Former TD sentenced to community service for cocaine driving in Tuam
Colm Keaveney, a man (reports give ages 53, 54 and 55) and former Labour and Fianna Fáil TD, was stopped at a checkpoint at Cummer, Tuam, Co Galway on 12 June 2023, where he failed a roadside drug test and a blood sample tested positive for cocaine. He was also charged with two counts of driving with no insurance after stops in July 2024. After the case was adjourned ten times, Keaveney pleaded guilty at Tuam District Court on 9 September 2025. On 27 January 2026, Judge James Faughnan sentenced him to 220 hours of community service in lieu of four months' imprisonment and disqualified him from driving for three years.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Charged8 Jan
- In court23 Jan
12 reports - Convicted9 Sep
2 reports - Sentenced1 Jan
2 reports
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Keaveney was stopped at a checkpoint at Cummer, Tuam, Co Galway on 12 June 2023, failed a roadside drug test, and was arrested.
- Where
- The alleged offence occurred at Cummer, Tuam, Co Galway.
- When
- The alleged offence occurred on 12 June 2023.
- Cause
- A blood sample taken at Tuam Garda station tested positive for benzoylecgonine (cocaine) above the legal threshold of 50 ng/ml.
- Charges
- Keaveney was charged with driving with cocaine in his system under the Road Traffic Act 2010 and two counts of driving with no insurance after stops in July 2024.
- In court
- The case was adjourned ten times before Keaveney pleaded guilty at Tuam District Court on 9 September 2025.
- Sentence
- On 27 January 2026, Judge James Faughnan sentenced Keaveney to 220 hours of community service in lieu of four months' imprisonment and disqualified him from driving for three years.
- Other details
- Keaveney is a former Labour and Fianna Fáil TD who served on Galway County Council and withdrew from the local elections.
- Keaveney had two previous driving convictions, the most recent relating to an incident in Boyle, Co Roscommon (sources give October 2023 or 2024), for which he was fined €250 and banned from driving for four years.
- A probation report placed Keaveney at medium risk of reoffending.
- Investigation
- The defence challenged the blood sample testing, questioning whether the test tube seal had been breached before analysis.
168 statements extracted from the articles
- whatColm Keaveney has been summonsed to face one count of driving with cocaine in his system. (galwaybeo.ie)
- whatFormer TD Colm Keaveney is accused of driving under the influence of cocaine. (irishtimes.com)
- whatColm Keaveney is before the courts on a charge of driving under the influence of cocaine. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatKeaveney is accused of driving under the influence of cocaine and has also been charged with driving with no insurance. (thejournal.ie)
- whatKeaveney admitted driving under the influence of cocaine. (thejournal.ie)
- whereThe alleged offence happened at Cummer in Tuam, Co Galway. (galwaybeo.ie, irishtimes.com, thejournal.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe alleged offence occurred at Cummer, Tuam, Co Galway. (rte.ie)
- whereThe case came before Tuam District Court on the morning of the report. (thejournal.ie)
- whereThe alleged offence took place at Cummer in Tuam, Co Galway. (thejournal.ie)
- whereKeaveney appeared before Tuam District Court. (thejournal.ie)
- whereThe offences are alleged to have occurred at Cummer, Tuam, Co Galway. (rte.ie)
- whereThe most recent previous conviction related to an incident in Boyle, Co Roscommon in October 2024 (rte.ie)
- whereHis address is Kilcreevanty, Tuam, Co Galway (irishtimes.com)
- whereKeaveney was stopped at a checkpoint at Cummer near Tuam. (thejournal.ie)
- whereKeaveney, of Kilcrevanty, Tuam, Co Galway, was due to be sentenced at Tuam District Court. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe alleged offence happened on 12 June 2023. (galwaybeo.ie, thejournal.ie)
- whenThe alleged offence occurred on 12 June 2023. (rte.ie)
- whenThe offence is alleged to have happened on 12 June 2023. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe alleged offence happened on June 12th of the previous year. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe offence is alleged to have happened on June 12, 2023. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe alleged offence occurred on 12 June. (rte.ie)
- whenThe alleged offence happened on June 12 last year. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe offence is alleged to have happened on 12 June 2023 at Cummer in Tuam, Co Galway. (thejournal.ie)
- whenThe offences are alleged to have occurred on 12 June 2023. (rte.ie)
- whenHe was arrested at a checkpoint on 12 June 2023 (rte.ie)
- whenIn late July 2024 he was stopped twice for no insurance disc (rte.ie)
- whenHe was arrested after being stopped at a checkpoint at Cummer near Tuam on 12 June 2023 (irishtimes.com)
- whenOn 25 July 2024 at Vicar Street, Tuam, Garda Michelle Hanlon stopped him for failing to produce a certificate of insurance (irishtimes.com)
- whenHe was stopped again on 29 July 2024 at the N17 Plaza, Farranamartin, Tuam (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe checkpoint stop and arrest took place on 12 June 2023. (thejournal.ie)
- whenKeaveney was arrested after being stopped at a checkpoint at Cummer near Tuam on 12 June 2023. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe arrest took place on 12 June 2023. (thejournal.ie)
- whenHe was arrested after being stopped at a checkpoint at Cummer near Tuam on June 12th, 2023. (irishtimes.com)
- whenOn separate dates in July 2024, he was stopped in Tuam while driving without a valid insurance disc. (irishtimes.com)
- whenThe prior offences occurred in October 2023 in Boyle, Co Roscommon. (irishtimes.com)
- causeBlood sample analysis revealed cocaine (rte.ie)
- causeKeaveney failed a roadside drug test and a blood sample taken at Tuam Garda station tested positive for cocaine. (irishtimes.com)
- causeThe court was told Keaveney became addicted to cocaine after taking pain-killers for an injury in 2006. (thejournal.ie)
- causeHe suffered an injury in 2006 after which he became addicted to pain killers before progressing to cocaine. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationHis defence solicitor said he had received disclosure and needed to speak with his client. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationKeaveney was arrested by appointment on the Tuesday morning and charged with driving without insurance. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationTwo blood samples were taken from Keaveney when he was arrested in 2023. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationOnly one blood sample was sent for testing, and it was initially tested for alcohol with a negative result. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationA Medical Bureau of Road Safety witness gave evidence about tests on a blood sample Keaveney provided after his arrest. (rte.ie)
- investigationThe blood sample was found to contain no trace of alcohol when first tested on 16 June 2023. (rte.ie)
- investigationThe drug testing revealed the presence of benzoylecgonine, commonly known as cocaine. (rte.ie)
- investigationHe failed a roadside drug test (irishtimes.com)
- investigationA blood sample taken at Tuam Garda station tested positive for cocaine (irishtimes.com)
- investigationKeaveney failed a roadside drug test and was taken to Tuam Garda station, where a blood sample tested positive for cocaine. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationKeaveney failed a roadside drug test in September 2023. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationIn July 2024 Keaveney was stopped for failing to display a valid insurance disc and produced an invalid certificate. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationKeaveney failed a roadside drug test and a blood sample tested positive for cocaine. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationHe failed a roadside drug test and a blood sample tested positive for cocaine. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeThe alleged offence is contrary to the Road Traffic Act of 2010. (galwaybeo.ie)
- chargeKeaveney is charged with driving while a quantity of cocaine was in his system, contrary to the Road Traffic Act. (rte.ie)
- chargeKeaveney was arrested and charged last June. (rte.ie)
- chargeKeaveney faces one count of driving with cocaine in his system. (thejournal.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- chargeIt is alleged that the concentration of benzoylecgonine in his blood was above the legal threshold, contrary to the Road Traffic Act 2010. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeHe faces one count of driving with cocaine in his system. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeIt is alleged the concentration of benzoylecgonine in his blood was above the legal threshold under the Road Traffic Act of 2010. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeIt is alleged he drove a vehicle with cocaine in his system above the legal threshold. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeThe charge is contrary to the Road Traffic Act of 2010. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeIt is alleged he drove a vehicle with cocaine in his system and that the drug's concentration in his blood was above the legal threshold, contrary to the Road Traffic Act of 2010. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeColm Keaveney is charged with driving his car while cocaine was in his system, contrary to the Road Traffic Act. (rte.ie)
- chargeIt is alleged the concentration of benzoylecgonine in his blood was above the legal threshold. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeColm Keaveney has been charged with driving with cocaine in his system under the Road Traffic Act. (rte.ie)
- chargeKeaveney pleaded guilty to driving under the influence of cocaine (irishtimes.com)
- chargeHe also faced two counts of driving with no insurance (irishtimes.com)
- chargeHe was arrested by appointment and charged with driving with no insurance (irishtimes.com)
- chargeKeaveney pleaded guilty to driving under the influence of cocaine and admitted two counts of driving with no insurance. (thejournal.ie, irishtimes.com)
- chargeKeaveney was charged with driving with no insurance after a second stop in July 2024. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeKeaveney pleaded guilty to driving under the influence of cocaine at Tuam District Court on 9 September 2025. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeHe also pleaded guilty to two counts of driving with no insurance. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeKeaveney pleaded guilty in September 2025 at Tuam District Court to driving under the influence of cocaine and two counts of driving with no insurance. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeKeaveney was charged with driving with no insurance after producing an invalid certificate in July 2024. (thejournal.ie)
- chargeHe was charged with driving under the influence of cocaine and two counts of driving with no insurance. (irishtimes.com)
- courtHe is due to appear in court on 23 January. (galwaybeo.ie)
- courtHe is to appear at the district court in Tuam. (galwaybeo.ie)
- courtKeaveney was not present when his case was called at Tuam District Court. (rte.ie)
- courtThe court heard it was the first calling of the case. (rte.ie)
- courtThe defence legal team is seeking a statements order. (rte.ie)
- courtJudge James Faughnan adjourned the matter to 9 April. (rte.ie)
- courtThe defence said this was the first time the case was before the courts and requested an order for statements. (thejournal.ie)
- courtJudge James Faughnan granted the request and adjourned the matter to 9 April. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe case came before Tuam District Court on a Tuesday morning. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe case against the 53-year-old was adjourned to April 9th. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe defence said this was the first time the case was before the courts. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe defence requested an order for statements, which the judge granted. (irishtimes.com)
- courtKeaveney came briefly before Tuam District Court on 9 April 2024. (thejournal.ie)
- courtKeaveney was not in court for the short hearing. (thejournal.ie)
- courtJudge James Faughnan granted an adjournment to a sitting on 11 June for a plea or a date for hearing. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe case came before the courts initially in January and again the week before the article. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe accused was not in court for either of the two brief hearings. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe matter is due before Tuam District Court on June 11 for a plea or a date for hearing. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtColm Keaveney appeared before Tuam District Court. (rte.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe defence solicitor requested a hearing date and said there was a difficult legal issue. (rte.ie)
- courtJudge James Faughnan set a hearing date of 10 September at Tuam District Court. (rte.ie)
- courtJudge Faughnan adjourned the case to 10 September. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThis was the fourth time the matter has come before Tuam District Court this year. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned until next month. (thejournal.ie)
- courtJudge Faughnan adjourned the case to 8 October, when an expert from the medical bureau would be available to give evidence. (thejournal.ie)
- courtCourt proceedings against Keaveney have been further adjourned, pending legal submissions on the charge. (rte.ie)
- courtKeaveney's solicitor wants to make a submission on how the sample was stored. (rte.ie)
- courtThe case has been adjourned for a ninth time, to the end of May, when a hearing date is expected to be set. (rte.ie)
- courtKeaveney pleaded guilty at Tuam District Court (rte.ie)
- courtJudge Faughnan said a probation report was warranted (rte.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned to November for the probation report (rte.ie)
- courtThe case had been adjourned on more than ten occasions before this hearing (rte.ie)
- courtHe pleaded guilty before Judge James Faughnan (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Faughnan requested a probation report and adjourned the case to 25 November (irishtimes.com)
- courtKeaveney's sentencing was adjourned to 9 December. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned because the resident judge was absent. (thejournal.ie)
- courtA probation report, ordered at an earlier sitting, has now been prepared. (thejournal.ie, irishtimes.com)
- courtKeaveney was remanded on continuing bail to appear again on 9 December. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe sentencing was adjourned because the resident judge who had dealt with the matters previously was absent. (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Michael Connellan adjourned the case to 9 December, when Judge James Faughnan would be present. (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Connellan remanded Keaveney on continuing bail. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe sentencing was adjourned for the second time because the resident judge was absent. (irishtimes.com)
- courtJudge Derek Cooney set the new sentencing date for 27 January 2026. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe case had been adjourned ten times before Keaveney entered his guilty pleas. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge said a probation report placed Keaveney at medium risk of reoffending. (thejournal.ie)
- courtDefence solicitor said Keaveney had not come to adverse garda attention since the report was compiled. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe judge said Keaveney had suffered a significant fall from grace and that deterrence was the purpose of sentencing. (thejournal.ie)
- courtHe pleaded guilty at Tuam District Court on September 9th. (irishtimes.com)
- courtHe was previously banned from driving for four years in Carrick-on-Shannon District Court for failing to provide a specimen and failing to stop after a collision. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceAt district court level the offence carries a fine of up to €5,000, a six-month prison sentence and a 12-month disqualification. (galwaybeo.ie)
- sentenceIn July 2025 he was fined €250 and banned from driving for four years for an incident in Boyle, Co Roscommon (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceKeaveney was fined €250 and banned from driving for four years in Boyle, Co. Roscommon, in October 2024. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceJudge Faughnan imposed 220 hours of community service in lieu of four months' imprisonment. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceKeaveney was disqualified from driving for three years. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceKeaveney was ordered to carry out 220 hours of community service in lieu of four months in jail. (irishtimes.com)
- sentenceHe was banned from driving for three years. (irishtimes.com)
- otherIt is alleged the concentration of benzoylecgonine in his blood was above the legal threshold of 50 ng/ml. (galwaybeo.ie)
- otherKeaveney is a former TD for Labour and Fianna Fáil and is currently a councillor on Galway County Council. (rte.ie)
- otherKeaveney was not in court for the brief hearing. (thejournal.ie)
- otherMr Keaveney was not in court for the brief hearing. (irishtimes.com)
- otherMr Keaveney is a former Labour and Fianna Fáil TD who is currently a councillor on Galway County Council. (irishtimes.com)
- otherKeaveney is 53 and is a former Labour and Fianna Fáil TD who is currently a councillor on Galway County Council. (thejournal.ie)
- otherKeaveney has told Fianna Fáil that he is withdrawing from the local elections. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherKeaveney will not be contesting the local elections. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherColm Keaveney is a former TD and councillor. (rte.ie)
- otherHis solicitor said there was a legal issue in the matter. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherKeaveney is a former Labour and Fianna Fáil TD who was a Galway County Council councillor for the past five years. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherThe defence is challenging the findings of the blood sample used to prosecute Keaveney. (thejournal.ie)
- otherThe defence questions whether the drug test sample was contaminated because the test tube seal may already have been breached. (thejournal.ie)
- otherKeaveney was a councillor on Galway County Council for the past five years and did not seek re-election. (thejournal.ie)
- otherKeaveney no longer holds elected office. (rte.ie)
- otherHe has two previous convictions, the most recent from the previous July (rte.ie)
- otherDefence said he fell into addiction and had abused cocaine (rte.ie)
- otherHis brother died in 2016 and he was left as sole carer for elderly parents (rte.ie)
- otherHe completed a 28-day residential treatment programme and was in aftercare (rte.ie)
- otherHe was blissfully unaware of no insurance in 2024 after switching providers and changing address (rte.ie)
- otherHe was on disability allowance and willing to do community service (rte.ie)
- otherAlmost €2,000 in expenses were incurred for Medical Bureau of Road Safety evidence (rte.ie)
- otherHe was elected Labour TD for Galway East in 2011, later joined Fianna Fáil, lost his seat in 2016 and served on Galway County Council (rte.ie)
- otherHe produced an invalid certificate on the second stop (irishtimes.com)
- otherHe had two previous convictions (irishtimes.com)
- otherIn the Boyle incident he failed to stop after a collision and failed to provide a blood or urine sample (irishtimes.com)
- otherDefence said he was caring for his parents while suffering from a medical condition and developed a cocaine addiction (irishtimes.com)
- otherHe took up a residential place in an addiction treatment centre and remains in aftercare (irishtimes.com)
- otherHe was first elected to the Dáil as a Labour candidate in 2011 (irishtimes.com)
- otherHe lost his Dáil seat in 2016 but was elected to Galway County Council in 2019 (irishtimes.com)
- otherDefence solicitor Gearóid Geraghty said Keaveney had been caring for his parents, had a medical condition and had developed a cocaine addiction at the time of the offences. (irishtimes.com)
- otherOn the Boyle occasion, Keaveney failed to stop after a collision with another vehicle and failed to provide a blood or urine sample. (irishtimes.com)
- otherKeaveney was first elected to the Dáil as a Labour candidate in 2011, became an Independent, and joined Fianna Fáil in 2013. (irishtimes.com)
- otherHe lost his Dáil seat in 2016 but was elected to Galway County Council as a Fianna Fáil candidate in 2019. (irishtimes.com)
- otherSergeant Browne told the court Keaveney had two previous convictions. (thejournal.ie)
- otherHe was first elected to the Dáil as a Labour candidate for Galway East in 2011, became an Independent, then joined Fianna Fáil in 2013. (irishtimes.com)
The reporting
newest first- 27 Jan2026Former TD Colm Keaveney avoids jail after pleading guilty to drug-driving
Sentencing details including community service order, driving ban, background on Keaveney's addiction history, and prior driving offences in Roscommon.
convicted, Colm Keaveney, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 1 Jan2026Former TD Colm Keaveney sentenced to community service for driving under influence of cocaine
Reports the sentence imposed at Tuam District Court on 27 January 2026, the arrest and charges, and the probation report and previous convictions.
convicted, Colm Keaveney, 55, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 9 Dec2025Sentencing of former TD Colm Keaveney for driving under the influence of cocaine adjourned
Reports the second adjournment of Keaveney's sentencing, details of his guilty plea, arrest at a checkpoint in Cummer, previous convictions, and his political career.
accused, Colm Keaveney, 54, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 25 Nov2025Sentencing of ex-TD Colm Keaveney for driving under influence of cocaine is adjourned
Reports the adjournment of Keaveney's sentencing at Tuam District Court, the probation report being prepared, and his continuing bail.
convicted, Colm Keaveney, 54, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 25 Nov2025Sentencing adjourned for former Fianna Fáil TD found driving under influence of cocaine
Reports that sentencing, due on 25 November 2025, was adjourned to 9 December 2025 because Judge Faughnan was absent; a probation report has been prepared and Keaveney remains on continuing bail.
convicted, Colm Keaveney, 54, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 9 Sep2025Former TD Colm Keaveney pleads guilty to driving under influence of cocaine
Guilty plea at Tuam District Court; sentencing adjourned to 25 November 2025 pending probation report. Defence cited medical condition, cocaine addiction, and care of dying parents as mitigating factors.
convicted, Colm Keaveney, 54, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 9 Sep2025Former TD admits to driving under influence of cocaine
Reports the guilty plea hearing at Tuam District Court, mitigation evidence including addiction, family bereavements and aftercare, and adjournment to November for a probation report.
accused, Colm Keaveney, 54, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 25 Mar2025Drug driving case against former TD further adjourned
The case was adjourned for a ninth time to the end of May, when a hearing date is expected. A solicitor is making a submission on how the blood sample was stored. The article gives no new outcome.
accused, Colm Keaveney, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 10 Sep2024Former TD accused of driving under influence of cocaine challenges findings of blood sample
Reports that the case was adjourned until October 2024 and that the defence is challenging the testing of a blood sample, with an expert from the Medical Bureau of Road Safety to attend the 8 October sitting.
suspect, Colm Keaveney, 53, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 12 Jun2024Former TD accused of driving under the influence of cocaine appears in court
Court appearance on 11 June 2024 at Tuam District Court; the case was adjourned to 10 September. The article gives the alleged date as June 12 last year.
accused, Colm Keaveney, 53, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 11 Jun2024Former TD Colm Keaveney in court over drug driving charge
Reports the accused's first appearance at Tuam District Court on 11 June 2024, the charge under the Road Traffic Act, and the hearing date set for 10 September. The defence raised a difficult legal issue.
accused, Colm Keaveney, 53, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 16 Apr2024Former TD facing cocaine driving charge withdraws from local elections
Reports that the accused former TD has withdrawn from the local elections and gives details of the alleged drug driving offence and the court dates.
accused, Colm Keaveney, 53, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 9 Apr2024Former TD accused of driving under the influence of cocaine has court case adjourned until June
Reports the 9 April 2024 district court appearance, where the case was adjourned to 11 June 2024 for a plea or hearing date. Keaveney was not in court, and his solicitor sought the adjournment to speak with him after receiving disclosure.
accused, Colm Keaveney, 53, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 23 Jan2024Former TD Colm Keaveney accused of driving under influence of cocaine
First court appearance of the case at Tuam District Court; Mr Keaveney was not present; defence requested statements and the matter was adjourned to April 9th.
accused, Colm Keaveney, 53, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 23 Jan2024Galway councillor and former TD Colm Keaveney accused of driving under the influence of cocaine
Reports the first court appearance at Tuam District Court on 23 January 2024: a single drug-driving charge (cocaine above the legal threshold, Road Traffic Act 2010), the defence requested statements, and the case was adjourned to 9 April. Keaveney did not attend. The article describes him as a councillor on Galway County Council.
accused, Colm Keaveney, 53, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 23 Jan2024Drug driving case against former TD adjourned to April
Reports the first court calling of the case at Tuam District Court, where Judge James Faughnan adjourned the matter to 9 April 2024 after the defence sought a statements order. Keaveney was not present, and the article describes his political background.
accused, Colm Keaveney, 53, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney - 8 Jan2024Named Galway politician facing court for alleged cocaine driving offence
First report of the summons. Keaveney has been notified of one alleged offence under the Road Traffic Act 2010, and is due in court on 23 January.
suspect, Colm Keaveney, male, named, irish (judged from name)Colm Keaveney