Case No. 5745Deception, corruption and money laundering · Co. Meath

Garda Joseph Doyle changes plea to guilty on 29 of 89 deception and corruption charges at Trim Circuit Court

Joseph Doyle, 39, of Kilcock, Co Kildare, a serving member of An Garda Siochana, was charged with 89 offences of deception, corruption and money laundering. These are alleged to have been committed while he was Acting Public Service Vehicle Inspector for County Meath, on various dates between 2018 and 2020. His trial opened at Trim Circuit Court on 4 June 2024, where he had pleaded not guilty to all 89 charges. On Day 3, 6 June 2024, he changed his plea to guilty on 29 deception and corruption charges, was remanded on continuing bail, and is due to be sentenced on 4 July 2024.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In court5 Jun
    2 reports
  5. Verdict
  6. Sentenced
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
What happened
  • Joseph Doyle, 39, of Kilcock, Co Kildare, is a serving member of An Garda Siochana.
  • The alleged offences were committed while Doyle was working as Acting Public Service Vehicle Inspector for County Meath.
  • It is alleged he induced named persons to pay €20 to €250 for fictitious brake test fees, Article 60 licences and cash for fictitious charities.
When
The alleged offences took place on various dates between 2018 and 2020 at various locations in Co Meath.
Other details
  • It is alleged he collected just over €5,000 in cash and cheques from nearly 33 alleged victims.
  • Cheques from named payees were made out to Doyle's partner, Rebecca Ralph, and lodged into a bank account.
  • Prosecuting counsel said brake testing and Article 60 licences cannot be charged for.
Investigation
The charges follow an investigation into public service vehicle inspections.
Charges
  • Doyle was charged with 89 offences of deception, corruption and money laundering.
  • The money laundering charge alleges he lodged cash into a bank account knowing it to be the proceeds of crime.
In court
  • The trial opened on 4 June 2024 at Trim Circuit Court before Judge John Martin and a jury.
  • Doyle pleaded not guilty to all 89 charges at the start of the trial; his defence counsel is Kathleen Leader, SC.
  • On Day 3 of the trial, 6 June 2024, he changed his plea to guilty on 29 deception and corruption charges and was remanded on continuing bail.
Sentence
Sentencing is set for 4 July 2024.
25 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatJoseph Doyle, 39, is a serving member of An Garda Siochana. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatThe alleged offences were committed while Doyle was working as Acting Public Service Vehicle Inspector for County Meath. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatIt is alleged Doyle induced named persons to pay sums of €20 to €250 for fictitious brake test fees, Article 60 licences and cash for fictitious charities. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatJoseph Doyle is a serving Garda aged 39 from Kilcock, Co Kildare (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatHe made PSV holders pay for free brake tests (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatHe made PSV holders pay for free Article 60 licences (irishmirror.ie)
  • whatHe was Acting PSV Inspector for Co Meath at the time (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe alleged offences took place on various dates between 2018 and 2020. (irishmirror.ie)
  • whenThe offences occurred between 2018 and 2020 (irishmirror.ie)
  • investigationThe charges follow an investigation into public service vehicle inspections. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeDoyle is charged in connection with 89 offences of deception, corruption and money laundering. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeDoyle is charged with money laundering, allegedly lodging cash into a bank account knowing it to be the proceeds of crime. (irishmirror.ie)
  • chargeHe was charged with 89 offences of deception, corruption and money laundering (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe trial opened on Tuesday 4 June 2024 at Trim Circuit Court. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtDoyle pleaded not guilty to all 89 charges before a jury of eight women and four men and Judge John Martin. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtOn day 2 of the trial, on 5 June 2024, the jury had 11 members after one juror was released due to difficulties. (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe changed his plea on Day 3 of his trial at Trim Circuit Court (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe entered guilty pleas to 29 deception and corruption charges out of the 89 original charges (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe was remanded on continuing bail (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHe is to be sentenced on 4 July 2024 (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtHis defence counsel is Kathleen Leader, SC (irishmirror.ie)
  • courtThe presiding judge is John Martin (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherProsecuting counsel said brake testing and Article 60 licences cannot be charged for. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherIt is alleged Doyle collected just over €5,000 in cash and cheques from nearly 33 alleged victims. (irishmirror.ie)
  • otherCheques from named payees were made out to Doyle's partner, Rebecca Ralph, and lodged into an account. (irishmirror.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 6 Jun2024
    Garda on trial over deception and corruption dramatically changes plea in court

    Reports that on Day 3 of his trial, Doyle changed his plea from not guilty to guilty on 29 of 89 charges, was remanded on continuing bail, and sentencing was set for 4 July 2024.

    accused, Joseph Doyle, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Joseph Doyle
  2. 5 Jun2024
    Trial of garda accused of corruption hears cheques were 'made out to partner'

    Reports the trial of Joseph Doyle at Trim Circuit Court, which opened on 4 June 2024, with evidence heard on day 2 on 5 June 2024 about cheques made out to his partner.

    accused, Joseph Doyle, 39, male, named, irish (judged from name)Joseph Doyle