Former pastor sentenced for theft and fraud at Naas church
Ebenezer Oduntan, 58, a naturalised Irish citizen and former pastor of the Redeemed Christian Church of God (City of David) in Naas, Co Kildare, allegedly took more than €125,000 from church funds between 2012 and 2020. He was arrested and charged at Newbridge Garda Station on 1 July 2021 following an investigation by the Corporate Enforcement Authority. After a three-week trial at Naas Circuit Criminal Court in March 2024, he was convicted of all 87 charges of theft, fraud and company law offences. He was sentenced on 26 April 2024 to seven years for deception, six and a half years for theft and three and a half years for false information to the CRO, all concurrent, with the final six months suspended and custody backdated to 13 March 2024.
- Reportednot reported
- Arrestednot reported
- Charged1 Jul
- In court1 Jul
- Convicted13 Mar
- Sentenced26 Apr
3 reports
Key facts
consolidated from all reports- What happened
- Ebenezer Oduntan, 58, of Curragh Grange, Newbridge, Co Kildare, is the accused, a former pastor of the Redeemed Christian Church of God (City of David) in Naas.
- He allegedly took more than €125,000 from church funds between 2012 and 2020, including cheques up to €20,000 made payable to him personally.
- The Corporate Enforcement Authority alleged he ran a fraud that inflated donations so Revenue reimbursed more than it should under the Charitable Donation Scheme.
- Where
- The offences involved the Redeemed Christian Church of God, City of David, based in Naas Enterprise Park, Naas, Co Kildare.
- When
- The alleged offences took place between 2012 and 2020.
- Investigation
- The case followed an investigation by the Corporate Enforcement Authority (ODCE).
- Charges
- He faced 73 counts of theft, five charges of deception and nine offences in breach of company law at trial.
- In court
- He was arrested and charged at Newbridge Garda Station on 1 July 2021 and remanded on bail to appear at Naas District Court.
- After a three-week trial at Naas Circuit Criminal Court in March 2024, he was convicted of all 87 charges.
- Sentence
- He was sentenced on 26 April 2024 to seven years for deception, six and a half years for theft and three and a half years for false information to the CRO, all concurrent, with the final six months suspended and custody backdated to 13 March 2024.
- Other details
- Bank account analysis found he passed five times more than his declared income through his accounts for 2012 to 2018.
- None of the stolen money has been recovered from Oduntan.
59 statements extracted from the articles
- whatEbenezer Oduntan, 56, of 45 The Close, Curragh Grange, Newbridge, is the accused. (rte.ie)
- whatAt the time of the allegations he was pastor of a parish of the Redeemed Christian Church of God (City of David) based at Naas Enterprise Park in Naas. (rte.ie)
- whatHe allegedly took €70,000 from church funds over an eight-year period. (rte.ie)
- whatThe €70,000 was allegedly used for his own personal use. (rte.ie)
- whatThe church held a number of services a week and had a membership of up to 100 families at one point. (rte.ie)
- whatMr Oduntan was in control of the church's finances which came from donations from church members. (rte.ie)
- whatEbenezer Oduntan, 55, was arrested and charged at Newbridge Garda Station on 1 July 2021 (irishtimes.com)
- whatThe total value of the theft charges is approximately €70,000 (irishtimes.com)
- whatEbenezer Oduntan was convicted of theft charges involving more than €125,000. (irishtimes.com)
- whatEbenezer Oduntan was convicted of all 87 charges he faced. (irishtimes.com)
- whatEbenezer Oduntan was convicted of 87 charges of theft and fraud offences. (rte.ie)
- whatOduntan had sole access and control of the church's accounts between 2012 and 2020. (rte.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- whatOduntan stole church funds, including cheques up to €20,000 made payable to him personally. (rte.ie)
- whatEbenezer Oduntan, a former pastor of the City of David Church, was convicted of 87 charges of theft and fraud offences. (thejournal.ie)
- whatThe Corporate Enforcement Authority claimed Oduntan ran a fraud that inflated donations to the church so that Revenue reimbursed more than it should under the Charitable Donation Scheme. (thejournal.ie)
- whatOduntan was convicted of 87 charges of theft and fraud offences. (irishmirror.ie)
- whatOduntan was accused of stealing more than €125,000 from his church. (irishmirror.ie)
- whereThe alleged offences involved the Redeemed Christian Church of God, City of David, based in Toughers Business Park, Naas, Co Kildare (irishtimes.com)
- whereThe trial took place at Naas Circuit Criminal Court. (rte.ie)
- whereThe church has been based in Naas Enterprise Park since 2015. (rte.ie)
- whereThe church has been based in Naas Enterprise Park, Naas, Co Kildare, since 2015. (thejournal.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- whenThe allegations date between 2012 and 2020. (rte.ie)
- whenThe alleged offences took place between 2012 and 2020 (irishtimes.com)
- causeEbenezer Oduntan ran a fraud that generated payments from the Revenue Commissioners. (irishtimes.com)
- causeAs pastor, Oduntan had sole access and control of the church's accounts between 2012 and 2020. (thejournal.ie)
- investigationDet Sgt Glen Mackessy, on secondment to the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement, gave evidence of arrest, charge and caution at Newbridge Garda Station. (rte.ie)
- investigationThe charges follow an investigation by the Office of the Director of Corporate Enforcement (ODCE) (irishtimes.com)
- investigationEvidence of arrest, charge, and caution was given by Detective Garda Glenn Mackessy of the ODCE (irishtimes.com)
- investigationHe was investigated by the Corporate Enforcement Authority, the Republic's company law enforcement agency. (irishtimes.com)
- investigationThe case followed an investigation by the Corporate Enforcement Authority. (rte.ie, thejournal.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- chargeHe faces 39 allegations under Section 4 of the Criminal Justice Theft and Fraud Act 2001. (rte.ie)
- chargeHe faces 30 charges of theft, four charges of furnishing false information, and five charges of providing false information (irishtimes.com)
- chargeHe was convicted of nine company law offences, 73 counts of theft and five counts of deception. (irishtimes.com)
- chargeOduntan faced 73 counts of theft, five charges of deception and nine offences in breach of company law. (rte.ie)
- chargeOduntan admitted guilt to 19 counts of theft, five counts of deception and nine charges of providing false information to the Companies Registration Office midway through his trial. (thejournal.ie)
- courtThe defendant made no comment when the charges were put to him. (rte.ie)
- courtDefence solicitor David Powderly said his client was disputing the allegations and would be fully protesting his innocence. (rte.ie)
- courtBail was granted with strict conditions by Judge Zaidan, requiring him to reside at his home address, surrender his passport and not apply for any other travel documents. (rte.ie)
- courtThe case was adjourned to Naas District Court on 18 November. (rte.ie)
- courtThe DPP directed trial on indictment (irishtimes.com)
- courtOduntan was remanded on bail to appear at Naas District Court in November for service of a book of evidence (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe trial concluded with guilty verdicts at Naas Circuit Court after a three-week hearing. (irishtimes.com)
- courtAfter the verdicts, he was remanded in custody by Judge Baxter. (irishtimes.com)
- courtThe judge described the scheme as very prolonged, premeditated and well-planned. (rte.ie)
- courtThe judge said Oduntan knew exactly what he was doing. (rte.ie)
- courtThe trial was a three-week trial at Naas Circuit Criminal Court. (irishmirror.ie)
- courtJudge Martina Baxter imposed the sentence. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceOduntan was sentenced to six-and-a-half years in prison. (rte.ie, irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceOduntan was sentenced to seven years in prison on the deception charges. (rte.ie)
- sentenceThe final six months of all sentences were suspended, with custody backdated to 13 March 2024. (rte.ie)
- sentenceOduntan was sentenced to seven years on the deception charges, six and a half years for the theft convictions and three and a half years for providing false information to the CRO, all to run concurrently. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceThe final six months of all sentences were suspended, with his prison time backdated to 13 March 2024. (thejournal.ie)
- sentenceOduntan received seven years for the deception charges, six and a half years for the theft convictions and three and a half years for providing false information to the CRO, all to run concurrently. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceThe final six months of all sentences were suspended. (irishmirror.ie)
- sentenceOduntan's time in prison is backdated to when he was first placed in custody on 13 March 2024. (irishmirror.ie)
- otherOduntan was alleged to be a director of the company and pastor of the church at the time of the offences (irishtimes.com)
- otherBank account analysis found he passed five times more than his declared income through his accounts for 2012-2018. (irishtimes.com)
- otherNone of the stolen money has been recovered from Oduntan. (rte.ie, thejournal.ie)
- otherOduntan admitted guilt on 19 counts of theft, five counts of deception and nine charges of providing false information to the Companies Registration Office midway through his trial. (irishmirror.ie)
The reporting
newest first- 27 Apr2024Ex-pastor jailed for stealing more than €125,000 from Kildare-based church
Reports the sentencing after a three-week trial at Naas Circuit Criminal Court, the breakdown of sentences, and the backdating to custody from 13 March 2024.
convicted, Ebenezer Oduntan, 58, male, named, non-irish (judged from name; reported as Irish)Ebenezer Oduntan - 26 Apr2024Former pastor who stole over €125,000 from Kildare-based church sentenced to 6.5 years in prison
Adds the conviction on 87 charges after a three-week trial at Naas Circuit Criminal Court, the admissions made midway through the trial, the sentence terms (seven years for deception, six and a half years for theft, three and a half years for false information to the CRO), the suspended final six months, and backdating to 13 March 2024.
convicted, Ebenezer Oduntan, 58, male, named, non-irish (judged from name; reported as Irish)Ebenezer Oduntan - 26 Apr2024Ex-pastor jailed for theft of €125k from Kildare church
Reports the sentencing at Naas Circuit Criminal Court: six-and-a-half years for theft, seven years for deception and three-and-a-half years for false information to the CRO, all concurrent, with the final six months suspended and custody backdated to 13 March 2024.
convicted, Ebenezer Oduntan, 58, male, named, non-irish (judged from name; reported as Irish)Ebenezer Oduntan - 13 Mar2024Kildare pastor convicted on 87 charges, including theft of €125,000
Reports the guilty verdicts on all 87 charges after a three-week trial at Naas Circuit Court, the CEA's role in the investigation, the bank account analysis for 2012-2018, and that Mr Oduntan was remanded in custody.
convicted, Ebenezer Oduntan, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Ebenezer Oduntan - 1 Jul2021Pastor charged with theft worth €70,000 from church
Reports the initial arrest and charging of Oduntan in July 2021, preceding the 2024 trial and sentencing recorded in the existing case. Confirms the ODCE investigation, the specific charges (30 theft, 4 furnishing false information, 5 providing false information), the DPP direction for trial on indictment, and the bail remand.
accused, Ebenezer Oduntan, 55, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Ebenezer Oduntan - 1 Jul2021Pastor accused of taking €70k from Kildare church funds
Initial court appearance where Oduntan was charged and granted bail; the case was later tried at Naas Circuit Criminal Court in March 2024 where he was convicted of 87 charges and sentenced.
accused, Ebenezer Oduntan, 56, male, named, non-irish (judged from name)Ebenezer Oduntan