Former solicitor charged with stealing over €100,000 from clients' bank accounts
Former solicitor Robert Sweeney, 47, is charged with allegedly stealing more than €100,000 from clients' AIB bank accounts at Eyre Square, Galway, in 2012 and 2013. He is charged with allegedly stealing €25,000 from Yvonne Murphy on 11 November 2012, €43,000 from Manjit Gill on 11 October 2013 and €35,000 from Ciaran Byrne on 3 December 2013, all under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud Offences) Act 2001. He stopped practising as a solicitor in 2014 after undertaking not to seek a practising certificate. By 10 January 2024 he had appeared at Letterkenny District Court, Co Donegal, where he made no reply, and the DPP directed trial by judge and jury at the circuit court. The latest development is that the case was adjourned until March 25 to allow service of a book of evidence, and Judge Eiteain Cunningham granted him legal aid.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Chargednot reported
- In court10 Jan
- Verdict
- Sentenced
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Former solicitor Robert Sweeney, 47, has been charged with allegedly stealing more than €100,000 from clients' bank accounts.
- Where
- The money was allegedly taken from AIB bank accounts at Eyre Square in Galway.
- When
- The alleged thefts took place in 2012 and 2013.
- Charges
- He is charged with allegedly stealing €25,000 on 11 November 2012, the property of Yvonne Murphy.
- He is charged with allegedly stealing €43,000 on 11 October 2013, the property of Manjit Gill.
- He is charged with allegedly stealing €35,000 on 3 December 2013, the property of Ciaran Byrne.
- All three charges are under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud Offences) Act 2001.
- Investigation
- Garda Marvin Lee gave details of arresting and charging Sweeney at Letterkenny Courthouse.
- In court
- Sweeney appeared at Letterkenny District Court, Co Donegal, charged with three counts of stealing money, and did not speak or reply to the charges.
- The DPP directed that the case be tried by indictment before a judge and jury at the circuit court.
- Judge Eiteain Cunningham agreed to legal aid for Sweeney.
- The case was adjourned until March 25 to allow for service of a book of evidence.
- Other details
- Sweeney stopped practising as a solicitor in 2014 after undertaking not to seek a practising certificate.
14 statements extracted from the articles
- whatA former solicitor has been charged with stealing more than €100,000 from clients' bank accounts. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe money was allegedly stolen from AIB bank accounts at Eyre Square in Galway. (irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe alleged thefts took place in 2012 and 2013. (irishmirror.ie)
- investigationGarda Marvin Lee gave details of arresting and charging Sweeney at Letterkenny Courthouse. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHe is charged with stealing €25,000 on 11 November 2012, the property of Yvonne Murphy. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHe is charged with stealing €43,000 on 11 October 2013, the property of Manjit Gill. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHe is charged with stealing €35,000 on 3 December 2013, the property of Ciaran Byrne. (irishmirror.ie)
- chargeAll charges are under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice (Theft and Fraud Offences) Act 2001. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtRobert Sweeney appeared at Letterkenny District Court, charged with three counts of stealing money. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtSweeney did not speak during the hearing and made no reply to the charges. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe DPP directed that the case be tried by indictment before a judge and jury at the circuit court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge Eiteain Cunningham agreed to legal aid for Sweeney. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned until March 25 to allow for service of a book of evidence. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherSweeney stopped practising as a solicitor in 2014 after undertaking not to seek a practising certificate. (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 10 Jan2024Former solicitor charged with stealing over €100k from clients' bank accounts
First report of this case. Identifies the accused, the three charges with amounts and dates, the Galway bank branch, the Section 4 charge basis, and the court steps (legal aid, adjournment to March 25, trial on indictment at the circuit court).
accused, Robert Sweeney, 47, male, named, irish (judged from name)Robert Sweeneyvictim, Yvonne Murphy, irish (judged from name)Yvonne Murphyvictim, Manjit Gill, non-irish (judged from name)Manjit Gillvictim, Ciaran Byrne, irish (judged from name)Ciaran Byrne