caution. (garda.ie)
  • otherGardaí removed a further 13 images from the public gallery in the last 24 hours. (garda.ie)
  • otherGardaí are not confirming the role of any of these individuals in the events. (garda.ie)
  • otherBeing nominated or identified does not mean a person was involved in criminal activity. (garda.ie)
  • otherIdentification of a person of interest should not be presumed to mean criminal involvement. (garda.ie)
  • otherGardaí are not confirming the role of any of these individuals in the events of 23 November 2023. (garda.ie)
  • otherAnyone who recognises themselves in the published images is asked to contact the Store Street investigation team. (garda.ie)
  • otherThe Store Street investigation team can be reached by phone or email. (garda.ie)
  • otherGardaí are not confirming the role of any of the individuals in the events and say identification does not mean criminal involvement. (garda.ie)
  • otherThe Store Street investigation team can be reached by phone or email, and the public can give confidential information through the Garda Confidential Phone number. (garda.ie)
  • other28 vehicles were subject to arson or criminal damage. (garda.ie)
  • otherOne Luas was destroyed by fire. (garda.ie)
  • otherThree Dublin Buses were destroyed by fire. (garda.ie)
  • other66 premises or places of business were subject to criminal damage. (garda.ie)
  • other13 members of An Garda Síochána were injured. (garda.ie)
  • otherOne man has left the jurisdiction and a European Arrest Warrant will be sought. (garda.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 1 Nov2024
    Update (23) – An Garda Síochána update in advance of 1st Anniversary of Serious Public Disorder, Dublin City Centre, November 23rd, 2023

    Garda update on the 23 November 2023 disorder. Gives arrest, charge and court figures, damage totals, and an appeal to identify 99 persons of interest from CCTV. No named suspects or victims.

  2. 1 Nov2024
    Update (24) – An Garda Síochána update in advance of 1st Anniversary of Serious Public Disorder, Dublin City Centre, November 23rd, 2023

    Update 24 in the Garda series on the first anniversary of the disorder. It reports that 99 CCTV images were published, that 5 people have been identified and removed from the gallery, and that 94 remain. Gardaí say identification does not mean criminal involvement. The article is dated 19/11/2024, although the metadata gives 2024-11-01.

  3. 1 Nov2024
    Update (25) – An Garda Síochána update in advance of 1st Anniversary of Serious Public Disorder, Dublin City Centre, November 23rd, 2023

    Garda update one year after the disorder. Gardaí published CCTV of 99 persons of interest, removed nine images after identification, and say they are not confirming any individual's role. No one is named or charged in this article.

  4. 1 Nov2024
    Update (26) – An Garda Síochána update in advance of 1st Anniversary of Serious Public Disorder, Dublin City Centre, November 23rd, 2023.

    Investigation update on the 23 November 2023 disorder: 18 of 99 persons of interest identified, 81 still sought. Gardaí say identification does not mean criminal involvement.

  5. 1 Nov2024
    Update (28) – An Garda Síochána update in advance of 1st Anniversary of Serious Public Disorder, Dublin City Centre, November 23rd, 2023

    An update on the Garda appeal for information: 13 more images were removed in the last 24 hours, bringing the total to 42, and 57 persons of interest remain. Gardaí say removal from the gallery does not confirm criminal involvement.