Former teacher sentenced to five more years for indecent assault of eight boys
A 73-year-old former teacher was convicted at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court of 118 counts of indecent assault against eight boys, with the offences taking place between 1977 and 1984 at a religious-run primary school in Dublin, at his then-home address and in his car. He maintains his innocence. One victim complained to gardai in 1995, and the DPP instructed no prosecution; a further complaint in 2013 led to a file in 2014 with no prosecution directed. After three more men came forward between 2015 and 2018 and two more in 2021, the DPP directed prosecution, which the man unsuccessfully challenged by judicial review. In April 2025 Judge Orla Crowe imposed a sentence of five years, to run from August 2025 when his current sentence of 14 years and five months expires.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In courtnot reported
- Verdictnot reported
- Sentenced30 Apr
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- A 73-year-old man was convicted of 118 counts of indecent assault against eight boys.
- The man has 128 previous convictions, including 127 for indecent or sexual assault, and most relate to offences against five boys who were pupils at the same school.
- The man also has a conviction for the rape of a teenage girl.
- The abuse mainly involved inappropriate touching, but for one boy it escalated to masturbation and oral sex.
- Some boys thought the man was a part-time or undercover garda because he had a siren and other equipment in his car.
- Where
- The abuse took place in the school, at the man's then-home address and in his car.
- When
- The abuse took place between 1977 and 1984.
- Investigation
- One victim complained to gardai in 1995, but the DPP instructed that no prosecution should take place.
- A further complaint was made in 2013 and a file was submitted to the DPP in 2014, with no prosecution directed.
- Three more men came forward between 2015 and 2018, and the DPP issued directions for trial on indictment.
- Two further complainants came forward, and in 2021 the DPP directed that the man be prosecuted; he unsuccessfully challenged this by judicial review.
- Charges
- The man was tried on indictment at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court and convicted of 118 counts of indecent assault.
- In court
- Judge Orla Crowe imposed the sentence.
- Sentence
- The court imposed a sentence of five years, effective from August 2025, when the man's current sentence of 14 years and five months expires, with an earliest release date for that current sentence in August 2025.
- Other details
- The man maintains his innocence and denies any wrongdoing.
- Two victims were physically disciplined and told not to lie by members of the religious order that ran the school, which was the Christian Brothers.
20 statements extracted from the articles
- whatThe man was convicted of 118 counts of indecent assault against eight boys. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe man has 128 previous convictions, including 127 for indecent or sexual assault. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe majority of his previous convictions relate to offences against five boys who were pupils at the same school. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe man also has a conviction for the rape of a teenage girl. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatThe abuse primarily took the form of inappropriate touching, but for one boy escalated to include masturbation and oral sex. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatSome of the boys thought the man was a part-time or undercover garda because he had a siren and other equipment in his car. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe trial was held at Dublin Circuit Criminal Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe abuse took place in the school, the man's then-home address, and in his car. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe abuse took place between 1977 and 1984. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationOne victim made a complaint to gardai in 1995 but the DPP instructed no prosecution should take place. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationA further complaint was made in 2013 and a file was submitted to the DPP in 2014, with no prosecution directed. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationThree more men came forward between 2015 and 2018 and the DPP issued directions for trial on indictment. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationTwo further complainants came forward and the DPP directed in 2021 that the man should be prosecuted, which he unsuccessfully challenged by judicial review. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge Orla Crowe imposed the sentence. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceHe is currently serving a sentence of 14 years and five months with an earliest release date in August 2025. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceThe court imposed a sentence of five years, effective from August 2025 when the man's current sentence expires. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe man maintains his innocence and denies any wrongdoing. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe man is married and has two adult children. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherTwo victims were physically disciplined and told not to lie by members of the religious order that ran the school. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe school was run by the Christian Brothers. (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 30 Apr2025Former teacher and convicted rapist gets more jail time after latest conviction
Reports the sentencing of the 73-year-old former teacher to five years' imprisonment for 118 counts of indecent assault, to be served consecutively from August 2025. Details the victims' impact statements, the history of complaints to the DPP from 1995 to 2021, and the judge's reasoning.
convicted, 73, malevictim, male