Four men charged over GNECB Operation Lakefront investigation into statutory body procurement
Four males (one in his 70s and three in their 40s) were arrested and charged on 28 January 2026 in connection with Operation Lakefront, a GNECB investigation into corrupt procurement practices at a statutory body in the east of the country. They are due to appear before Blanchardstown District Court.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Charged28 Jan
- In court28 Jan
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports24 statements extracted from the articles
- whatSeán Ashe is the former chief executive of KWETB (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe four were charged at a Garda Station in the Dublin Region. (garda.ie)
- whereSeán Ashe, 74, is of Turnings, Straffan, Co Kildare (irishtimes.com)
- whereJohn Ashe, 45, is also of Turnings, Straffan (irishtimes.com)
- whereCiaran Downey, 49, is of Mountain View, Naas (irishtimes.com)
- whereRichard Whelan, 42, is of Hawkfield, Newbridge, Co Kildare (irishtimes.com)
- whenFour males were arrested on the morning of 28 January 2026. (garda.ie)
- whenThe investigation was launched in 2018 (irishtimes.com)
- investigationGNECB commenced an investigation in 2018 into a statutory body based in the east of the country. (garda.ie)
- investigationThe investigation was led by the GNECB Anti-Bribery and Corruption Unit and Gardaí from the Kildare Division as part of Operation Lakefront. (garda.ie)
- investigationTen individuals were arrested and questioned in connection with the case. (garda.ie)
- investigationThe investigation was led by GNECB and supported by Kildare Division gardaí (irishtimes.com)
- investigationGNECB members arrested the four men by appointment on Wednesday morning and they were charged at Blanchardstown Garda station (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe DPP directed that 178 charges be brought against four individuals. (garda.ie)
- chargeSeán Ashe is charged under section 8 of the Prevention of Corruption (Amendment) Act 2001 concerning the July 2014 award of a contract to Blessington Community College to Postbrook Ltd T/A Ashten Engineering (irishtimes.com)
- chargeSeán Ashe is also charged concerning the October 2016 award of a contract for works to Youthreach, Athy, to Erris Contracts Ltd (irishtimes.com)
- chargeJohn Ashe faces 48 charges under section 8 of the 2001 Act (irishtimes.com)
- chargeCiaran Downey is charged with stealing a motor car on 19 January 2017 to the value of €2,750, the property of KWETB (irishtimes.com)
- chargeCiaran Downey is also charged with acting with intent to impede the apprehension or prosecution of a person guilty of corruption in office, about 13 February 2019 (irishtimes.com)
- chargeRichard Whelan is charged that as a public official he did an act for the purpose of corruptly obtaining a gift in awarding a contract to Blessington Community College to Postbrook Ltd T/A Ashten Engineering about July 2014 (irishtimes.com)
- courtAll four are scheduled to appear before Blanchardstown District Court at 10:30am. (garda.ie)
- courtAll four were brought before Blanchardstown District Court before Judge Áine Clancy (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe DPP directed a total of 178 charges be brought against the four individuals (irishtimes.com)
- courtAll four accused were remanded on bail with conditions including surrender of passports and undertakings not to leave the jurisdiction without court approval (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 28 Jan2026Four charged with alleged corrupt practices at Kildare and Wicklow Education Training Board
First report of the court appearance; details all four defendants, their specific charges under the Prevention of Corruption Act 2001, the GNECB investigation background, and bail conditions.
accused, Seán Ashe, 74, male, named, irish (judged from name)Seán Asheaccused, John Ashe, 45, male, named, irish (judged from name)John Asheaccused, Ciaran Downey, 49, male, named, irish (judged from name)Ciaran Downeyaccused, Richard Whelan, 42, male, named, irish (judged from name)Richard Whelan - 28 Jan2026Court Appearances – 28th January 2026 – Operation Lakefront: GNECB Investigation into Corrupt Practices in Statutory Body
Reports the arrest and charging of four men under Operation Lakefront, a GNECB Anti-Bribery and Corruption Unit investigation into a statutory body's procurement processes, with 178 charges directed by the DPP.
accused, 70s, maleaccused, 40s, maleaccused, 40s, maleaccused, 40s, male