Case No. 5533Deception and corruption · Co. Meath

Garda sentenced to three years for corruption and deception in Meath

Joseph Doyle, a 39-year-old serving Garda from Kilcock, Co Kildare, was alleged to have induced bus operators in Co Meath to pay between €20 and €250 for fictitious brake tests, free Article 60 licences, and fictitious charities while acting as PSV Inspector between 2018 and 2020, collecting at least €3,585. He was arrested in April 2021 and charged with 89 offences of deception, corruption and money laundering. His trial opened at Trim Circuit Court on 4 June 2024, and he pleaded guilty to 29 sample charges on the third day. On 4 July 2024, the judge sentenced him to three years in jail, ordered the forfeiture of his Garda employment, and directed an €8,000 payment to victims and two children's charities.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court1 Feb
    4 reports
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced4 Jul
    3 reports
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • Doyle was alleged to have induced bus operators in Co Meath to pay €20 to €250 for fictitious brake tests, free Article 60 licences, and fictitious charities while acting as PSV Inspector.
  • Doyle was alleged to have collected at least €3,585 in cash and cheques from alleged victims.
Where
The offences were committed in Co Meath while Doyle was Acting PSV Inspector based at Navan Garda Station.
When
The offences were committed on various dates between 2018 and 2020.
Cause
Doyle used the 2005 Kentstown bus crash as a justification for additional brake tests and cited a sick child for charity donations.
Investigation
Doyle was arrested in April 2021 as part of an investigation into public service vehicle inspections.
Charges
Doyle was charged with 89 offences of deception, corruption and money laundering.
In court
The trial opened on 4 June 2024 at Trim Circuit Court before Judge John Martin, and Doyle pleaded guilty to 29 sample charges on the third day.
Sentence
  • Doyle was sentenced to three years in jail on 4 July 2024, with concurrent terms for corruption and deception.
  • The judge ordered the forfeiture of Doyle's Garda employment and an €8,000 payment to injured parties and two children's charities.
Other details
  • Doyle was a serving member of An Garda Síochána, suspended on basic pay since his arrest, with no previous convictions.
  • Cheques from alleged victims were made out to Doyle's partner, Rebecca Ralph, and lodged into a bank account.
84 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatDoyle allegedly collected a total of €855 in cheques or cash. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatA serving Garda has gone on trial on 89 charges of deception, corruption and money laundering. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatHe is alleged to have induced people in Co Meath to pay him sums of €20 to €250 for fictitious brake tests, Article 60 licences and fictitious charities. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatHe is alleged to have collected just under €5,000 in cash and cheques from alleged victims. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatHe is alleged to have charged bus drivers for brake tests at a motor yard in Navan. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatJoseph Doyle, 39, is a serving member of An Garda Siochana. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe alleged offences were committed while Doyle was working as Acting Public Service Vehicle Inspector for County Meath. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatIt is alleged Doyle induced named persons to pay sums of €20 to €250 for fictitious brake test fees, Article 60 licences and cash for fictitious charities. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatJoseph Doyle is a serving Garda aged 39 from Kilcock, Co Kildare (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatHe made PSV holders pay for free brake tests (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatHe made PSV holders pay for free Article 60 licences (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatHe was Acting PSV Inspector for Co Meath at the time (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatDoyle charged PSV operators €25 for bogus brake tests, when only one was required. (rte.ie)
  • whatDoyle requested €60 payments for Article 60 school bus licences, which are not subject to a charge. (rte.ie)
  • whatDoyle induced victims into making charitable donations to fictitious causes. (rte.ie)
  • whatJoseph Doyle pleaded guilty to 29 sample charges of deception and corruption. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatDoyle received at least €3,585 through the offences. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatJoseph Doyle, 39, of The Hawthorns, Kilcock, Co Kildare, was jailed for three years on charges of corruption and deception. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatOn the third day of the hearing, Doyle pleaded guilty to 18 sample charges of corruption and 11 sample charges of deception. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatHe was the acting PSV Inspector for Co Meath at the time of the offences. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatIn 2018, Doyle suggested to his superior that buses should undergo a second brake test, citing the Kentstown bus crash of 2005 in which five students died. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatHe induced some bus owners to pay €25 for bogus additional brake test fees and charged some school bus owners €60 for licences which are free. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe alleged extra tests involved the defendant driving the vehicle up and down a laneway. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatHe was the only PSV Inspector in the district, giving him a position of significant authority over bus operators. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatThe scam involved payments of at least €3,585. (irishtimes.com)
  • whatBus operators were also duped into making cash donations on behalf of an allegedly ill schoolgirl and for fictitious charity events. (irishtimes.com)
  • whereThe alleged offences were committed while the accused was Acting PSV Inspector for County Meath. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whereThe sentencing took place at Trim Circuit Court in Co Meath. (rte.ie)
  • whereThe guilty plea was entered at Trim Circuit Court. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe alleged offences were committed on various dates between 2018 and 2020. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe alleged offences took place on various dates between 2018 and 2020. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe offences occurred between 2018 and 2020 (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe offences were committed while Doyle held his role from 2018 to 2020. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe offences were committed between 2018 and 2020. (irishtimes.com)
  • causeIt is alleged that Doyle, as a public service vehicle inspector, induced people in Co Meath to give him money for fictitious brake tests or for charity between 2018 and 2021. (irishmirror.ie)
  • causeThe judge said Doyle's sole motivation was greed, as no explanation for the actions was provided. (rte.ie)
  • causeDoyle used the Kentstown bus crash of 2005 as an excuse for the additional brake tests he charged for. (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe charges follow an investigation into public service vehicle inspections. (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe charges followed an investigation into public service vehicle inspections. (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationDoyle was arrested in April 2021 as part of what was described in court as an enormously complicated investigation. (rte.ie)
  • chargeJoseph Doyle, 38, of Kilcock, Co Kildare, is charged with offences under the Criminal Justice (Corruption) Act 2018. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeDoyle is charged with 111 alleged corruption and money laundering offences. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeDoyle is also charged with money laundering offences. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeDoyle is charged with refusing to allow a Garda to photograph him at a Lucan garda station. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe is charged with money laundering, allegedly lodging cash into a bank account knowing it was the proceeds of crime. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeDoyle is charged in connection with 89 offences of deception, corruption and money laundering. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeDoyle is charged with money laundering, allegedly lodging cash into a bank account knowing it to be the proceeds of crime. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe was charged with 89 offences of deception, corruption and money laundering (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeDoyle was charged with 89 offences of deception, corruption and money laundering committed between 2018 and 2020. (rte.ie)
  • chargeHe had initially faced 89 offences of deception, corruption and money laundering. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe DPP consented to Doyle being sent forward to the circuit court on all 111 charges for trial on indictment. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe trial was listed for Trim Circuit Court. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe trial was given a new date of June 4 by Judge John Martin. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtDoyle was excused from attending the short hearing, which lasted less than 30 seconds. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe trial was adjourned for four months. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtDoyle has been remanded on continuing bail with a condition not to contact any witnesses. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe accused pleaded not guilty to all 89 charges at Trim Circuit Court before a jury and Judge John Martin. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe trial is expected to take three weeks. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe trial opened on Tuesday 4 June 2024 at Trim Circuit Court. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtDoyle pleaded not guilty to all 89 charges before a jury of eight women and four men and Judge John Martin. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtOn day 2 of the trial, on 5 June 2024, the jury had 11 members after one juror was released due to difficulties. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe changed his plea on Day 3 of his trial at Trim Circuit Court (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe entered guilty pleas to 29 deception and corruption charges out of the 89 original charges (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe was remanded on continuing bail (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe is to be sentenced on 4 July 2024 (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHis defence counsel is Kathleen Leader, SC (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe presiding judge is John Martin (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtDoyle pleaded guilty to 29 sample charges on the third day of his trial. (rte.ie)
  • courtDoyle's solicitor said he was making €8,000 available to the court. (rte.ie)
  • courtHe originally went on trial at Trim Circuit Court on 89 charges of deception and corruption. (irishtimes.com)
  • sentenceThe judge handed down three and a half years, with the final six months suspended, for the corruption charges, and three years for the deception charges, to run concurrently. (rte.ie)
  • sentenceThe judge ordered the €8,000 used to reimburse the injured parties, with the balance split between the Laura Lynn and Barretstown childrens' charities. (rte.ie)
  • sentenceThe judge ordered the forfeiture of Doyle's employment with the force forthwith under section 17 of the Corruption Offences Act 2018. (rte.ie)
  • sentenceDoyle was jailed for three years. (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceThe judge ordered €8k to be given to the injured parties and to LauraLynn and Barretstown charities. (irishmirror.ie)
  • sentenceThe judge imposed three years on one corruption charge and a concurrent term of three years and six months on one deception charge, suspending the final six months and marking the other 87 charges as taken into consideration. (irishtimes.com)
  • otherProsecuting counsel said brake testing and Article 60 licences cannot be charged for. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherIt is alleged Doyle collected just over €5,000 in cash and cheques from nearly 33 alleged victims. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherCheques from named payees were made out to Doyle's partner, Rebecca Ralph, and lodged into an account. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherDoyle was suspended on basic pay during the inquiry. (rte.ie)
  • otherDoyle has no previous convictions. (rte.ie)
  • otherDoyle had been suspended from the force on basic pay since his arrest in April 2021. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherThe judge said Doyle's sole motivation was greed. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherDefence said Doyle had €8,000 as compensation for the victims and had been studying to become an electrician since his suspension in 2020. (irishtimes.com)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 4 Jul2024
    Garda jailed for three years on charges of corruption and deception

    Reports the sentencing of Joseph Doyle, who pleaded guilty on the third day of his trial to sample charges out of 89 original charges of corruption and deception committed while acting PSV Inspector for Co Meath. Judge John Martin described the offending as an abuse, exploitation and betrayal of power.

    convicted, Joseph Doyle, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Joseph Doyle
  2. 4 Jul2024
    Jail for garda who used Kentstown bus tragedy to take cash for bogus brake tests

    Reports the sentencing: Doyle pleaded guilty to 29 sample charges after facing 89 original charges, was jailed for three years, and the judge ordered the €8k to be paid to injured parties and two charities.

    convicted, Joseph Doyle, 38, named, irish (judged from name)Joseph Doyle
  3. 4 Jul2024
    Garda who 'betrayed' public's trust jailed for corruption

    Reports the sentencing: three years in jail (three and a half years with the final six months suspended on the corruption charges, three years on the deception charges, concurrent), forfeiture of employment, and an €8,000 payment ordered for victims and two children's charities. Adds the details of the offences and the court's reasoning.

    convicted, Joseph Doyle, 38, male, named, irish (judged from name)Joseph Doylevictim, femalevictim, male
  4. 6 Jun2024
    Garda on trial over deception and corruption dramatically changes plea in court

    Reports that on Day 3 of his trial, Doyle changed his plea from not guilty to guilty on 29 of 89 charges, was remanded on continuing bail, and sentencing was set for 4 July 2024.

    accused, Joseph Doyle, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Joseph Doyle
  5. 5 Jun2024
    Trial of garda accused of corruption hears cheques were 'made out to partner'

    Reports the trial of Joseph Doyle at Trim Circuit Court, which opened on 4 June 2024, with evidence heard on day 2 on 5 June 2024 about cheques made out to his partner.

    accused, Joseph Doyle, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Joseph Doyle
  6. 4 Jun2024
    Garda on trial over 89 charges of deception, corruption and money laundering

    Reports the start of the trial of a serving Garda on 89 charges, including the prosecution's opening account of the alleged brake-test and licence payments and fictitious charity donations, and the not-guilty pleas.

    accused, Joseph Doyle, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Joseph Doylevictim
  7. 1 Feb2024
    Serving Garda facing June trial in connection with 111 corruption charges

    Reports the adjournment of the trial to June 4, the charges (including money laundering and refusing a photograph), and that the alleged offences occurred in Co Meath between 2018 and 2021.

    accused, Joseph Doyle, 38, male, named, irish (judged from name)Joseph Doyle