Case No. 23473Money laundering; fraud · Co. Dublin

Four men sentenced at CCJ Dublin over West African crime gang money laundering and fraud

Four men connected to a West African crime group were sentenced at the Central Criminal Court on 20 December 2022 for their roles in an €800,000 money laundering and fraud operation spanning August 2017 to May 2018. The ringleader received six years, his second-in-command four years, and two money mules received non-custodial sentences.

  1. Reportednot reported
  2. Arrestednot reported
  3. Chargednot reported
  4. In courtnot reported
  5. Verdictnot reported
  6. Sentenced21 Dec
reportedhappened, not reportedlatest stagenot yet

Key facts

consolidated from all reports
20 statements extracted from the articles
  • whatFour men with addresses in the Republic of Ireland were sentenced in relation to a money laundering and fraud operation. (gript.ie)
  • whatMembers of the operation were caught flushing fraudulent documents down the toilet. (gript.ie)
  • whatOlanyian used his bank account to launder money between Ireland and Nigeria. (gript.ie)
  • whatOlanyian exchanged over 200 messages with Boboye discussing various money laundering schemes. (gript.ie)
  • whatOlanyian falsely claimed €3,300 in HAP payments from the state. (gript.ie)
  • whatAduba had €19,965 in his account. (gript.ie)
  • whereHotel staff at the Carlton Hotel in Tyrellstown, west Dublin, alerted gardaí to the suspicious activity. (gript.ie)
  • whereBoboye has an address in Castle Park, Ashbourne, Co Meath. (gript.ie)
  • whereEmmanuel Olanyian, 29, has an address at Liffey Terrace, Lucan, Co Dublin. (gript.ie)
  • whereTaiwo Ajike, 24, has an address at Silverbrook, Mountmellick, Co Laois. (gript.ie)
  • whereOnyebuchi Aduba, 23, has an address at Rochfort Crescent, Lucan, Co Dublin. (gript.ie)
  • chargeBoboye pleaded guilty to committing multiple offences for the benefit of a criminal organisation on dates between August 2017 and May 2018. (gript.ie)
  • courtDetective Garda Sean Sheehan of the Garda National Economic Crime Bureau gave evidence at the Central Criminal Court. (gript.ie)
  • sentenceBoboye was sentenced to six years in jail for his part in the €800,000 fraud with the final year suspended. (gript.ie)
  • sentenceBoboye's sentence was backdated to March 2022 when he was taken into custody. (gript.ie)
  • sentenceOlanyian was sentenced to four years behind bars with the final year suspended. (gript.ie)
  • sentenceAjike received a one year suspended sentence. (gript.ie)
  • otherBoboye had a video of a man being executed by a gunshot wound to the head on his phone. (gript.ie)
  • otherBoboye has nine previous convictions. (gript.ie)
  • otherBoth Ajike and Aduba have no previous convictions. (gript.ie)

The reporting

newest first
  1. 21 Dec2022
    Four Sentenced at CCJ Dublin in relation to West African crime gang - Gript

    Reports the full sentencing details of four men at CCJ Dublin, including the ringleader's phone video of an execution, the second-in-command's HAP fraud, and the money mules' account balances.

    convicted, Junior Boboye, 28, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Junior Boboyeconvicted, Emmanuel Olanyian, 29, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Emmanuel Olanyianconvicted, Taiwo Ajike, 24, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Taiwo Ajikeconvicted, Onyebuchi Aduba, 23, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Onyebuchi Aduba